12/18 Alex AMPS 335,+2.5-225

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alex is okay today ( I think) but last night when I went to bed I wasn't so sure. He never has really gotten his legs backs since his initial neuropathy and last night was the third time he seems to have slipped on the kitchen floor when I wasn't looking because he had a terrible limp at about 1:30AM and would hardly let me touch him. By this morning he was a lot better and ate a full beffis. I always get scared when this happens because my first thought is 'blood clot' due to his HCM...but he did let me look at his back paws and his nail beds so I was sure it wasn't that (I mean as sure as I could be without being a vet). It's so stressful when these things happen. I set my alarm 3 times to check on him last night and thank goodness he was just in the bedroom sleeping (PHEW)!

I have terrible indigestion this morning. I am thinking about putting a 'runner' of some type in the kitchen but have no idea where to get one??? I cleaned the floor last night and even with no wax-which of course I NEVER use-he was slipping right away :(

Anyway...He seems to be on the mend but I may give him a little bupe today to help him along cause no one...not even kitties-feel all better THAT fast.

So I guess a couple of p's are in order today-Alex isn't much for purring today, and he really isn't playing in his inimitable Alex way....but he is peeing and pooping and preening so I guess there's something to be said for that :-D

Alex and Jackson have settled in to take their morning naps (and I don't have to say that this has Jackson a little unsettled too..basically they are joined at the hip).

Have a great Caturday everyone! :razz:

Three Days Ago
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

Poor Alex :-|. Maybe those anti-fatigue mats?
How big an area do you want to cover?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

I think you can get runners at Wal Mart or Target, or for sure some place like Lowes.

I remember you had a reason why you're shooting different doses sometimes, but I don't remember what the reason was, sorry. I wonder how many of the high numbers are caused by the constant shed remodeling and if he would flatten out some more if he had the same dose all the time. Just thinking out loud. He looks like he needs a little more insulin overall, and in my mind it seems logical to do that by adding back the 0.25 that you dropped, holding that for a bit, and seeing what happens.
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

Libby and Lucy said:
I think you can get runners at Wal Mart or Target, or for sure some place like Lowes.

I remember you had a reason why you're shooting different doses sometimes, but I don't remember what the reason was, sorry. I wonder how many of the high numbers are caused by the constant shed remodeling and if he would flatten out some more if he had the same dose all the time. Just thinking out loud. He looks like he needs a little more insulin overall, and in my mind it seems logical to do that by adding back the 0.25 that you dropped, holding that for a bit, and seeing what happens.
Libby, The reason I changed the dose around, not really dropped it, it is because if you look at his ss, it seems like he was getting greens only in the morning which seemed to be causing bounces to red later in the day.....I was experimenting and of course I could be totally wrong!

You think maybe bringing him up to 2.75 tid would be a good idea? It's not like I can't monitor him a lot. I do work from home...again. The one day I have to do TID is Christmas. I have to say that since I started dosing this way I haven't reached for the HC more than once which has been a relief(in spite of recent threads I've been reading it seems to work for Alex---and I DO monitor) And Abbott just helped me out ALOT!!! I called them on Monday night to report my first ever box of faulty test strips(ReliOn) and they sent me 100 free. I never received them and I called again Thursday and they told me they seemed to not have processed but If I did get them to keep both boxes. I just got two packages for Mr.Alex Blank!

I have a long galley kitchen...I think I'll look today and see what they have. It hurts me to see Alex's back legs go under him. I know he doesn't feel it when it's happening but if you heard him cry after he sprains himself when I pick him up or even when I get close to where it hurts..it would break your heart. Plus the fear of blood clots is enough to give me a heart attack.

Thanks, Guys for that advice ...I'm not very domestic :oops:
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

MJ+Donovan said:
Poor Alex :-|. Maybe those anti-fatigue mats?
How big an area do you want to cover?

MJ&Donovan


I just measured the kitchen and it's about 12' long and the width is about 5' feet but of course I don't want to cover the whole thing...so I guess I'll check out and see what i can do with the length and about a width of 2 or 3 feet. to keep the little man from slipping when he does the 'happy dance' while waiting for his fuds.

