12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381 +4=366

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129293

Yesterday Webster was coming down nicely from his bounce until the evening when he decided to take a nose dive. Unfortunately, I must have gave him too much HC food (mixed with LC food) to bring him back up and he shot up 1.5 hours after his last bit of food.

I still need to pick up that MC food that has been on my to do list for several day now. Hopefully a MC will give him just enough carbs (without overdoing it) to help to keep him surfing next time this happens.

I ordered the PetSafe 5 which seems to be a FDMB favorite. I'm patiently awaiting it's arrival as feeding 8 mini meals a day on the hour has presented yet another unanticipated challenge when it comes to diabetes management.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

I'm looking at today's numbers and they are strikingly similar to yesterday's daytime numbers.

Right now, I'm trying to make sense of the information that I have collected with hopes to avoid another nose dive as seen last night.

What do you guys think about last nights numbers? Does it look like he took a downward turn after I went to sleep last night and bounced up to 460 just before his shot this morning? Maybe the drop down to 67 last night caused another bounce? Maybe it was just the Lantus wearing off and the numbers naturally rising? What are your thoughts?

I'm really trying to make sense of repetitive bounce after bounce. The theory that I have in mind is that hes stuck in a cycle where he drops off really fast, causing a bounce and then makes a slow gradual recovery from the bounce until he reaches around 200 and then drops off really fast once again, triggering another bounce and then the process starts all over again.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Mike

First, I'd like to answer a question you had from the condo the other day that went unanswered (apologies):
I understand what you mean by not averaging 2 or more hours to come up with an average drop per hour. However, I'm still not clear on how a similar number PS to +2 number would indicate an active cycle. It seems as if a similar number would indicate stability in the coming hours. Could you please further explain?
"Normally" (I put this in parentheses because ECID), onset for lantus is about +2. We know, anecdotally, that an "active" lantus cycle looks like this:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number

If you see a higher number at +2, he's probably got no carryover or overlap but if you see a similar number as PS, he's probably got some carryover/overlap and then he's going to onset and likely come down. If the +2 is a lot lower than the PS, it might indicate a fairly full depot or a very active bounce-clearing cycle.

See how much lower his +2 was last night than his PS? Look how fast he came down after. We don't expect you to know all the patterns yet so don't worry about that but if you look at his a.m. cycle, he was clearing a bounce and you shot a dropping number at PMPS. Which is good since he was so high. And you did the right thing by getting a +2 and then getting a +2.5. All GREAT actions on your part. I doubt he took a downward turn after you went to bed. I think the drop sent him straight up. I also wonder when we don't quite have the correct mix of HC food/gravy to just stop them but not overly affect their insulin, if that can also cause the rise to be a little faster. Pure speculation but we were just experimenting with Gracie with a new HC food and she got some high numbers like she hasn't done in forever. Since we ditched it, her bounces are back to where they normally are. I just think it put the total brakes on her insulin action but, again, that is my speculation; no science there.

The theory that I have in mind is that hes stuck in a cycle where he drops off really fast, causing a bounce and then makes a slow gradual recovery from the bounce until he reaches around 200 and then drops off really fast once again, triggering another bounce and then the process starts all over again.

I think that is a reasonable theory. I've had Gracie do it and I've seen others do it. Sometimes they just stop doing it. Lately, I test a little more and stop the dive before she gets carried away. It has helped to some degree.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Thanks for answering my question from the other day. It all made sense except for what you wrote the other day:

Marje and Gracie said:
Better to focus on whether the +2 is similar to or much lower than the PS. If it's similar to it, it's likely to be an active Lantus cycle.

So a lower BG reading at +2 may indicate a full depot or he's still recovering from a bounce and a very active cycle likely to follow (By active I'm assuming that you mean fast dropping, perhaps unpredictable)

A much higher reading indicates perhaps no carryover/overlap so the previous shots of insulin is wearing down and the new dose hasn't quite gone into effect (onset?)

But a similar number... How does this indicate an "active" cycle. Doesn't a similar number indicate that it's going to be a normal cycle with a slow, gradual decline until nadir and the a slow gradual incline until PS?

Maybe I'm not understanding the context of the term "active". Are you saying that a similar number at +2 is a good thing and indicates that the remainder of the cycle is going to be a slow drop and then a slow rise? :?

