12/19 Mikan AMPS 355, +2 197, +4 150: PMPS 268, +2 166

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Member Since 2023
12/18/23

Good morning.
Another pink start :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Clearly this dose isn't doing a whole lot for Mikan :(

@Angela & Cleo, I think I'll go up tonight if nothing happens in the next few hours and there is no surprise PMPS. I have limited testing capacity tomorrow AM between +4-+8 but it takes a few cycles before any action emerge.

This isn't the first time Mikan just stop showing green nadir following a rapid step-down reduction. Still, this is very disappointing. We just have to build back up!

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
 
Don't be disappointed at all :bighug::bighug:.
Our kitties need as much insulin as they need.
Your job is to follow Mikan's lead. You reduced because you had to keep her safe!
If you're worried about +4-+8 testing, perhaps feed higher end LC or even MC to keep her safe while you can't be there to test. And like you said, she doesn't always show action in the first cycle of an increase ;)
 
Don't be disappointed at all :bighug::bighug:.
Our kitties need as much insulin as they need.
Your job is to follow Mikan's lead. You reduced because you had to keep her safe!
If you're worried about +4-+8 testing, perhaps feed higher end LC or even MC to keep her safe while you can't be there to test. And like you said, she doesn't always show action in the first cycle of an increase ;)
Thanks Angela for the kind words and reminding me of the safety first! :bighug:
Great idea - I will feed her higher end LC or lower end MC to keep her afloat tomorrow AM between +4~+8. Most likely, she will be fine.
For the Friday evening, I may do the same to make sure that she'll be okay.
I really appreciate your kind support and guidance! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wishing you and pretty Cloe a wonderful Tuesday:bighug:
 
12/18/23

Good morning.
Another pink start :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Clearly this dose isn't doing a whole lot for Mikan :(

@Angela & Cleo, I think I'll go up tonight if nothing happens in the next few hours and there is no surprise PMPS. I have limited testing capacity tomorrow AM between +4-+8 but it takes a few cycles before any action emerge.

This isn't the first time Mikan just stop showing green nadir following a rapid step-down reduction. Still, this is very disappointing. We just have to build back up!

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
Safety first, Kit. Mikan will turn it around. She did so recently and she will do it again. Patience.

You know, I understand how hard that word is. However, once you are able to be home with her and keep her safe on the next dose, she’ll get right back into her beautiful greens.
Be kind to yourself because you’re such an amazing mom and you’re doing great and we’re here to cheer you on xoxo
:bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
 
Pretty in pink Mikan. Looks like she wanted to dress up along with Ivy this meowning

But just like everyone else said her safety comes first. Sometimes we gotta do what's best for them and not what we wish we could do. But Mikan is a strong girl and you take such wonderful care of her.
She'll turn around when she's ready.

In the meantime we wish you a wonderful day.

upload_2023-12-19_10-29-24.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-19_10-29-24.png
    upload_2023-12-19_10-29-24.png
    82.9 KB · Views: 158
Morning Kit, like Angela said don't be disappointed, I had to keep upping Tyler's dose for awhile also. Then bam I started seeing better numbers.
You are doing everything right. I hope you have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thank you so much Diane.
One step at a time, right?
At least, Mikan has been super sweet. She came to the bed last night, snuggled under the blanket and we spooned and slept together for a long time :cat:
Nothing like feeling and hearing her purrs. :kiss:
Hope you and Tyler have a great day too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Safety first, Kit. Mikan will turn it around. She did so recently and she will do it again. Patience.

You know, I understand how hard that word is. However, once you are able to be home with her and keep her safe on the next dose, she’ll get right back into her beautiful greens.
Be kind to yourself because you’re such an amazing mom and you’re doing great and we’re here to cheer you on xoxo
:bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
Aww, Staci. You are so sweet.
Your kind words mean so much to me. Thank you.
Mikan clearly needs more juice and I hope I can help her regulate better!
Wishing you and Ivy a lovely day!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pretty in pink Mikan. Looks like she wanted to dress up along with Ivy this meowning

But just like everyone else said her safety comes first. Sometimes we gotta do what's best for them and not what we wish we could do. But Mikan is a strong girl and you take such wonderful care of her.
She'll turn around when she's ready.

In the meantime we wish you a wonderful day.

View attachment 68402
Good meowwwwing Karolina!
Thanks for the kind words! :bighug:
Managing FD is such a tricky business. I want to do what's best for Mikan but the effort doesn't translate to the good outcome, at least immediately.
It's a long journey but I hope we can make a difference in her glucose management!
Have a great day, Karolina, Nestle, and Peanut! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit :)
I think I know what you mean by it being disappointing. It's inevitable to interpret lower doses with progress. I think it's one of the most deceiving aspects of our SS-life is not linear. And as others said, you're doing the most extraordinary job to keep her on that path of progress.
Take a moment to be disappointed. Our feelings are part of the process too. And then remind yourself what's most important in this. I guess it'll be that she's safe and happy.
I know Mikan is having a lot of fun with you.
Sending much love and strength :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit :)
I think I know what you mean by it being disappointing. It's inevitable to interpret lower doses with progress. I think it's one of the most deceiving aspects of our SS-life is not linear. And as others said, you're doing the most extraordinary job to keep her on that path of progress.
Take a moment to be disappointed. Our feelings are part of the process too. And then remind yourself what's most important in this. I guess it'll be that she's safe and happy.
I know Mikan is having a lot of fun with you.
Sending much love and strength :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Shelly!
Every word you said gave me the gentle energy I needed. Thank you.
This is such a long and winding road :p I don't think I've ever experienced anything like this in my entire life.
But all I can is to keep trying for my baby :cat:
Thanks again for the kind encouragement. Meant a lot to me :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are doing such a great job for her. I know going up maybe feels like a setback but it's not. You kept her safe going down and now she wants to try it again for some more greens. :bighug:
 
Back
Top