12/17 Samwise AMPS 546 +3 503 +7 514 PMPS 399 +3 482

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 546 .4U

+3 503
+7 514

I am posting over here to get some "eyes" on me. What does everyone think? Is it the insulin or the dose. He's awfully high and hasn't really come down at all. I am worried about him. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile confused_cat

PMPS 399 .5U

+3 482
Well, he came down right before his shot but then shot back up 3 hours later. He did eat than threw up about an hour later. He ate again after the +3 test. I am thinking it's the insulin too. I'll get the vet to call in a new prescription tomorrow if I can get ahold of them.
 
Re: 12/17 Samwise AMPS 546 +3 503 +7 514

WOW, Sam...those are just ugly numbers...

Sue- I'd add "question" to your subject line to get some eyes...
 
Re: 12/17 Samwise AMPS 546 +3 503 +7 514

Okay, thanks, Binks. I think the insulin has gone off. I got it at the end of May.
 
Re: 12/17 Samwise AMPS 546 +3 503 +7 514

you did really well to get it to last this long. punkin's vial is about 6 weeks old and although it's gotten left out twice, once for about 1 hour and once for 3 hours, i think it's lost its potency. i didn't look at his spreadsheet, but if you have increased his dose in the past few weeks because of the rising numbers, you'll want to drop the dose when you start a new pen because you don't want a sudden drop. then you can come back up to the dose that works.

i wonder if you could head off some of his bouncing by a higher carb meal timed a couple of hours after his shot. have you tried playing with that?
 
I will keep that in mind. I can't get a hold of the vet today, so I'll call first thing in the morning and get a new bottle. I dropped the whole works this morning and it foamed up. Not good I'll bet since you are not supposed to shake it.
 
The pens work out to be more cost effective than the vial. I agree about calling around. Also consider calling your local hospital pharmacies. Often they will sell a single pen.
 
You could try Craig's list. Check with Venita -- she's found Lantus on Craig's List and she may have some helpful hints. Sometimes people will post here in Supply Closet if they have Lantus they won't be using. You can also see if there's someone using Lantus in your area who would be willing to split a box of pens.
 
We went with the vial. It was pricey, $124 but I had enough to pay for it in my savings account. So he got his new juice! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top