12/18 TIFIL PMPS 379, +1.5 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
I started R again, I decided to shoot only 0.10R on amps,pmps and +6's if the bg is over 400. I can do another schedule if any dosing expert has another idea. I decided to give only 0.10R because tıfıl is very sensible to Hmulin R, she drops so quickly.

I don't know if Reducing to 1.5 lantus was a good idea, I understand nothing from the results :(
All I understand is she is still too high. It will be very hard for me to come home everyday for amps +6's and to wake up at pmps +6's, but I will do everything for her to be regulated!
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

Isil --

I'm sorry if this sounds critical but I can't figure out what you're doing with Tifil's dose. When you were sticking with the protocol up until Sept., Tilfil's numbers looked good. The more you have changed the dosing and not followed the Tight Regulation protocol, the less consistent the numbers have been. I'd really encourage you to go back to the basics and stick with the protocol so you can assess the effectiveness of your dosing decisions. I don't use R and can't be of much help in that regard. I'll see if Sandy or Libby is around, though, to give you a hand.
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

So do you think I should give 0.10 lantus again?
her numbers are too high for that, isn't it?
Her numbers increased that's why I increased the dose, maybe the increasement was too much I agree with that. But I don't agree about the idea that the bg started to increase with the dose increase.
If the high bg numbers are becuase of too much insulin, I wanted to hear that and that's why I wrote in the health board. when everyone said that it is high I decided to reduce it, nobody gave an idea about the dose, that's the reason I had to decide on my own.
It is hard to give decisions on my own without no vet around me to help. I don't have anyone who is using insulin around me (not a human nor a cat).
I believe that tıfıl had something going on in her pancreas at 9/12/2011.
She needed more insulin, but I am not saying that my dosing was right.
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

Most of us do not rely on our vets for dosing decisions. My vet does not advise me regarding dose and I have a great vet. I haven't relied on her for over 2 years for managing Gabby's diabetes. People here have varied experience with vets both in terms of diabetes management as well as overall veterinary care.

The biggest factor in managing Tifil's diabetes is to be systematic. Lantus likes consistency. Making lots of frequent changes or big changes generally results in less than desirable outcomes. I would not start back at 0.1u. That's too low of a dose to begin with. You've been at your current dose for 8 cycles. It looks to me like Tifil needs more insulin and that the use of R is increasing bounces. I would increase Lantus to 1.75u and hold the dose for 6 cycles unless numbers warrant a decrease. If you are opting to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, you increase dose and hold for 3 days/6 cycles and then evaluate the effectiveness of the dose.

I also don't know if giving R at +6 is the best strategy. What I've observed, is that when R is used, it's usually earlier in the cycle to help lower the numbers so the Lantus can latch on and bring the nadir lower. Giving R at +6 may flatten out the next 2 hours of the cycle. However, I will leave the R issue to others who are experienced in using that insulin.

If you want to seek advice on Health or the Relaxed forum, that's your decision. The only recommendation I would make is to look at the spreadsheets of the people who are advising you and make a decision about the information you are getting based on their spreadsheets. I would also remind you that the majority of people posting on Health are not familiar with using Lantus or are very new to using Lantus.
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

Ok,
so 3 and ahalf cycles have past and today I will do as you say and shoot 1.75.
as for "R", I will shoot it if the +6 is over 400. By the way, it will be so hard for me to come home and shoot at +6's. So if an experianced R doser gives me advice not to shoot, I will obey with happiness due to my job.

Thank you for the dose advice, I really needed it...
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

We all can surely understand how hard it is...and it's got to be terribly frustrating to be in your shoes where
you have no one on site to help advise.
It's frightening to watch one we love struggle healthwise.

When Binks and I started this...I was not in a financial position to take him back to the vet for help...
but the folks here in the Lantus Forum reached out to us via computer...and selflessly carried us through the storm.
And Binks reached the point where he no longer needed insulin.

The big difference between you and I is that I did not have to work during his illness.
But most others here did...and they can help you work around your schedule.

When we began this last year what worked for Binks and I was posting daily in one forum (now called Lantus-tight regulation)...
and by doing so, the folks with the most experience got to know Binks through his SS and could guide me through the experience.

Understand that I am not suggesting that you not post on the Main Health Board or Relaxed Lantus Board...
but you are trying to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol with Tifil...and getting many different responses to your posts...
and sometimes the advice varies or even conflicts with previous suggestions.

Sienne & Gabby, Libby & Lucy, Sandy & Black Kitty, Jill & Alex, Miriam & Putty are the folks I relied on to advise me about Lantus use.
There are others with good knowledge and experience...and all of us are here to support and cheer you on...

but it is difficult for people to follow threads on different forums...so my choice was to post in one forum where they could quickly and
easily answer my questions.

Try to keep your spirits up, Isil...it is difficult...but with consistency and persistence, it gets easier.

celi
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

ah, i'm glad you posted over here. i just answered your post on main health and suggested you get advice from someone here.

it is confusing and it is hard to understand what's going on sometimes. if only our little ones could tell us!

hugs! julie
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

Thank you everyone for helping and writting. I will try to write everyday and today I will shoot 1.75 lantus.
And for R, I will wait for professional openions...
Can't wait to see her regulated, and can't wait to see her with greens and blues...
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL AMPS 324 (1.5L), +2 453, +6 467 (0.10R)

Isil --

No one here is a professional. None of us are vets or vet techs. (Well, there's one person who's worked as a vet tech.) Some of the people here do a lot of reading, study a lot of spreadsheets, and have experience with Lantus, R, or other kinds of insulin. We help each other. Ultimately, you are the person who's hand is on the syringe and need to decide what information makes sense for your cat.
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL PMPS 379

Ok,
So our PMPS is 379, I decided to give R in the beginning of the cycle because lantus starts to act generally after +2 with tıfıl. I hope this will help her and she wont be very high at +6. I gave 1.75 Lantus and 0.10 R.
My R dosing is something like 1 drop, I can't even see a ray of light between the plunger ( I don't know the name of the thing that we push to inject, is it plunger?) and the 0 line.
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL PMPS 379

i mixed up Tifil & Shanga in my post... :oops:

i tell you...it was the biggest reward I could have seen when binks started better numbers and
it was obvious through his behavior he felt good!

sending you a hug from afar...

celi

p1230343469.jpg
 
Re: 12/18 TIFIL PMPS 379

It doesn't matter celi,
Shanga and tıfıl are sister and brother :) just like Hande and me, we became sisters :) we met here but we talk several times everyday :)
 
I'm glad you increased Tifil's Lantus dose. I would try sticking with the protocol to see what happens. If worked before and I would give it a chance before deciding it won't work this time. I would increase by 0.25 every 6 cycles until she starts getting where you want her.

My thought about R is that I don't think it is helping Tifil right now. Usually you don't want to get more than about 100 point decrease in numbers from the R, and if they drop more than that it can make them bounce even more. Today she dropped at least 153 points in 2 hours, and tonight she dropped over 100 points in just one hour. At this point, my guess is that the R is hurting more than it is helping. I know she used to be able to handle R, but it looks like even 0.1 units is too much for her now so I would try to stop using it for a couple of days and see what happens. That's just my opinion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top