12/18 Simon PMPS 60 +1 73; +2 82; +3.5 60; +4.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday, Simon was green all day. Hope today is the same. Reason for celebration: My DH has learned how to test Simon and has done it the past two days when I was at work. Yeah -- no more running home during my lunch break! Simon has all P's in place this morning.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32278
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93

Hey, Way to go Simon. And good for you about the testing. It's nice to be able to share that task. Hope Simon continues to surf green! Happy Saturday
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93

Great AMPS Simon! :mrgreen:
Congratulations to you and your DH for learning how to test! What a nice break that is for you. How GREAT!!!! :thumbup
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53

Thanks everyone for the great words of support. Simon was a little lower at +6 today so I am going to get another reading at +7. I also fed him a little lc food.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 Dosing advice?

Simon is pretty low at 56 at 10.5. I am wondering what is going to happen at his PMPS. If he is around the same number, do I skip the dose or do I do a reduction to .25? I read about shooting low doses, but I am still confused about what I should do. I'm going to re-test in another 30 minutes and see where Simon is at. Any advice is appreciated!
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 Dosing Advice?

nice. :smile:

Things can change a lot in an hour and a half. A +11 or +11.5 would be a good idea, so we can see which way he is going at PMPS time.

Are you available to monitor tonight? Do you have lots of test strips and some high carb food on hand?
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50 Dose?

He has dropped to 50 at 11.5. I do have lots of strips and hc food on hand and will be home tonight to monitor closely.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50 Dose?

Simon's PMPS is 53. I am just so confused and nervous about what I am supposed to do. I don't want to give him insulin at 53 but do I wait to feed him and re-test in 15-20 minutes?
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50 Dose?

that's what I would do, don't feed, wait about 30 minutes and test again.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50 Dose?

Ok, I'm going to wait another 15 minutes (that will be 30 minutes after the PMPS) and see what is going on. He is pretty mad that he is not getting fed right now!
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

He went up slightly after re-testing him 30 minutes after PMPS. Question now is do I shoot a reduction of .25 or do not shoot at all?
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

how long can you stall tonight and still be able to shoot 12 hours after that in the morning?

I wouldn't skip, but I wouldn't shoot just yet either. I think he's going to start rising now, but another 15-30 minutes should tell us for sure.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

Hi, I cannot give advice.. if it were me.. he has not dropped below 50, so I would shoot .50 (his dose) & get a +1 or +2, feed mini meals to him & check him tonight - he probably will go under 50 at some point in the next few days & at that point I would reduce him. I know it can be scary, I shot a 50 once too. Simon is doing fabulous!! Again, I am not an expert & am only offering what I would do with mine.

**Edited... Libby posted at the same time, she IS the expert so listen to her :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

I guess I can wait another 30 minutes and re-test before I feed him. Will that mean my AMPS and PMPS will change from now on to an hour later? I won't be able to do that because of work. I can delay tomorrow but not the next day. I'm still scared about shooting his regular .50 but I'll let you know what his number is in another 30 minutes (actually, 20 more minutes since I last tested him).
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

You can move the shot around, I think they suggest 15 mins at a time, I do 30mins at a time & Baby does fine, but ECID.

Anyway.. as an example, if you shoot at 6pm tonight, you can shoot at 5:45am in the morning, then tomorrow night 5:30pm, Monday monring 5:15am, etc. until you are at the shot time you want.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon AMPS 93 +6 53 +7 69 +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 6

if you don't want to get a whole hour off schedule, you could test again 15-20 minutes after the last one and see what he's doing. Mostly I'm just looking to be sure he is still going up, since it does look like Simon sometimes continues to drop a little after his PM shot.

I don't have a problem with you reducing to 0.25 tonight, if that will make you feel better. We look for numbers below 50, but for such a new diabetic I would also consider having a preshot in the 50's to be a good enough reason to try a reduction.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 63; PMPS 60

He is at 60 now so I am going to go ahead and feed him. I am just too nervous he is going to drop again so I think I will give him .25 (I'm sorry!). Hopefully, that won't mess things up tomorrow. If he is higher than he has been tomorrow morning, I'll go back to the .50. I'm also going to test every hour for the next few hours.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 63; PMPS 60

ok, see you at +1. Nice shooting! I don't know that you need to go back to 0.5 tomorrow. He is probably ready for the reduction anyway. Let's see what happens.
 
Re: 12/18 Simon +10.5 56 11.5 50; 12.5 63; PMPS 60

Libby and Nicole, I forgot to thank you on my earlier post. It is so comforting to know I had someone to help me through this. Hopefully, Simon is going to do well tonight on the .25. I'll post my numbers over the next few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top