Sorry that I'm asking so many questions. I'm just trying to my head wrapped around how these cycles work so that I can get an idea of what to expect and be prepared for these drops.

As for the food, I now have some MC to experiment with. Hopefully I won't have to break it out tonight. :-| I'm sure that it will be put to use sometime soon...

One more thing - As for the bounce-clear-bounce-clear theory, I'm probably getting way ahead of myself and I know that it's too early to draw any conclusions (yes my hopefulness is likely getting in the way of logical thinking at this point) but what if Webster doesn't even need insulin? What if his diet change alone has caused a decreased load on his pancreas and it's able to keep up with insulin demand at this point?

Building on this theory, his pancreas is able to handle the full load and even a .25u dose of Lantus is enough to drive down his BG's to unacceptably low levels. He crashed hard, bounces, and as the bounce is clearing I am flooding his body with more unnecessary insulin, causing a never ending cycle of clearing, crashing, bouncing, clearing. Is this idea a stretch? Have you encountered this?

I know that I hinted at trying to take him off the juice to see what happens and it was strongly discouraged here (for good reasons - Previous DKA). Maybe an even smaller dose or perhaps taking him off insulin completely might be the next logical approach? I really don't know..
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

I'm glad you ask so many questions, Mike. Saves me having to ask them. :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Marycatmom said:
I'm glad you ask so many questions, Mike. Saves me having to ask them. :-D

Well, that will make at least 2 of us who will benefit and likely several others today and into the future.

We probably have a lot of the same questions and thoughts about our cats since they seem to have similar behavior.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

But a similar number... How does this indicate an "active" cycle. Doesn't a similar number indicate that it's going to be a normal cycle with a slow, gradual decline until nadir and the a slow gradual incline until PS?

Let's say he's 150 at AMPS; at +2 he's 145. Similar, right? Basically same number. If his previous PMPS shot was wearing off and he was not going to have any overlap between the two shots, he'd likely be much higher. Often as one shot wears off before the next one kicks in, numbers can go up pretty fast. BUT, let's say he got some really great duration and so as the PMPS shot from the night before is barely waning by +2 so the BG is not coming up, the AMPS shot kicks in, and off we go for an active cycle.

Conversely, if he's 150 at AMPS and at +2 he's 275 because he doesn't have any carryover so he also doesn't have any overlap because the PMPS shot already pooped out. So when he onsets at +2, he doesn't have the overlap of the two shots working together. The ideal lantus curve is basically flat because of the carryover and overlap.

If he's a lot lower at +2 and he onsets, it's going to really push numbers down fast, most likely. So it could be from a full depot or it could be that all of a sudden those counterregulatory hormones have cleared out, the shot kicks in, and you have a low number early. And yes, it is often a fast, early drop.

Maybe I'm not understanding the context of the term "active". Are you saying that a similar number at +2 is a good thing and indicates that the remainder of the cycle is going to be a slow drop and then a slow rise? :?
I'm not really pinning "good thing" or "bad thing" on an active cycle. It's more a "pay attention" notice. Also, because there are other variables, like absorption of that particular shot, the cycle might be a slow drop, it might be faster, or in a tightly regulated cat, it's going to be flat.

We never ever mind anyone asking questions. We are all here to learn no matter where we are in this dance or how long we've been doing it.

One more thing - As for the bounce-clear-bounce-clear theory, I'm probably getting way ahead of myself and I know that it's too early to draw any conclusions (yes my hopefulness is likely getting in the way of logical thinking at this point) but what if Webster doesn't even need insulin?
Look around at other SS's. Many cats do this bounce-clear-bounce and they are on bigger doses. Gracie did it a lot on lantus and she does still do it on lev but she's not quite as dramatic about it most of the time. Look at Gabby's SS. Gabby is a long-term diabetic. In my mind, that kind of cycle does not equal ready to go into remission when you don't see the cat earning reductions when they go low. There are times that I know Gracie is ready for a reduction because I have to really work to keep her BG up and usually she will still dip below 40. Also...look around at the cats who have recently gone into remission; Webster's SS does not look like theirs.

