12/18 - PETER - AMPS=324, +9=109, PMPS=140

Barbara and Peter

Member Since 2019
PETER had a hypo two days ago. Really scary. He walked in circles and acted real weird.

The vet on the phone (who seemed better than most, but knows nothing about my cat) said not to shoot under 180. To shoot 1.5 when he is between 180 and 360 and 2 units when he is over 360. I am confused. He had a DKA in late October, so I am worried not to shoot.

(I am not excellent at following the protocols to the T. I have a family member with chronic illness with life threatening daily events and PETER is sometimes last in line.)
 
Have you fed yet? If not, don't. Wait 20 minutes and see if he comes up a bit. We don't use sliding scales based on preshot values, we dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.
 
Have you fed yet? If not, don't. Wait 20 minutes and see if he comes up a bit. We don't use sliding scales based on preshot values, we dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.
I fed about 20 minutes ago. I saw him coming up.

I am trying to understand what you mean about how low the insulin takes him. I guess it depends, as he seems to come down much more during the day (Like that HYPO) I did a scale the night after he had a hypo and he did not seem to dip very deep at night. The NADIR was 120 mg less than PMPS. That would be BAD if he came down that low. Should I give him nothing than?
 
I wouldn't give him nothing since you've got recent DKA. Can you retest him again now and see where he's at?
 
By the way, he bounced after those low numbers. That's completely to be expected and shows his body's self defence mechanism is working. It tells you nothing about whether he likes to go low in the AM or the PM cycles.

We determine how to change the insulin dose based on the nadirs you are seeing at a dose, or how low it takes the cat. 38 is too low and meant he earned a reduction and needed less insulin. With SLGS, we reduce the dose if you see anything below 90. If you see numbers between 90 and 149, you hold the dose.

The other thing to consider about dosing tonight, how well do you think you'll be able to monitor?
 
By the way, he bounced after those low numbers. That's completely to be expected and shows his body's self defence mechanism is working. It tells you nothing about whether he likes to go low in the AM or the PM cycles.

We determine how to change the insulin dose based on the nadirs you are seeing at a dose, or how low it takes the cat. 38 is too low and meant he earned a reduction and needed less insulin. With SLGS, we reduce the dose if you see anything below 90. If you see numbers between 90 and 149, you hold the dose.

The other thing to consider about dosing tonight, how well do you think you'll be able to monitor?
you mean can check tonight. Not much maybe until 11pm...
 
He's skyrocketing. You could shoot 1.75 units now and probably be OK. The only thing is your AMPS would have to be 12 hours from now. You can get back on schedule 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per cycle.
 
Back
Top