12/19/24, Whiskers, AMPS: 396, +2 - 319, PMPS: 348, +3 - 285, +8 -182 (Question?)

Amore

Member Since 2024
Hello,

This is my first time posting. My cat name is Whiskers. He is almost 12 years old. Whiskers was recently diagnosed with diabetes in November. He was started on insulin 1 week today. The vet recommended he started in 2.0 units of insulin. 3 days after we started him on Lantus, he went into hypo and had to be rushed to the ER. His sugar was dangerously low. Too low for the meter to read at first. The vets there told me either to keep him in the hospital or euthanize him. He showed signs of still eating and responding (purring) to my touch so I decided against both and took him home. Prior to leaving the vet, his glucose got to 50 and once coming home it was at a healthy 82. The following day, I did not give him insulin per the vets instructions and I wanted his glucose to increase. His glucose increased to mid 400s. For the last several days I’ve been trying to manage his high glucose. He went from the 400s in the beginning of the week and yesterday he reached the 300s for the first time and closed out being in the high 100s.

Now my question is, he has been lethargic. Moving very minimally. Nothing I would say is super alarming but still a change nonetheless. He has still be eating, Fighting me when I try to prick his ear or give him a bath, grooming, etc. but he sleeps a lot more and doesn’t move around as much as he used to. Is this normal since his glucose has been fluctuating?

here is his spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...zwWSwyes0CCk/edit?gid=361360320#gid=361360320
 
Last edited:
Hi. Minner and I are relatively new here too. I’m not experienced enough to give advice, but I have learned a ton from this community and have come to rely on several of the seasoned members and their advice.

I am so sorry to hear about Whiskers. I am even more sorry to hear what your vet said about euthanasia. I don’t understand that. As you look around this community you’ll see so many kitties with diabetes who are thriving and living well with supportive caregivers and proper management.

I looked at Whiskers sheet and it looks like at 1U you brought him gently into blue. I expect you will still want to check for ketones given how high his numbers have been. DKA is a serious risk and has some of the symptoms you are mentioning. Do you know if the vet checked for ketones in his urine? I only recently started checking Minner with a blood ketone meter but many here check the urine with ketostix.

There are many great stickies at top of this forum explaining protocols, guidance on changing dose, being ready to handle hypo, etc. Diet is crucial. Low carb wet food. But also having medium carb on hand if needed if numbers get low.
 
When Minner was first diagnosed, I tried using Libre to monitor her glucose level. She hated it and would eventually get it ripped off. It was destructive to her skin. It’s a shame b/c it makes monitoring so easy. Some cats are fine with it.

I now use the Relion meter. Got it at walmart. There is info on tips for ear pricking. From the home page see the list of topics listed down the right side. In the Education section there is Glucos Monitoring link that takes you to a page with many more links to instructions and guidance for testing. This one here is very thorough.

I use a cardboard box that Minner jumps into for testing. She gets some freeze dried chicken in the box before her ear pricking, then a fancy feast hand select chicken treat afterwards. This routine seems to work ok. I use a sock with rice in it, heated a bit in microwave, to warm up ear before prick. It’s not like she enjoys the frequent ear pricking, but she sure likes the cat man doo chicken and will fly into the box for them. Then I stroke her sides, she hunches down, I rub her ear and apply the sock, then use a cotton ball behind where I am pricking and do it. Bit of blood bubbles up as I gently squeeze, grab meter and touch to bubble, then kleenex with some pressure to the ear pricking spot. Then another treat. If it’s shot time then she gets a tuna loin or chicken fillet, still in box, she focuses on eating while I inject her.
 
Hi. Minner and I are relatively new here too. I’m not experienced enough to give advice, but I have learned a ton from this community and have come to rely on several of the seasoned members and their advice.

I am so sorry to hear about Whiskers. I am even more sorry to hear what your vet said about euthanasia. I don’t understand that. As you look around this community you’ll see so many kitties with diabetes who are thriving and living well with supportive caregivers and proper management.

I looked at Whiskers sheet and it looks like at 1U you brought him gently into blue. I expect you will still want to check for ketones given how high his numbers have been. DKA is a serious risk and has some of the symptoms you are mentioning. Do you know if the vet checked for ketones in his urine? I only recently started checking Minner with a blood ketone meter but many here check the urine with ketostix.

There are many great stickies at top of this forum explaining protocols, guidance on changing dose, being ready to handle hypo, etc. Diet is crucial. Low carb wet food. But also having medium carb on hand if needed if numbers get low.




Thank you! I appreciate the advice. I do need to try the sock trick. I’ve seen this a few times and it starting to get harder and harder to take blood the more I check it.


The vet did check for ketones and as of 11/12 he didnt have any but since his glucose is high, I should make it a priority to get something to check his urine more frequent, thank you.
 
Hey Amore,
I am so sorry to hear about what your vet said. I too learned the hard way that most average vets are not trained in Feline Diabetes and often they approach treatment the same way they would treat dogs for diabetes. This form and the people on it will be a great resource as you and Whiskers begin your journey. As Laura said in her post above, check out the all the links listed at the top of the forum starting with The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!. I also suggest adding the "?" to the prefix of your thread title. This will let everyone know that you are actively seeking advice or have a question.
 
Welcome. We ask new members to post an intro on the main/health forum. There you will get set up. You can copy and paste what you wrote above there.

Did the vets say if he had ketones present at diagnosis or in the ER? If you dint know I would get some Ketostix at the pharmacy and check his urine. I’m concerned that he’s lethargic. You dip the test strip in his urine.

How is he now? I see you wrote this 8 hours ago. Get him to eat and drink.
 
Back
Top