12/17 Oliver PM 142 +4 46 +4.5 36 +5 46 +6 73 +7 71 +9 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Ok so today was pretty typical for Oliver.
Then tonight happened +4 46 +4.5 36
Fed Hc food 2 Tbs rechecking in a bit.
Any thoughts?
Also what is the best way to post long Subjects with lots of BG checks through the day.
Also been working a lot and haven't post for a few days so please check SS for info.
Thanks
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Recheck at +5 46 going up but not much.
Will recheck in 30
:?
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Did you give him more HC food after that last test?

You can remove the AM numbers from the subject line if you need room. Keep the PS numbers and the most important ones.

Up Oliver please.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Also what is the best way to post long Subjects with lots of BG checks through the day.

Kelly, you can just go up to the first post of the day, hit "edit" and remove the numbers from earlier in the day. Like for this, you could post his PMPS, then the +4, the +4.5 and the +5.

That way, anyone can tell at first glance that you're dealing with really low numbers. I know Wendy caught it, but I sort of stumbled on the 36 because I happened to open your condo.

And yes, you should feed him now. ;-)
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

As long as he is under 50, feed then wait 30 minutes and test again. Repeat until over 50. Feed a tsp or two of high carb food.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

And Oliver has earned a deduction to 1.5U. :-D
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Ok will do. and recheck in 30 Let ya all know.
Is this bouncing going to be happening everyday or every other?
could this be cushing? My vet mentioned this or to be checking for something else if this keeps up.
Should I be concerned about that or is this pretty typical for everything.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Do you mean is "bouncing" typical?

Well, I'll put it this way....
I've been on the board for 2 and a half years. And I haven't seen any kitties who didn't bounce.

Bouncing is caused when the BG goes low enough to make his liver think it's "too low". Or when the BG drops a good bit really fast. So pretty much every cat has to go through periods of bouncing. But they aren't a "bad thing". It shows you that his liver is doing the job nature intended. When the BG drops, and his system senses it's a big drop, his liver releases "sugar" and hormones to push it back up. It's instinctive.

The more often he sees green numbers, and the longer he spends in "greens", the less he'll bounce. His body is sort of "relearning" what normal BG feels like.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Oliver looks pretty typical for a newly diagnosed cat. Cushing's is rare for cats, even rarer in males. It's much more common in dogs.

Cats bounce until they don't. At some point he'll stop.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Good to know thanks guys so much. Glad to know He is not as abnormal as I was thinking.
I was reading about cushing boy I hope it gets better. That does not look like a fun deal at all.
As if Diabetes is right? LOL UGH
So in the Am go to 1.5 units?
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

Is it time for that next test yet? We don't want him in low numbers long at all.

What you shoot tomorrow morning will depending on where he is at AMPS. If Oliver bounces a big one, and he could due to the low numbers, you can do what we call shooting through the bounce. This is a one time dose at the old dose (1.75U) to help him through the bounce. Then you'd go to 1.5U in the PM. If he doesn't bounce (under 300) I'd shoot the new dose tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 12/17 OliverAM 459+4 373 +7 322 1+10 238 +11 127 PM 142

I agree with Wendy on the shot at AMPS tomorrow.
But if you have any questions when it's that time, post them here and someone will be around to offer advice.
 
Re: 12/17 Oliver 238 +11 127 PM 142 +4 46 +4.5 36 +5 46 +6 7

Now that he's up to 73, stop feeding him, but keep checking every 30 minutes twice more...if he's still surfing or heading up, I'd get one more test and call it a night..as long as the tests from now on are above 70 without having to give him any more food

Good catch!!
 
Re: 12/17 Oliver 238 +11 127 PM 142 +4 46 +4.5 36 +5 46 +6 7

That 73 is good, but you still have to be vigilant in case the high carb food wears off and he drops again. We like to see 2 rising numbers without influence of food before calling it a night. Can you get another test in an hour?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top