12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 PMPS 220 - ss completed updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,

I haven't had access for the past week or so, so I still have to update Napoleon's SS, have everything written down. He earned a dosecrease this past weekend with a 35 at +7. We are starting Lev on Saturday, the vet worked with me after I sent him the research info and wiki info. I'm excited. He basically told me to try it at my own risk, to which I told him, gladly ;-)

My question is, should I skip a day between his Lantus and Lev? To allow the Lantus to get out of his system a bit? It says you should not mix Lev with any other insulin. Also, he is currently on 2.75U BID of Lantus, earned after the 35 this past week. Is 1.5u BID of Lev a good place to start?

Thanks everyone!!
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

Not too sure about the starting dose...Libby and Jill have suggested a bit of a lower Lev dose...maybe they will be able to help. I do think that 1.50u might be a bit too low...but as I say, wait for others....Sooty was just switched over to but he is an Acro and is on a much higher dose.
What made you decide to switch Nicole?
We have been on Lev since our switch from Vetsulin last Oct... (I know Dyana switched J.D. too)

I am very excited for you and Napoleon! :mrgreen: Hope you are feeling well...and that you have a great day...
wishing you both all the very best!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

We didn't delay a day, the way I saw it, the new Levemir depot takes a couple of days to fill and the old Lantus shed takes a couple of days to deplete, so although there may be some overlap, it's not too much.

Conventional wisdom (such as there is) says to drop the intial Lev dose by 30% (which we did). I think this is a reasonable guideline, just in case there is either a) more overlap than expected or b) the Lantus might have possibly lost some of its punch.

As Pat said however, Sooty is Acro - so we can get away with things that others might not but whatever you do, it probably makes sense to test more than usual for the first couple of days and be ready to respond to any unexpected events...

Good luck with the switch!
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

Hi Pat!

Thanks so much! I was think that the 1.5 may be too low also. I read somewhere to start them at 70% of the Lantus dose and that take him to just under 2u Bid. I know that he will most likely need less of the Lev than Lantus.

The reason I decided to switch were a few. Napoleon still has some wacky drops on Lantus. I know Levemir is a little more gentle and long acting. I may be worrying too much about it, but the cancer risk that I have heard about with Lantus frightens me terribly. Also, from what I have seen from those who have switched to Lev (including your furries) the results have been good, I have researched a lot and I am really liking what I see.

This switch feels good to me, like we are going to see some good results. I am excited too :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

Thanks for the info Perry and the good luck wishes :-D

Hope that Sooty is doing great on the Levemir. I cannot access the spreadsheets ( mine or others) from work, but I will check it out when I get home.
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

J.D was at 2.50u Lantus and started Lev at 2.0u
Putty was at 1.50u Lantus and went to 1.0u Lev
Sooty was at 8.0u Lantus and went to 6.0u Lev

You will see how Napoleon reacts to the Lev and maybe adjust the dose after that anyway. I hope that someone will be by to talk about it with you....this is gonna be great!

ETA: your SS show new Lantus on 10/3 but you said you hadn't updated it yet. Did yo open a new one recently?
They will need to look at your SS so if you can update that soon it would be good.
I use the flex pens...I usually change pens at the 6 week mark and never pushed it any longer than that. This past month, I used the whole thing in like 31/32 days or something. (I order from Candadrugsonline.com)
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

Thanks for that information Pat! That is very helpful.

I am still going to post here along with you and Perry and Dyana even though I am switching. Can't wait to see the results, I have such a good feeling about this, I really do.

Hopefully someone will be by in the next day or so. I will give him his first shot Saturday AM so I can be home to monitor him for a couple of days and then my mom will be able to check on him next week a couple of times a day. I just ordered 100 more test strips from Amazon, so we are ready to go :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

Of course you should keep posting here!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: There are a few others who are on Lev too...
Jazzy too. I can't think of the others right now, but yes....LL is for Lev too! :mrgreen:

But Nicole, try* to update the SS as I said before. That is important for Libby and Jill to be able to see a totally up-to-date SS.... :mrgreen:

* Yoda said "there is no try...there is just do....or something like that! ;-)
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 - Finally able to post - starting

+5.5 - 144

Thanks Pat, no problem :-D I will have the SS updated by PMPS tonight. I have opened a new Lantus at the beginning of this month. I will check the date on the bottle and update on our SS with the information.

My fridge is full of post its with Nap's numbers :lol: It is insane!
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 +5.5~144- starting Lev

Wow....full of numbers?? No food? That'll keep you thin....LOL...I know what you mean!
You have your homework cut out for you then!
Once you get that update, Jill and Libby will take a look and get back to you I am sure...
(not sure about what you said about him needing less Lev....ECID as they say....so you will check it out and increase/decrease as needed....see how he does on it!)
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 +5.5~144- starting Lev

Nicole & Napoleon said:
Thanks so much! I was think that the 1.5 may be too low also. I read somewhere to start them at 70% of the Lantus dose and that take him to just under 2u Bid. I know that he will most likely need less of the Lev than Lantus.

The reason I decided to switch were a few. Napoleon still has some wacky drops on Lantus. I know Levemir is a little more gentle and long acting. I may be worrying too much about it, but the cancer risk that I have heard about with Lantus frightens me terribly. Also, from what I have seen from those who have switched to Lev (including your furries) the results have been good, I have researched a lot and I am really liking what I see.

Generally, the initial dose of Lev is as you and Perry both noted -- approx. 30% less than your current dose of Lantus. However, you may need to bring the dose up after a few cycles. It's only at switching over that you need less Lev. After the start up, the dose is what Napoleon will need and it has nothing to do with Lantus. I also suspect when you read about not mixing Lev with any other insulin, it meant don't mix it in the syringe. Lantus has the same precautionary note.

Lev is not more long acting than Lantus. The nadir is later in the cycle. If you look at Miriam/Putty's SS, you'll see where the Lantus vs. Lev nadir is. Putty is having nadirs much later in the cycle (and now Miriam is learning to power nap).
 
Re: 12/2 Napoleon AMPS 358 +5.5~144- starting Lev

Pat,
Yep - full of numbers - I'm a twig :lol:
All over the side of my fridge is a sea of pink post its. People would think I am conducting an experiment if they didn't know better!
I'll pop a quick update on here as soon I as I get the SS updated. I'll try to do it as soon as I get home before his PMPS. Not really sure if he will need more or less of the Lev, just from what I have seen/read, but I know every cat is different so not sure how he will react personally. We'll have to see, but will happy anticipation.

Thanks so much for all of your help :YMHUG:

Hi Sienne,

Thank you for the clarification. I just get a little nervous whenever I switch him over. Napoleon's Nadir should be an interesting on the Lev - he is generally a late nadir with Lantus, even as late at +12 sometimes. I am already a queen of the power nap ( took one last night between +3 and +5) :lol: Thanks for all of your help also :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top