12/19 Simon PMPS 81 +2 99 +3 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
After reducing Simon's insulin to .25 last night because of his low numbers at the PMPS, I decided to give him the reduced dose again this morning because he AMPS was 92 which has been his norm lately. I'm not sure if I'm following the protocol exactly, but he has been in the greens or very low blues over the last 8 days. I am hoping that it is ok to go ahead and try him at the .25. If his numbers go up alot today, do I just go back to the .5 tonight? Simon is doing great this morning with all P's in place. Keep your fingers crossed that he has a good day and likes the new lower dose! I'll be home to get a check at +2 and then I'll be home for most of the rest of the day after +6.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32364
 
Re: 12/19 Simon AMPS 92 New dose

I see what you mean about Simon's numbers dipping at PMPS. I do have a couple of thoughts. I would give the dose change a cycle or two to see how it plays out. Last night was a beautiful cycle! I suspect that if the dose isn't holding, you'll know today. BTW, having numbers that are mostly in the normal BG range for a week does earn a dose reduction according to the protocol.

When many cats get down to this low of a dose, rather than decreasing by the full 0.25u, we encourage shaving the dose. Essentially, this means reducing by a drop or two. (You'll see people write about "fat" or "skinny" doses. That's what this is referring to.) By reducing Simon from 0.5u to 0.25u, you've decreased your dose by 50%. In the big picture, that's a whopping decrease. Since the goal is to provide support for the pancreas and give a cat the best possible opportunity to go OTJ and stay that way, keeping a cat on insulin as long as is feasible is the best way to accomplish that goal. IF you need to increase Simon's dose, let's evaluate whether it will make sense to go back to his last good dose (0.5u) or whether you should fatten up your current dose. If the current dose holds, I'd think about shaving when it's time for a dose reduction.
 
Re: 12/19 Simon AMPS 92 +2 131 New dose

Darn it -- he went up to 131 at +2. Sienne, thanks for your thoughts. I probably should have only reduced by a tiny amount although I am having enough trouble seeing the .25. I'll get another few tests throughout the day today and then post again for advice at the PMPS.
 
Re: 12/19 Simon AMPS 92 +2 131; +3.5 89; +6 81 +8 86

Except for the +2, Simon's numbers look pretty good. Maybe this is a sign that .25 is ok for him? Keeping my fingers crossed and Simon is keeping his paws crossed!
 
Re: 12/19 Simon PMPS 81

Simon was pretty consistent all day except for the +2 this morning. In fact, this seemed to be his most consistent day with numbers mostly in the 80's. I took Sienne's advice and gave a fat .25 this evening. I'll test him a couple of more times tonight.

Stay warm and I hope everyone has a happy last week before Christmas and hope they are not too hectic. Stay calm and centered!
 
Re: 12/19 Simon PMPS 81

Actually, I said if the dose wasn't holding to go ahead and fatten it. It looks like so far, it's holding. You don't want to shift doses too frequently. It messes with the shed and you end up with wonky numbers.
 
Re: 12/19 Simon PMPS 81

Oops -- I guess I misunderstood. Of course, I don't really know how much of a difference I gave Simon from this morning because it is really hard to give such a small dose and my eyes are not what they used to be. I'll go back to the regular .25 in the AM if all looks well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top