? 12/18 Sprocket amps/301,+4.2/344, +6.9/352. Odd highs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
Hi. I say odd highs because the last 3 doses he went down on 1st dose n a couple after to either under 100 or low 100s then would stay in high 200s or low 300s.
Since thanksgiving he was at 2u then went up slowly to 2.75u now. I thought this was gonna be good for awhile as he went to low 100s n bounced then came back down. Had vet tech come last week to clean ears.
He has been oddly sittting flat on his belly which he doesnt do too much. I gave famotidine this AM cause thought it might be belly issues n maybe causing higher bgs. Not sure yet.
Yesterday he was in low 400s!!!
He rarely does that.
Is something going on that I am missing?
He hasnt gone over 2.87u in awhile. It cant be just needing more insulin.
Why would he go low 100s & under 100 if it wasnt good dose?
Why does he do that then acts like he is getting used to dose then stays in 300s again??
Confused?
His appetite is still hearty too.
Suggestions???
 
I think i uploaded the pic of him lying down flat. Hope it works
 

Attachments

  • 20171215_140539.jpg
    20171215_140539.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 58
He hasnt gone over 2.87u in awhile. It cant be just needing more insulin.
Why not? To me it looks like he needs more juice. A cat's insulin needs can change over time. Just follow what SLGS guidelines say to do. Last time you didn't go up a full 0.25 units. For some reason, going in the full 0.25 seems to work better. Sometimes you'll see an initial good reaction to a dose, but it doesn't last. That's OK, just carry on.
 
Why not? To me it looks like he needs more juice. A cat's insulin needs can change over time. Just follow what SLGS guidelines say to do. Last time you didn't go up a full 0.25 units. For some reason, going in the full 0.25 seems to work better. Sometimes you'll see an initial good reaction to a dose, but it doesn't last. That's OK, just carry on.

After this summer with all the meds raising his bg he never got over 2.87u as far as I remember. That was good for awhile then at thanksgiving he changed his appetite. Everyone told me he was reducing his food himself n he was almost regulated. But he wasnt acting right. He was super tired and had no desire to eat. He even walked away from zero/evo dry mix when I got desperate after 3rd reduction. I called vet n she said to skip next shot. So I did.
Big mistake. Should of given half a dose. She figured it was too much change too fast n skipping would allow him to balance himself but it didnt work. He went into 400s.
I been increasing his dose since. I went in half of 0.25u increments because I wasnt sure about doing full 0.25u because he was dropping so fast when I first increased.
Doing half of the 0.25u dose is just like a fat dose. I am using a caliper too because the syringes have been so bad. I called Relion and they sent me a canister to return the syringes that are messed up. They send me 3 free boxes so far.

Issue with increasing him this week is I have so much to do with holiday n appts that I have to leave house n cant monitor well.
I am at the end of a pen that I started at the end of october.
I will start new pen within a day or two. Maybe I should start that early?

Do u think his dose would stick better if I increase a full 0.25u?
I am afraid he would earn reduction just as fast. Then what?
How does that work?
 
Your current the pen should still be fine. I did a cartridge (pen refill) over 90 days once.

It's OK to hold a dose if you can't monitor. Just be prepared to ignore higher numbers until you can increase. I would increase by 0.25 units next, as this dose isn't doing it. And I can't predict what he'll do on the next dose. Cats are notoriously unpredictable. Just telling what experience here has seen with most cats on Sprockets size of dose.
 
@Darnell & Sprocket. You listening doll face? You & Sprocket got this! And just imho he looks comfortable. If he's not limping, favoring, seeming pained, maybe your boy just found a new way to chill???:bighug:
:bighug:

Ya i hope so. It looks weird the way he is sitting. I mean i make him flatten out when I give, or when Bob gives his shot cause it gives more loose skin but I didnt realize it was comfortable too. Lol. Its odd. He doesnt do it all the time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top