Are some cats overdosed and do they tank and then fire back up? Yes. But those cats are the ones that were started at huge doses by the vet and raised a unit at a time. If you use the TR protocol correctly, you can't overdose the kitty because the dose adjustments are so small. Can the food change make a difference? Absolutely. But I'm not seeing it on his SS. But that's just me. It's always good to hear other thoughts.

I know you want him in remission and he might very well get there. But I think the focus, right now, should be on regulation.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Websterthecat said:
Marycatmom said:
I'm glad you ask so many questions, Mike. Saves me having to ask them. :-D

Well, that will make at least 2 of us who will benefit and likely several others today and into the future.

We probably have a lot of the same questions and thoughts about our cats since they seem to have similar behavior.

I still maintain they're in cahoots! :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

I'd add a couple more thoughts.

Sometimes when the +2 is significantly higher than the preshot, it's telling you a bounce is beginning.

Most cats that are ready to go off of insulin are spending long hours in green numbers. Most of them have stopped bouncing because their bodies have re-accepted normal numbers as normal. That's not true of all of them, but it's pretty typical. There are a few that bounce all the way to OTJ, but most have spreadsheets that turn all green before they go off of insulin.

I agree with Marje that while everyone wants their cats to go OTJ, the primary focus is best spent on getting the cat into normal numbers for as long as possible. Then if a cat can go OTJ it will become obvious. Webster's ss isn't saying he's ready for that yet. I would definitely not hurry to reduce his dose or take him off of insulin because everything there right now says that he still needs insulin support. You want to just give him what he needs. We do know that the strongest remissions come when a cat is on insulin as long as they need it.

Fortunately, the protocol lays things out fairly clearly on how to proceed with each step of the way with most cats.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Marje and Gracie said:
But a similar number... How does this indicate an "active" cycle. Doesn't a similar number indicate that it's going to be a normal cycle with a slow, gradual decline until nadir and the a slow gradual incline until PS?

Let's say he's 150 at AMPS; at +2 he's 145. Similar, right? Basically same number. If his previous PMPS shot was wearing off and he was not going to have any overlap between the two shots, he'd likely be much higher. Often as one shot wears off before the next one kicks in, numbers can go up pretty fast. BUT, let's say he got some really great duration and so as the PMPS shot from the night before is barely waning by +2 so the BG is not coming up, the AMPS shot kicks in, and off we go for an active cycle.

Conversely, if he's 150 at AMPS and at +2 he's 275 because he doesn't have any carryover so he also doesn't have any overlap because the PMPS shot already pooped out. So when he onsets at +2, he doesn't have the overlap of the two shots working together. The ideal lantus curve is basically flat because of the carryover and overlap.

If he's a lot lower at +2 and he onsets, it's going to really push numbers down fast, most likely. So it could be from a full depot or it could be that all of a sudden those counterregulatory hormones have cleared out, the shot kicks in, and you have a low number early. And yes, it is often a fast, early drop.

Maybe I'm not understanding the context of the term "active". Are you saying that a similar number at +2 is a good thing and indicates that the remainder of the cycle is going to be a slow drop and then a slow rise? :?
I'm not really pinning "good thing" or "bad thing" on an active cycle. It's more a "pay attention" notice. Also, because there are other variables, like absorption of that particular shot, the cycle might be a slow drop, it might be faster, or in a tightly regulated cat, it's going to be flat.

We never ever mind anyone asking questions. We are all here to learn no matter where we are in this dance or how long we've been doing it.

One more thing - As for the bounce-clear-bounce-clear theory, I'm probably getting way ahead of myself and I know that it's too early to draw any conclusions (yes my hopefulness is likely getting in the way of logical thinking at this point) but what if Webster doesn't even need insulin?
Look around at other SS's. Many cats do this bounce-clear-bounce and they are on bigger doses. Gracie did it a lot on lantus and she does still do it on lev but she's not quite as dramatic about it most of the time. Look at Gabby's SS. Gabby is a long-term diabetic. In my mind, that kind of cycle does not equal ready to go into remission when you don't see the cat earning reductions when they go low. There are times that I know Gracie is ready for a reduction because I have to really work to keep her BG up and usually she will still dip below 40. Also...look around at the cats who have recently gone into remission; Webster's SS does not look like theirs.

