12/2 Sammie PMPS 191 +1 277 +2 187 +2.5 154 +3 169

Sarah & Sammie

Member Since 2017
Sammie has been recovering from her seizure. She is acting herself and seems content. I’ve been doing a better job of getting midday glucose checks.

Her numbers are all over the place and my vet suggested the following: (attached)

Before I change her dosing, I’d appreciate any thoughts.
 

Attachments

  • DED94072-7F94-4BE7-A5A6-FC9A827B9C21.jpeg
    DED94072-7F94-4BE7-A5A6-FC9A827B9C21.jpeg
    58 KB · Views: 66
Normally we increase or decrease by 0.25 units. Do you know what caused the seizure? Are you still giving the dry food? That will be high in carbs and keep the glucoses high. Before skipping a dose, post here for advice, it will drain the depot and that is what carries them through and helps keep the glucoses down.
 
Normally we increase or decrease by 0.25 units. Do you know what caused the seizure? Are you still giving the dry food? That will be high in carbs and keep the glucoses high. Before skipping a dose, post here for advice, it will drain the depot and that is what carries them through and helps keep the glucoses down.
I forget the technical name for the seizure but the dr guessed it was caused by low blood sugar. I recently started incorporating wet z/d into her dinner. I realistically can not afford to switch her entirely to canned food.
 
I forget the technical name for the seizure but the dr guessed it was caused by low blood sugar. I recently started incorporating wet z/d into her dinner. I realistically can not afford to switch her entirely to canned food.

Most of us feed fancy feast or friskies pate wet food. Unless you need the rx food because of the ibd.
 
Many IBD kitties do fine on novel protein diets with probiotics. Novel is a protein she hasn’t had before, maybe lamb, venison, duck, etc. ZD is horribly high in carbs. Even kangaroo and alligator. There are a few manufacturers making these options,

With SLGS you would not increase cause you are seeing numbers under 150. But you have only seen one occurrence. Any chance of doing a curve soon? You might be able to go up to 2.75, definitely not 3.0 units.
 
I agree with above...take it slow and easy on those increases per the protocol you're on. I'm sorry, but your vet has what looks to me like old information -- or possibly advice that would be used in dogs.

I hope Sammie settles down soon...poor thing. Hang in there!
 
Many IBD kitties do fine on novel protein diets with probiotics. Novel is a protein she hasn’t had before, maybe lamb, venison, duck, etc. ZD is horribly high in carbs. Even kangaroo and alligator. There are a few manufacturers making these options,

With SLGS you would not increase cause you are seeing numbers under 150. But you have only seen one occurrence. Any chance of doing a curve soon? You might be able to go up to 2.75, definitely not 3.0 units.
We’ve tried limited ingredient and novel protein diets and they all have her trouble. She had to be on prednisolone. The hydrolyzed chicken is best success we’ve had.

Because of my schedule I won’t be able to do a curve until 12/12.

I’m confused that her numbers are so high and then normal. 24 hours before the 143 she was 703!
 
I agree with above...take it slow and easy on those increases per the protocol you're on. I'm sorry, but your vet has what looks to me like old information -- or possibly advice that would be used in dogs.

I hope Sammie settles down soon...poor thing. Hang in there!

They wanted her on the same dose consistently, but it’s been impossible to regulate her. They said in hard to manage cases they will sometimes suggest altering the dosage based on blood glucose level.
 
May I suggest getting a before bed test each and every night. Many cats go lower at night. You may be missing important information. Possibly a reduction earned. Also, it will help if you can gradually lower your no shot number if you are home to monitor. When you miss, she goes sky high. Next time you get a lower number than you are used to shooting, stall, do not feed, and post here for help. Think of it as a stall number, not a no shot number. When you shoot lower numbers, the cycles are much flatter.
 
They wanted her on the same dose consistently, but it’s been impossible to regulate her. They said in hard to manage cases they will sometimes suggest altering the dosage based on blood glucose level.

If your vet really believes this to be true, then a depot-type of insulin (Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir) is not the right kind of insulin. Sammie would do better on Prozinc. You can adjust the dose of Prozinc on a shot by shot basis whereas you need to hold depot-type insulin doses in order for the depot to stabilize. This is an important consideration if you want to stick with Lantus.

Also, if you feel like the Z/D is your only option, there is no way to know how much it is contributing to the high numbers you're seeing.
 
May I suggest getting a before bed test each and every night. Many cats go lower at night. You may be missing important information. Possibly a reduction earned. Also, it will help if you can gradually lower your no shot number if you are home to monitor. When you miss, she goes sky high. Next time you get a lower number than you are used to shooting, stall, do not feed, and post here for help. Think of it as a stall number, not a no shot number. When you shoot lower numbers, the cycles are much flatter.

It’s time for her shot and she’s at 191. Should I give her the regular 2.5?
 
Have you fed yet? If not, don’t, wait 20 minutes and test again to see if she’s coming up.

Can you monitor tonight, get a few later tests?
 
Have you fed yet? If not, don’t, wait 20 minutes and test again to see if she’s coming up.

Can you monitor tonight, get a few later tests?
I did feed her the wet food. I reduced to 2 units. I will be going to bed in about two hours but can test again before then. She’s at 212 now. (Someone on here told me on my last post that she should have access to food at all times. I bought the sure feeder and it’s filled with her dry z/d. She helps herself throughout the day.)
 
Did you shoot? Another option is a partial dose to get something in her so she doesn't zoom up to black.
 
Typing at the same time! :p

Let's see what that +2 says. Food always available will help overnight.

When you are close to or skipping a lot on a dose, it can be an indication you need to reduce, not increase. Let's see what she does tonight.
 
Typing at the same time! :p

Let's see what that +2 says. Food always available will help overnight.

When you are close to or skipping a lot on a dose, it can be an indication you need to reduce, not increase. Let's see what she does tonight.
She went up to 277 and is now at 187. She just ate more food. Is it ok for me to go to bed?
 
Any chance you could snooze but set an alarm for +4? When the +2 is a little lower than the preshot, it could mean some action. Alternatively, drink a large glass of water before bed and test when you have to get up.
 
Any chance you could snooze but set an alarm for +4? When the +2 is a little lower than the preshot, it could mean some action. Alternatively, drink a large glass of water before bed and test when you have to get up.
Unfortunately I have insomnia so once my medication kicks in I (hopefully) fall asleep and don’t wake up until morning. I’m worried setting an alarm would have me up all night long. I will test again in 15 minutes and see where she is. She is eating more food right now.
 
Sorry about that. At least make sure she's got plenty of her food down when you go to sleep, so she can keep herself safe.
 
At least for an hour is a good idea.

Could you update the subject line in your first post to reflect the current PM data? Those of us looking to see if anyone needs help will look at the subject line. She's still safe, at the moment, and much better than those 600's this morning!
 
Back
Top