12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504 PMPS 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

Here is yesterday's condo.

It was a rough night with a teething, screaming baby, so I was only able to get one reading after the PM shot.

My husband fed Cobb this morning around 3:30 when he left. 1/2 can of 5.5oz Friskies. He mixed it with water, and when I woke up around 6:45, Cobb had returned to the bowl to finish it up. So it looks like he has slowed down on how fast he is eating. This morning he jumped up on the bed -- and the baby was sitting in it -- something he hasn't really done. He laid down for a few minutes before jumping down.

My vet says that external stress can raise the cat's BG numbers. How much? I know the baby is stressful when he is crying, but do you really think that has an effect on Cobb's BG? And after 5 months, shouldn't he be used to it?

Hope everyone has a wonderful Monday!
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

I would think that Cobb would not be stressed enough to raise his BGs too much after 5 months of hearing the baby crying. He should be pretty much used to it by now.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

Dyana said:
I would think that Cobb would not be stressed enough to raise his BGs too much after 5 months of hearing the baby crying. He should be pretty much used to it by now.
Ok. We agree with that as well. That was one thing the vet continued to tell us about his higher numbers since July. Just wanted to run it by others.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

He may be used to it but that doesn't mean it's not stressful. Are you stressed if the baby is crying? Remember, a cat's hearing is much more acute than ours. I doubt that a crying baby is the only explanation for the high numbers, though.

What time are you shooting? You don't want to be feeding 2 hours prior to shot time. The food can influence pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

Sienne and Gabby said:
He may be used to it but that doesn't mean it's not stressful. Are you stressed if the baby is crying?
I'm only stressed when I can't figure out what is wrong.

Sienne and Gabby said:
What time are you shooting? You don't want to be feeding 2 hours prior to shot time. The food can influence pre-shot numbers.
I shoot at 8a and 8p. I moved most of his food into the first part of the cycle. He's tolerated that pretty well. I think when I heard him this morning he was just licking remnants from the bowl, not eating per se. I can control it better in the afternoon because I'm awake. 3:30am is the only post-6+ food he gets. Otherwise he wouldn't have any food out for nearly 12 hours.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

i fed punkin at preshot and +3, which he always inhaled within moments, then he went the 9 hrs til his next shot with only the little (1/2" cubes) bits of boiled chicken breast after his tests. he was offended by the schedule initially, but it did help to improve his numbers. he got used to it within a few days and then was fine unless i deviated from his agreed-upon Feed Me Contract.

hoping Cobb comes down more today - one observation on his ss is that this is a similar amps to 11/29, when he was still getting the 10u. i'm sending all my best thoughts to Cobb to come down today!

off to work. i was just thinking of you guys when i woke up this morning and wanted to check and see how he is. have a good day.

ps, i doubt the baby is responsible for his high numbers also.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i fed punkin at preshot and +3, which he always inhaled within moments, then he went the 9 hrs til his next shot with only the little (1/2" cubes) bits of boiled chicken breast after...
Regarding the chicken breast. Do you just keep this in the refrigerator? I'm thinkng of doing it this afternoon.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507

These numbers aren't making sense. Why would the mid-cycle numbers be higher than the pre shot numbers? It's like the insulin is having the opposite effect.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

If your cat has a late nadir, the curves will look like a mountain and not a valley.
One of my cats had nadir around +10 or later on Levemir.

The higher numbers you are seeing now are due to your drastic reduction in dose, so please be sure to be testing for ketones.

Gayle
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

a couple of days ago, I mentioned the option to fast-track the dose if the reduced dose clearly isn't working. The protocol allows for increases of 0.5u every 4 cycles if nadirs are over 300. Cobb hasn't even made it as low as 400, other than that little dip in the very first cycle (and that cycle was still influenced by the depot from the 10 unit shot that morning.

What do you think about increasing to 2.5 tonight? I think it is clear that 2 units isn't enough.

The numbers may look like they are going up in mid-cycle, but if you factor in meter variance he is really staying fairly flat. Also, what we usually see with Lantus is that instead of working strictly within the confines of a 12 hour cycle, the action tends to go in "waves" over 2-3 days. Once you get to a good dose you will be able to see the action better.

Blue is right, do keep checking for ketones.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

Suzanne --

The reality is that there's really no difference between a 459 and a 507. There's an allowable 20% variance associated with any meter. When numbers are high, that range is big. In other words, when you got your AMPS, the 459 is in the middle of a range from 368 to 550. Even though the numbers are different colors on Cobb's SS, the reality is that this is a flat cycle.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

Ok. Thanks all.

I'm good going to 2.5u tonight. I think that's a good plan of action.

I'm getting the KetoStix tomorrow so I'll try to start checking for those as soon as I can. I'm also going to be switching meters probably starting tomorrow night's cycle as I'm almost out of iPet test strips and I have new ones for the ReliOn Confirm on the way.

By a flat cycle with these numbers...is that just indicative that the dose isn't high enough and not having any affect on his body?
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

cobbsmom said:
By a flat cycle with these numbers...is that just indicative that the dose isn't high enough and not having any affect on his body?
Probably. There are lots of reasons for flat cycles, but it is typical with Lantus that it looks like the insulin isn't even touching the numbers until the cat gets to a good dose. It's frustrating as all get out when you just want to see some progress! Then one day the kitty has a breakthrough and everything is different.

I'm glad you're increasing tonight.
 
Re: 12/2 Cobb AMPS 459 +2.5 477 +5 507 +7 504

good plan to increase tonight!

i simmered individual chicken breasts - maybe 2 at a time - about 10 minutes in water. cut them into 1/2" dice, store all of it in ziplock freezer bags in the freezer except for a couple of tablespoons. that went in the fridge and i doled it out for treats. if punkin seemed like he needed a snack i gave him a few of those.
 
Thanks all! I figure it was a long shot to do such a drastic decrease and see an immediate change. Makes me second guess my decision, but here we are. Here's hoping for some better numbers tomorrow and that Cobb's liver cooperates!

Question...I'm going to run out if text strips in the middle of the cycle. I'm going to get a new meter tomorrow. Any concern with changing meters mid-cycle? Should I just note it on the SS?
 
Just note the meter change on your SS. People will switch off an expensive meter all the time. You can also put a note in your signature line.
 
cobbsmom said:
Question...I'm going to run out if text strips in the middle of the cycle.
Since he's up there in numbers, why don't you save the rest of your test strips for tomorrow morning.
 
hopefully you can get a ketone check done, too. don't want to worry you or add to your burden, but it is important.

i think you'll be happy with a cheaper meter and the Relion is fine. the numbers will likely be lower, too, as human meters typically run lower than pet meters. that alone might be cheery! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top