Are some cats overdosed and do they tank and then fire back up? Yes. But those cats are the ones that were started at huge doses by the vet and raised a unit at a time. If you use the TR protocol correctly, you can't overdose the kitty because the dose adjustments are so small. Can the food change make a difference? Absolutely. But I'm not seeing it on his SS. But that's just me. It's always good to hear other thoughts.

I know you want him in remission and he might very well get there. But I think the focus, right now, should be on regulation.

Thank you for taking the time to further explain the significance of the +2 reading. I now have a much better understanding. :smile:

As for questioning the need for insulin, I suppose that I'm just really becoming frustrated and fishing hard for answers. I'm not able to understand why the heck his SS looks like a never ending string of rainbow colors. I sit here and question why. Why does he bounce around for seemingly no reason day after day?

I'm trying to control every variable that I possibly can (Being consistent with the amount and timing of the both food and Lantus) in order to try to figure out why he's all over the place nearly every day. Maybe my answer will come tomorrow,next week, next month or perhaps never.

I can't help but to sit here an wonder - Is this unpredictable bouncing going to continue on for many months or even years from now? Prior to this diabetes discovery, my wife and I led a very active lifestyle. Outside of work, we would spend almost all of our time traveling, dining out, exploring breweries/wineries, etc. In other words, we spent very little time at home as we were out cherishing the last remaining years in our early 30's, prior to having children.

Now, I often feel a prisoner of my house having to constantly monitor my cats BG, feed him, feed him more to keep his BG's from dropping, giving insulin shots, and stalking him with a ladle trying to obtain a urine sample, stay up all night watching him, etc. Our freedom to plop down a couple bowls of food and water and leave the house for 2-3 days seems like a distant memory. :sad: (then again, this type of food ignorance is likely the reason why I'm dealing with Webster's diabetes now)

I very much care for my cat and will do whatever it takes - regardless. However, not knowing if he will ever stabilize and if we will have the chance to return to our "normal" lifestyle really bothers me.

I guess what I am trying to say here is that I want what's best for Webster. I believe that having a better understanding of why his BG's fluctuate so much will help me to take better care of him and hopefully send him into remission.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Marycatmom said:
Websterthecat said:
Marycatmom said:
I'm glad you ask so many questions, Mike. Saves me having to ask them. :-D

Well, that will make at least 2 of us who will benefit and likely several others today and into the future.

We probably have a lot of the same questions and thoughts about our cats since they seem to have similar behavior.

I still maintain they're in cahoots! :-D
No doubt. :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

julie & punkin (ga) said:
I'd add a couple more thoughts.

Sometimes when the +2 is significantly higher than the preshot, it's telling you a bounce is beginning.

Most cats that are ready to go off of insulin are spending long hours in green numbers. Most of them have stopped bouncing because their bodies have re-accepted normal numbers as normal. That's not true of all of them, but it's pretty typical. There are a few that bounce all the way to OTJ, but most have spreadsheets that turn all green before they go off of insulin.

I agree with Marje that while everyone wants their cats to go OTJ, the primary focus is best spent on getting the cat into normal numbers for as long as possible. Then if a cat can go OTJ it will become obvious. Webster's ss isn't saying he's ready for that yet. I would definitely not hurry to reduce his dose or take him off of insulin because everything there right now says that he still needs insulin support. You want to just give him what he needs. We do know that the strongest remissions come when a cat is on insulin as long as they need it.

Fortunately, the protocol lays things out fairly clearly on how to proceed with each step of the way with most cats.

Thanks for the additional input. Of course I want him OTJ and of course the sooner, the better.

Since the moment we discovered that he was going to need a great deal of care, my outlook was that I'm going to spend as much time as necessary upfront to learn about diabetes so that I can increase his odds of going into remission. Right now I'm trying to justify his erratic BG swings and learn the "dance" I suppose.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

I"m glad Julie added what she did about the +2 being higher because I was just headed back to edit it and add that it could be higher because a bounce is starting or the dose is just not the right one.

When I read your posts, I see me four years ago. I'm a scientist and just believed that I could control things like bounces. I finally learned there might be things I can do to minimize them, but I'm not in control here. I'm just along for the dance. Hard for me to admit that because I am a control freak :-D

I empathize with you 100%. Mike and I were the same as you and your DW when Gracie was dx. We constantly travelled; played golf a couple times a week wherever we wanted to; were always up for last minute plans; had lots of dinner parties. Our life has changed alot and, for a while, it was tough. But we've learned that it's just the way it is and we, like you, will do anything to take care of this little soul that we committed ourselves to when we got her.

