12/2 Sam AMPS 90, +4.25 218,+7 246, PMPS 246, +3 205

chuckstables

Member Since 2022
Hi,

So when I tested sam this morning his blood sugar was only 90. I reduced his dosage to 2 units temporarily as I was scared. Was able to get home and got permission to work from home, so I just tested him (I had left him with a bowl of 18% carb dry food to get his levels up) and he's now at 218.

Advice?
 
Reduce the dose to 2.75 units tonight. 3.0 units is too much. For people following our Start Low Go Slow dosing method (SLGS), they reduce when kitty goes under 90. People who feed dry food can only follow the SLGS dosing method.

It was OK you did 2.0 units today, that was a way to keep him safe. I hope he had lots of dry food last night too. Whenever you shoot lower numbers like you did last night, we would strongly recommend you get a second test. I suspect he was under 90 for quite a bit of the night.

What you are seeing now is a bounce. Don't worry, it will be over soon and he'll come back down to nicer numbers.

Here is the link to your previous post, for continuity for others reading: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-01-2022-sam-amps-130-pmps-122.271382/
 
Reduce the dose to 2.75 units tonight. 3.0 units is too much. For people following our Start Low Go Slow dosing method (SLGS), they reduce when kitty goes under 90. People who feed dry food can only follow the SLGS dosing method.

It was OK you did 2.0 units today, that was a way to keep him safe. I hope he had lots of dry food last night too. Whenever you shoot lower numbers like you did last night, we would strongly recommend you get a second test. I suspect he was under 90 for quite a bit of the night.

What you are seeing now is a bounce. Don't worry, it will be over soon and he'll come back down to nicer numbers.

Here is the link to your previous post, for continuity for others reading: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-01-2022-sam-amps-130-pmps-122.271382/


Thanks, the vet said she doesn’t need to see him given his numbers are back up. She wants me to do a blood glucose curve at home tomorrow, would that be beneficial?
 
She wants me to do a blood glucose curve at home tomorrow, would that be beneficial?
Maybe is my answer. Bounces can take six cycles to resolve. He may still be high tomorrow which would tell us nothing about how low this dose is taking him. It's those low numbers that guide us in how to change the dose. However, if you are home, it would be good to get a couple spot checks in the +4 to +7 time range. I'd grab a test in the first few hours after the shot, and if he's still high, don't bother testing until PMPS. Sunday might be a better day for a curve.
 
Maybe is my answer. Bounces can take six cycles to resolve. He may still be high tomorrow which would tell us nothing about how low this dose is taking him. It's those low numbers that guide us in how to change the dose. However, if you are home, it would be good to get a couple spot checks in the +4 to +7 time range. I'd grab a test in the first few hours after the shot, and if he's still high, don't bother testing until PMPS. Sunday might be a better day for a curve.

He’s higher, 13.7 mmols at +7, so 246.
 
How should i dose 2.75 units? I use a vial, and 0.3cc syringes with half unit markings. Tough to go half or a half.
 
Totally expected during a bounce for his numbers to be higher. It'll take some time for him to come down again.

To get those 0.25 units differences, you can start with eyeballing it. From the Sticky Note talking about Fine Dosing, here is a picture that shows 0.25 units. You'd do the same for .75 units:
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
    49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 94
His PMPS shot was the same; 13.7 mmols, so 247 or so. Will test tomorrow morning, will do a blood glucose curve sunday. Currently ordering 200 more test strips; I've been through so many so quickly. Glad I got the bravo meter though; costs like half per strip as accuchek! Almost wish I could get my doctor to diagnose me with diabetes. My works health insurance covers 100% of all medication once you reach 80% paid (100 dollar deductible; after u pay 100 dollars they cover everything). My pharmacist jokes about how I get my meds for free, but I have to pay for my cats!
 
His PMPS shot was the same; 13.7 mmols, so 247 or so. Will test tomorrow morning, will do a blood glucose curve sunday. Currently ordering 200 more test strips; I've been through so many so quickly. Glad I got the bravo meter though; costs like half per strip as accuchek! Almost wish I could get my doctor to diagnose me with diabetes. My works health insurance covers 100% of all medication once you reach 80% paid (100 dollar deductible; after u pay 100 dollars they cover everything). My pharmacist jokes about how I get my meds for free, but I have to pay for my cats!
Lol the main reason why Cadmium is using an AccuChek is because it used to be mine! Not diabetic, but it's covered by my insurance because of my hypoglycemia. Going to be really interesting if I can officially start a CGM, because then I'll need to pay for the strips then!
 
Back
Top