12/19 Tıfıl PMPS 421, +2 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo;
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58891


I came from work and tested her to prepare a condo.

I'm glad you increased Tifil's Lantus dose. I would try sticking with the protocol to see what happens. If worked before and I would give it a chance before deciding it won't work this time. I would increase by 0.25 every 6 cycles until she starts getting where you want her.

My thought about R is that I don't think it is helping Tifil right now. Usually you don't want to get more than about 100 point decrease in numbers from the R, and if they drop more than that it can make them bounce even more. Today she dropped at least 153 points in 2 hours, and tonight she dropped over 100 points in just one hour. At this point, my guess is that the R is hurting more than it is helping. I know she used to be able to handle R, but it looks like even 0.1 units is too much for her now so I would try to stop using it for a couple of days and see what happens. That's just my opinion.

Dear Libby,
today I tested to see how many drops does 0.10u corresponds to; I found out that it is 2 drops. I will try to give 1 drop (R). I was not feeding her at preshot and +1, +2 due to lantus late acting on tıfıl. But if I give 1 drop of R at preshots then I can feed her at preshot, +1 and +2 and maybe she won't drop so big numbers. What do you think? I don't want to stop R because she feels terrible with 400's. And not to forget, she was DKAed.
 
Just trying to bump you up.

I sometimes give "0.0" (at the zero line) of R, maybe that's what 1 drop is. When I use R, I just want it to slowly bring my kitty down, which is hard to accomplish with such a harsh insulin, and timing has to be right too. I have had just "0.0" of R be too much before, because my kitty was coming down anyway from a bounce and the R action made him bounce again.

I think Libby wanted you to try going without the R for a few days, if I'm not mistaken. I remember talking to Sandy about the R bounces Tifil was having. If you're going to use it, try to give the least amount you possibly can.

I wish there was a simple answer for Tifil. I have been struggling with J.D. for a long time, so I know a little about how you feel.
 
glad you got input from Libby and Dyana...

I believe that the thinking is that the R may be contributing to her bouncing to higher numbers by dropping her too quickly
and causing the liver to react.

someone please correct me if i am wrong...
i have NO experience with R insulin.

hope she evens out for you...

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top