We were certain she would go into remission fast. After three years, we finally realized it wasn't going to happen. We've finally gotten a little more chill about it all. But I still totally understand where you are coming from. I hope Webster will go into remission for them both :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Webster +11.5=460 +2=388 +3=354 +5=298

Marje and Gracie said:
I"m glad Julie added what she did about the +2 being higher because I was just headed back to edit it and add that it could be higher because a bounce is starting or the dose is just not the right one.

When I read your posts, I see me four years ago. I'm a scientist and just believed that I could control things like bounces. I finally learned there might be things I can do to minimize them, but I'm not in control here. I'm just along for the dance. Hard for me to admit that because I am a control freak :-D

I empathize with you 100%. Mike and I were the same as you and your DW when Gracie was dx. We constantly travelled; played golf a couple times a week wherever we wanted to; were always up for last minute plans; had lots of dinner parties. Our life has changed alot and, for a while, it was tough. But we've learned that it's just the way it is and we, like you, will do anything to take care of this little soul that we committed ourselves to when we got her.

We were certain she would go into remission fast. After three years, we finally realized it wasn't going to happen. We've finally gotten a little more chill about it all. But I still totally understand where you are coming from. I hope Webster will go into remission for them both :-D

Thank you for sharing your story and your understanding of our situation. This has been a very rough past few weeks for us. Aside from almost losing Webster to DKA and dealing with diabetes, we have also been dealing with multiple problems/issues that all seemed to pile up just in past week. I could rant but I will spare everyone. Let's just say that my life went from near perfect to bad to worse real fast.

On the bright side my wife and I still have our good health which I am very thankful for. Prior to the series of events with Webster, I had no clue what diabetes was, how it was cause and how insulin worked. Learning and dealing with this disease has caused me examine our own eating habits and steer towards a healthier lifestyle so that we can avoid diabetes our self in the future. I suppose it yet another life lesson and learning experience.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381

It is an eye opener. Not only do we learn to feed our cats better, we start thinking about our own health. Of course, the late nights and lack of sleep are not the best. We just have to eat right, exercise, sleep when we can.

It gets better; even if the numbers are still bouncy, you learn to roll with it.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381

Marje and Gracie said:
It is an eye opener. Not only do we learn to feed our cats better, we start thinking about our own health. Of course, the late nights and lack of sleep are not the best. We just have to eat right, exercise, sleep when we can.

It gets better; even if the numbers are still bouncy, you learn to roll with it.

Absolutely. Thank you for sharing.
 
Re: 12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I admire you both very much for being so young and so committed. it says alot about you both :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381

Marje and Gracie said:
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I admire you both very much for being so young and so committed. it says alot about you both :-D

Thank you. :smile:
 
Re: 12/2 Webster PMPS=518 +1=508 +2=477 +3=381

Marje and Gracie said:
You're welcome. I hope you get some rest tonight.

Will likely find out in about 2 mins when I test his +4. He seems headed down fast once again.
 
One of the things that really helped me "get" diabetes was when i finally grasped the importance of the fact that insulin is a hormone. Perhaps you can't relate to this yet, but your wife will. Teenage girls . . . doors slamming, tears, laughing, all within a short time. Up and down, drama. ohmygod_smile Hormones are not like "regular" medicines.

Another factor that you can't control is absorption. Somewhere on the site here, maybe on the sticky about the insulin depot, it says that absorption rates might vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. So even when you're controlling all you can control, there is the absorption factor as well. *sigh*

My extended family has a lot of diabetes in it, although not in my immediate family. My experience with punkin also galvanized my husband and I - we don't want to deal with diabetes! I didn't understand why diabetics had so many complications from it - blindness, kidney disease and neuropathy, for example. I thought it couldn't be that hard to control what you ate. I thought you just didn't eat the sugar! But now i get it. It's a hormone. Between people, dogs and cats, cats are the most difficult to get regulated. So I imagine if people have a hard time regulating their diabetes, and cats are more difficult to get regulated, it's no wonder so many people struggle with their cat's blood sugar.