Thanks you :razz:

What's an anti-fatigue mat?
 
Anti-fatigue mats are these thin cushion strips of foam and/or gel that people who work on their feet a lot stand on - cashiers, chefs, hair stylists, etc.

fatigue-usage-lg.jpg
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

Caryl and Alex said:
You think maybe bringing him up to 2.75 tid would be a good idea?

I think it might help. If he were mine, I would give it a try. As you say, you can monitor.
 
Good luck if you try the new dose for Alex and those mats look like they would help with slipping or you could just get like a room size rug maybe? confused_cat
 
MJ+Donovan said:
Anti-fatigue mats are these thin cushion strips of foam and/or gel that people who work on their feet a lot stand on - cashiers, chefs, hair stylists, etc.

fatigue-usage-lg.jpg

Thanks MJ!

That looks like a good thing bit maybe kind of too big for my kitchen. the kitchen is of narrow. I guess they can be cut though. I would have to have someone stronger come with me anyway in case it is a runner so maybe I'll check it out next week. I have Friday off and maybe a friend will loan me his station wagon(and his arms) lol. Until then I have a big VW Beetle rug that he sleeps on in the kitchen in the area that he does his "happy dance". I came home before and had tons of new fuds and he got all excited and almost did it again. Alex is driven by food (more than by the fear of pain) :YMSIGH: cat_pet_icon

How is Butthead doing?
 
Re: 12/18 Alex AMPS 335

Libby and Lucy said:
Caryl and Alex said:
You think maybe bringing him up to 2.75 tid would be a good idea?

I think it might help. If he were mine, I would give it a try. As you say, you can monitor.

He didn't do so bad before, but the cycle he's in is the 'telling' cycle for him. I've had a gut feeling that it might be better to bring him up. I think I may try it while I'll definitely be home for several days. I also just opened a new pen yesterday so I've been looking to see if it's acting any differently on the little meatball.

Thanks for looking. I hope you'll keep an eye out and tell me what you think :razz:
 
Lisa and Do Lou said:
Good luck if you try the new dose for Alex and those mats look like they would help with slipping or you could just get like a room size rug maybe?

confused_cat

That sounds like a good idea too but the room is like 12' X 5'..that would be a strange rug. And..I really don't like full rugs in the kitchen. I'm hoping to find some kind of thing that can go down the length of the kitchen. That should cover the area that Alex gets in trouble in. There would be a very small area of open floor between whatever I do find and Alex & Jackson's place mats and bowls..... KWIM? :-D :-D
 
Saw these on Amazon. The interlocking pieces might be the easiest way to go, so you can make it as narrow and long as you need:
31HKalXTP2L._SL500_AA300_.jpg


Butthead is doing pretty well. He's sporting a groovy neck scarf now to help prevent him from bugging his stitches. I think the bupe keeps him mellow. I'll have to post a pic later.

MJ&Donovan
 
MJ+Donovan said:
what about a couple of unrolled yoga mats?

Hey, That might be an idea! :!: If they won't slip on the floor! Gotta check that idea out. At least that wouldn't be too awful looking either.
I can tell Alex feels a little more steady even with the big car rug in the kitchen....(even though Jackson is sleeping on it now) :lol:
 
MJ+Donovan said:
Saw these on Amazon. The interlocking pieces might be the easiest way to go, so you can make it as narrow and long as you need:
31HKalXTP2L._SL500_AA300_.jpg


Butthead is doing pretty well. He's sporting a groovy neck scarf now to help prevent him from bugging his stitches. I think the bupe keeps him mellow. I'll have to post a pic later.

MJ&Donovan[/quote


Thanks for all the checking!

Give Butthead a kiss for me ♥
 
just stopping by to say hi! hope you can find something you like to put on the kitchen floor. poor alex. a mat or a rug might help him stay on his feet.
good luck with the dose increase!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top