12/17 Rhubarb 61/67 STALL AMPS=79 +1 88 +2.75 52 +6 76 +8 86 PMPS=74 +2 94 +3 59 +4 67

majandra

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

Where did this come from?? She was trending up last night, and was 122 at +8 and I gave a snack to keep her down. Not this far down!! I had no reason to believe she should have dropped too low after the upward trend, so hopefully she didn't.
I don't know yet if we work, so I am going to stall for a little. I would only shoot this if I knew for a fact I'd be home.

Happy monday everyone!
 
Last edited:
Whoa Rhubarb! Hope she comes up a bit for you today so you can shoot safely.
I am glad to see a green AMPS. I hope she keeps giving those preshot greens, just the more reasonable kind.
Maybe she is planning a nice un-named (anti jinx) gift!!!
 
Rhubarb is definitely planning something that shall remained unnamed! Go Rhubarb! :D

If you find out you are not working and she doesn't come up, I'd shoot. Lantus is very good at holding numbers more so than pushing them down and you can get amazing green surfs out of it. If you are working, then I'd definitely skip because you've never shot that low before. She's definitely challenging those balls of steel you earned!
I can't remember which person it was that suggested the snack
I think it was Wendy (Wendy & Neko). It's amazing how food timing can make such a difference!
 
In retrospect I maybe shouldn't have shot- 2.9 right before leaving house, so gave her some ff hc w/ gravy and left out her daytime amount of lc, with some higher lc to be safe.

Still going to worry.
 
The last 2 times I shot low, she stayed flat ... of course a cat being typically untypical likes to toss in a curveball
 
You will be worrying and she will be chilling out saying "LALALALALA! look at all the goodies Mom left me to munch on!" She will just surf along and has lot of food to bring herself up if she needs to. :bighug::bighug:
 
So I don't have to keep bugging you guys ... what's the lowest number that should be shot on a night where I can set my alarm, have lots of supplies etc, vs going to work through day (today she seemed ok).
 
Truth be told, I shot as low as 55 with my girl and she surfed like a dream. If you are up to monitoring tonight, I would shoot. You want to make sure she gets a strong remission and keeping her in those greens for a bit before attempting stopping the insulin completely will give her the best chance. She may be ready and you may have found the right feeding schedule but making sure would be worth another night of monitoring IMHO.
 
With TR, no shooting below 50. I have shot as low as 51 and Neko just went up afterwards, but then her nadir was often at preshot.
 
Truth be told, I shot as low as 55 with my girl and she surfed like a dream. If you are up to monitoring tonight, I would shoot. You want to make sure she gets a strong remission and keeping her in those greens for a bit before attempting stopping the insulin completely will give her the best chance. She may be ready and you may have found the right feeding schedule but making sure would be worth another night of monitoring IMHO.

Was looking at your sheet, and man you had to shoot low! How did you get up the courage for that?
 
With TR, no shooting below 50. I have shot as low as 51 and Neko just went up afterwards, but then her nadir was often at preshot.

I'm glad I am getting lots of data- does help a but with the low numbers. Still nerve wracking.
I can't wait until I don't have to test Rhubarb so much- she doesn't like to rest next to me on couch anymore.
 
Was looking at your sheet, and man you had to shoot low! How did you get up the courage for that
While shooting low was scary at times, I was shooting 16u twice a day for awhile before I ever started seeing lower numbers and that was terrifying at the beginning. I guess it all comes from love of cat and something similar to phobia exposure. It also helps when you are retired and can alter plans to accommodate when needed. ;) Seriously though, it's all about learning your kitty's patterns and then working with them to make judgment calls about dosing. Rhubarb is doing great and you are making good decisions so its all good!
 
Back
Top