Like Marje, I'm a bit of a control freak too. If there's anything you learn by dealing with this, it's how to let go of the things you can't control. This illness is Webster's and all you can do is the best you can do to help him. You're doing that. Learning all you can is the first step. I put together this post a couple of years ago on what's happening in a diabetic cat's body. There might be something in there that will be helpful.

While you never stop worrying, i did learn to take it one day at a time. There is a really great Break-up Letter to D'Artagnan's Diabetes that a member here wrote when her cat went OTJ. She was in her 20's, so you might relate to it. It's insightful - the disease that takes so much away from us, also gives us a relationship with our cats that is unique and special. The bond you will develop in taking care of Webster will likely be unlike any other pet you'll ever have. It's a double-edged sword.

I have 3 kids and I'd say that taking care of a diabetic cat is good prep for having babies. In fact, a baby may very well seem easy after Webster's diabetic adventures. :-D
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
One of the things that really helped me "get" diabetes was when i finally grasped the importance of the fact that insulin is a hormone. Perhaps you can't relate to this yet, but your wife will. Teenage girls . . . doors slamming, tears, laughing, all within a short time. Up and down, drama. ohmygod_smile Hormones are not like "regular" medicines.

Another factor that you can't control is absorption. Somewhere on the site here, maybe on the sticky about the insulin depot, it says that absorption rates might vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. So even when you're controlling all you can control, there is the absorption factor as well. *sigh*

My extended family has a lot of diabetes in it, although not in my immediate family. My experience with punkin also galvanized my husband and I - we don't want to deal with diabetes! I didn't understand why diabetics had so many complications from it - blindness, kidney disease and neuropathy, for example. I thought it couldn't be that hard to control what you ate. I thought you just didn't eat the sugar! But now i get it. It's a hormone. Between people, dogs and cats, cats are the most difficult to get regulated. So I imagine if people have a hard time regulating their diabetes, and cats are more difficult to get regulated, it's no wonder so many people struggle with their cat's blood sugar.

Like Marje, I'm a bit of a control freak too. If there's anything you learn by dealing with this, it's how to let go of the things you can't control. This illness is Webster's and all you can do is the best you can do to help him. You're doing that. Learning all you can is the first step. I put together this post a couple of years ago on what's happening in a diabetic cat's body. There might be something in there that will be helpful.

While you never stop worrying, i did learn to take it one day at a time. There is a really great Break-up Letter to D'Artagnan's Diabetes that a member here wrote when her cat went OTJ. She was in her 20's, so you might relate to it. It's insightful - the disease that takes so much away from us, also gives us a relationship with our cats that is unique and special. The bond you will develop in taking care of Webster will likely be unlike any other pet you'll ever have. It's a double-edged sword.

I have 3 kids and I'd say that taking care of a diabetic cat is good prep for having babies. In fact, a baby may very well seem easy after Webster's diabetic adventures. :-D

There's some really great info and words of wisdom written here. I read the break up letter (which I could relate to in many ways) and bookmarked the your post for reading later this evening.

As for the absorption factor, I've heard this around here before. While absorption may be a factor that I can't control, I want to make sure that I'm doing everything to control the controllable. Hopefully by doing so I can eventually draw some sort of conclusion.

I also have a lot of diabetes in my family and this unexpected series of events has forced me into learning about the disease and really has me thinking about our own health and what I can do to help prevent becoming diabetic myself.

It's ironic that you mentioned the a diabetic cat as a perp for babies. This has been a frequently discussed topic around here lately. My wife and I are really questioning whether on not we ever want children. While not the first time ever discussed, it has been a hot topic around here for a few weeks now.

Another thing that I'm realizing here is that in the end, as humans, we are not much different at all. Here I am, a young male in what I assume to be a predominately female message board of various ages and we are all experiencing the same thoughts and feelings regardless of what stage of life we are currently in.
 
I want to make sure that I'm doing everything to control the controllable.

A great goal.....but first, one must define what is controllable and don't ask control freaks like Julie and me :lol: :lol: :lol:

Another thing that I'm realizing here is that in the end, as humans, we are not much different at all. Here I am, a young male in what I assume to be a predominately female message board of various ages and we are all experiencing the same thoughts and feelings regardless of what stage of life we are currently in.

A very astute observation. We're all united in this and I've said it many times....FD takes a village :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top