12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196 PMPS 426, +4 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
For those that have been following Todd since I posted yesterday.. doesn't 169 before his shot seem rather low? I was hovering in the 400's and 300's last night. I got to sleep around 2am, so I didn't check on hm until 9:30am.\

I'm not sure if I should give his Lantus or not, nor how much. I gave him 1.75u last night at 9:30pm Pacific time.


Thoughts?...

*Edit

I just spoke with our vet, and she tells me if I can get him to eat a bite or two of food, to give at least .5u of his insulin this morning. I just gave him his appetite stimulant, so that should hopefully get him eating shortly.

Something I just brought up to our vet, and I read about this on the Feline Health Forum yesterday, is that some have reported that the drug Adequan, can cause insulin resistance. I told her this and she said she is going to look into that right now, to see if that is what has happened. Because it does seem so odd that he was doing fine, doing fine and then within a couple of weeks of starting Adequan, his BG is all over the place and he starts getting sicker. The thing is.. I don't know if there is a way to reverse that, if this is what has happened. :/

*Edit 2

annnd he just threw up white foam for the 2nd morning in a row.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Lovely amps for Todd I am not one to give advice I know others will be along soon to help guide you and welcome again to LL :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Hi--- Welcome to lantus land--I do believe the high numbers you experienced yesterday were a bounce from the 64 you had the day before.
A bounce is a rebound which comes from the liver panicking at lower bg numbers & spilling glucose into the bloodstream as a defensive response-It is not a bad thing, actually quite normal for a cat on lantus..It usually clears in a day or two, but as I see in your SS looks like it is clearing already--
Did you shoot yet?
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Actually, I wouldn't feed or shoot just yet.

Hopefully you haven't done either. Can you take another reading in a half hour...

We want to see which direction he is going. Plus Lantus likes consistency. So in you would reduce the dose to only .50u is too much. A 1.5u if you are nervous.

But first we like to see where he is heading for now.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

You numbers are wonky because of dosing inconsistency. The other medication my be interfering, but constant skipping shots and dose changes greater than 0.25u are a major player here.


Too many insulin changes and we can't tell what the culprit is...and neither can the vet.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

So you shot 0.5U?? It is possible adequan or something else could be causing the vomiting..
This amps is a really good one, I know you arent used to the low ones, but it is good--Was it caused by him not eating?? I see you are giving Mirtz--
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Roni and Moonie said:
This amps is a really good one, I know you arent used to the low ones, but it is good--Was it caused by him not eating?? I see you are giving Mirtz--


What did you do and shoot?
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

He hasn't received the Adequan in two weeks, because we thought it might be playing some kind of roll in how he was/is feeling.

Anyway, I did not give his shot yet. Just the appetite stimulant. He does have a hard time eating, which is why he gets it. I don't know if maybe he just didn't eat much during the night. I had him set up in my office with food and water, it doesn't look like he had anything during the night. Hard to tell though. the low number could very well be that he just didn't eat.

He is eating right now though. He asked for some food. So I gave him a little. No shot yet, though he is eating his food pretty well right now.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Next time, please don't feed. We won't be able to tell which way his BG is going because of the food spike. Wait a half hour next time and test. If the number is moving up then we know it is safe to shoot a regular dose and feed.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Can you get a test right after he finishes eating? NOt 15 minutes later, but like right after. According to post time it would be a half hour.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Blue- I'm so sorry.. I was just excited that he wanted food. :/

I just spoke with the vet again and she said since he did eat, I should give him 1.5u this morning, and check his BG in about two hours.

We both agreed that perhaps he just didn't eat during the night, and that was why he had low BG this morning. It really looks like he didn't eat anything or much at all during the night. She was also telling me that some cats she has known, vomit on an empty tummy, which I have seen before. I had a cat that used to do that in the mornings when he was hungry. So I am betting Todd was hungry and had an empty tummy, threw up and then wanted food... He has started this odd habit, where he doesn't like to eat unless me or someone else is next to him or petting him.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

It is OK, believe me ...we've all done what you just did.

Here are several stickies to give you a better idea of what we're doing when we get a "low preshot" which you are new to home testing and for you...169 seemed wildly low. It was not and really is not. It is actually a AMps we would all love to see here on Lantus.

STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - DATA READY TO SHOOT LOW NUMBERS?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147&start=0

And this one too:
Dealing with Low Preshots
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894

I think a 1.5u and testing in a few will be fine.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

ToddyTiger said:
Blue- 205 but it has been a bit


If it "has been a bit" that is most likely a food spike. How long is "a bit" too? Plus are you still feeding Dry? It was Hills K/D right?

You were at the end of the cycle, so the insulin should be wearing off. The goal with lantus is to shoot for the overlap and keep the cat between 50-200. Lantus in a properly regulated cat will not produce peaks and valleys on the BG curve. Rather it produces a low flat curve.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Thank you for all of the help, Blue! I gave him the 1.5u a couple of minutes ago and he ate a little bit of the k/d canned. But to answer your question, yes, his big meal this morning was k/d dry. He would rather eat the dry over the wet.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169

Hills K/D Dry is 22% carbohydrate. That means Todd's numbers are definitely going to go up.

You know how they talk about how sugar gets used up real fast and then you hit a "real low?" Well, that is what happens with Dry food kibbles.

Hills K/D is also 22% carbs.

I know Todd has some other medical issues and I can't address changing away from a high carb. prescription diet. It is outside my experience. But it is something to keep in mind when dosing Todd.

Higher carbs is going to mean a higher insulin need and potentially odd drops in numbers as the carbs. run out.

Have you ever visited this area of FelineDiabetes.com http://felinediabetes.com/diet.htm ?
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196

3 and a half hours after shot, he is 196. Talkitive, walking around ok, eaten a few times and gone potty. Seems ok so far. :)



Oh hey.. just curious, does anyone have a cat or has had a cat in the past, that will only eat if you pet it, or are within 2 feet of it? Todd has started doing this, which of course, makes it very hard to leave for more than an hour or so.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196

Nice blue number there!!! You are right at onset so Todd should come down a bit more or he might just surf around these numbers for a bit. Looking good!
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196

Thanks Blue! I'm gonna check again in 2 to 3 hours. So far, he seems pretty good. :)
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196 PMPS 426

BG 426 before shot and food. He has been eating very well all day, so I'm not too surprised at the higher number. I gave 1.5 at 10:35pm Pacific time.

We'll see how he does. I'll try to get up during the night and check his BG.
 
Re: 12/19 Todd AMPS 169, +3.5 196 PMPS 426

hi guys, i've been offline a little bit...

i know todd's name...but missed yours?

welcome, btw!

celi & binks
 
BG 308 at 2:25am pacific time, which is 4 hours after I gave him 1.5u. He seems a little yucky tonight, I think because his ears probably hurt from all the poking and because he wants to be in the living room, but I have him set up in my office for the night. I feel bad about that, but it's the best place for him to be where he has water, food and litter within 2-3 feet of his bed.

I think I should be able to sleep without worrying about him until morning. I hope..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top