12/19 Chronos AMPS 330 +2 378 +3 359 +4 338 +5 349

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous

Fourth day of insulin, is it normal to go higher then the starting? Still limited data but his PMs have been consistent in going down, but the AM seems odd, could anyone give me their opinion?

He seems fine otherwise, still haven't seen him drink and peeing is same as before, also his weight has been going up, he was generally stable tho we had to increase his calories over the past few months to check if he could maintain weight or not, which he could, but wasn't a huge concern before with him being 18lbs+ so might reduce calories back down, maybe the insulin is helping him process the food better now.
 
Last edited:
One thing I wanted to add, our vet recommended we could alternate which side of his flank we do the shot on, so we have been doing the AM on his left and PM on his right, is this normal or should we do both on one side?
 
Hello, I haven’t stopped in yet, so welcome.

Cats that are new to insulin are not very predictable in their numbers, and some cats cat have an initial stronger reaction, then not so much. Best to learn patience, wait for the depot to fill and follow the dosing methods.

I alternated left and right side for Neko, moving around in a circle in each side. But below shoulders, not flank - which she didn’t approve of. :mad: It is best not to shoot same spot all the time.
 
Thank you for the welcome. Thanks for the info as well, helps me feel better, anxiety disorder + cat health is always fun. I know I need to have patience rationally, that its the 4th day of starting and adjustments will be needed but anxiety makes that a fun challenge.
 
Back
Top