12/17 Fistuk AMPS 86, +3 101, +6.75 90 PMPS 92, +3 122

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...17-pmps-94-2-25-88-4-106.284617/#post-3133086

Good morning :)
Last night Fistuk stayed mostly flat around the 88, so no lime party!

Last evening and this morning again his back legs were glitchy. I'm already giving him 6mg B12. Anything else I should look into?

No pee on the floor!
We switched back to the normal boxes. We left one of their boxes and another small one for him next to it and he's always climbing into the bigger one. So obv even with his weak back legs he prefers those. Maybe more room to move around.

I woke up to a world powdered with snow :joyful:

Wishing you a lovely Sunday :bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly, enjoy the pretty snowscapes. Sounds so lovely.
I’m glad to hear Fistuk is using his boxes ok and peeing in the right place.
Hooray for flat nice greens and no limes. I don’t really like limes anyway, now I really don’t like them!!
I don’t have information on the weak hind leg situation. Maybe put a specific post about that in the Main Forum and see if anyone there has more ideas. Maybe you would reach more people for more ideas??
Have a nice, boring Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Sounds like white Christmas is on your way!
We are unusually warm this month and will likely be brown Christmas :rolleyes:
@Staci & Ivy has a great idea of posting the question about his legs in the Main Forum. I'm sure you get some good information there.
Glad to hear that he used the box!
Happy Sunday and stay warm! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk

Beautiful AMPS this meowning. Hopefully the rest of the day will be boring with no lime parties.

And it was only yesterday we talked about snow and here you go. Must look very pretty. As much as I don't like winter I'd like white Christmas but I don't think it will happen here. Too warm.

upload_2023-12-17_8-16-26.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-17_8-16-26.png
    upload_2023-12-17_8-16-26.png
    171.9 KB · Views: 216
No pee on the floor!
We switched back to the normal boxes. We left one of their boxes and another small one for him next to it and he's always climbing into the bigger one. So obv even with his weak back legs he prefers those. Maybe more room to move around.

That's great news, I was worried about the peeing with Fistuk. Hopefully it is mostly just litterbox related and you can keep testing locations and different boxes.

Kona's litterbox always has to be absolutely perfect or she will pee at the doors in protest. It's extremally frustrating with wood floors. :banghead:
 
Good morning Shelly, enjoy the pretty snowscapes. Sounds so lovely.
I’m glad to hear Fistuk is using his boxes ok and peeing in the right place.
Hooray for flat nice greens and no limes. I don’t really like limes anyway, now I really don’t like them!!
I don’t have information on the weak hind leg situation. Maybe put a specific post about that in the Main Forum and see if anyone there has more ideas. Maybe you would reach more people for more ideas??
Have a nice, boring Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci :)
I don't like the limes as well. I'm happy we didn't have a visit last night.
Thanks for the suggestion to write in the main forum I didn't think about it.

He looks quite retreatent today. I wonder if he's in pain :(
Hope you're having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Sounds like white Christmas is on your way!
We are unusually warm this month and will likely be brown Christmas :rolleyes:
@Staci & Ivy has a great idea of posting the question about his legs in the Main Forum. I'm sure you get some good information there.
Glad to hear that he used the box!
Happy Sunday and stay warm! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit :)
The heating kicked in last night and we've been too hot inside. Swiss heating is too good :woot:
Yes, I'll write in a moment in the main forum and hopefully will get some more ideas. I suspect he's in pain today. My heart breaks for him.
I hope you're having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk

Beautiful AMPS this meowning. Hopefully the rest of the day will be boring with no lime parties.

And it was only yesterday we talked about snow and here you go. Must look very pretty. As much as I don't like winter I'd like white Christmas but I don't think it will happen here. Too warm.

View attachment 68370
Hi KArolina:) Yes, I was thinking about our conversation yesterday. Was a nice surprise to wake up to a whiter world. It wasn't must, just enough to decorate.
We've been having an easy day only that Fistuk looks a bit poorly.
I hope you're having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's great news, I was worried about the peeing with Fistuk. Hopefully it is mostly just litterbox related and you can keep testing locations and different boxes.

Kona's litterbox always has to be absolutely perfect or she will pee at the doors in protest. It's extremally frustrating with wood floors. :banghead:
Thanks, Jason. I appreciate your care.
I don't think it was a litter box issue but more the weakness of his hind legs. Since I've been carrying to the toilet at night or waking him up a good time before mail meals so he has enough time to go to the toilet by himself it's been much better.
Now need to figure our what to do with the neuropathy
We had a parquet floor in a previous flat but now we have stones. I prefer wooden floors but it's indeed a problem if there's pee...
Hope you're having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I see you have been recently increasing his dosage of methylcobalamin. I hope that kicks in any day now and we can get his legs back nice and strong.

I know nothing at all about neuropathy, but reading this: http://www.bigorangegoodness.com/

"If your cat's blood sugar is regulated (under 300 all the time), you should see results within 2 weeks or so. If you don't, increase the dose — some cats are on as much as 10 MG per day with no side effects whatsoever. It's important to remember that all cats are different — Jasper responded quickly, but some cats take longer and require more of the vitamin. Be patient, and don't give up!"

Sending his precious legs healing energy!!!! :bighug:
 
I see you have been recently increasing his dosage of methylcobalamin. I hope that kicks in any day now and we can get his legs back nice and strong.

I know nothing at all about neuropathy, but reading this: http://www.bigorangegoodness.com/

"If your cat's blood sugar is regulated (under 300 all the time), you should see results within 2 weeks or so. If you don't, increase the dose — some cats are on as much as 10 MG per day with no side effects whatsoever. It's important to remember that all cats are different — Jasper responded quickly, but some cats take longer and require more of the vitamin. Be patient, and don't give up!"

Sending his precious legs healing energy!!!! :bighug:
Thanks a lot, Jason.
I'm familiar with this post. Bhooma suggested it to me right at the start and it's how I learnt about B12 and knew I could rais the dose.
I've been massaging his spine and back legs to move the energy. He likes it and I can see he's appreciating the flow of Chi.
My heart aches to see him poorly.
I appreciate your care, Jason. Healing energy received :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm also reading sometimes for neuropathy and the pain caused by it that some cats are on small doses of gabapentin daily and that might help?

Have you heard of that? Source: https://www.petmd.com/cat/conditions/neurological/c_ct_neuropathic_pain
Thanks, Jason. i ahevn't heard about it. Going straight away to read what you sent.
I hate giving medication but it does look like he's in pain.

At the beginning of FD I gave him a bit CBD oil. But I knew very little and was overwhelmed with everything I needed to do (ketones were in the pctire and that was a mouthful) so it comes back to mind and I might try and experiment with this a bit, see if it helps with the pain
 
Thanks, Jason. i ahevn't heard about it. Going straight away to read what you sent.
I hate giving medication but it does look like he's in pain.

At the beginning of FD I gave him a bit CBD oil. But I knew very little and was overwhelmed with everything I needed to do (ketones were in the pctire and that was a mouthful) so it comes back to mind and I might try and experiment with this a bit, see if it helps with the pain

Yes! I've heard a lot of great success with CBD in general with dogs and cats from a ton of people!

I think you're on to something, it's gotta be the pain management to focus on. You're already doing the B12 which is supposed to be the silver bullet.
 
Yes! I've heard a lot of great success with CBD in general with dogs and cats from a ton of people!

I think you're on to something, it's gotta be the pain management to focus on. You're already doing the B12 which is supposed to be the silver bullet.
It's very encouraging to learn wou've heard good things about it from many people!
I'm looking now for resources about dosing. There's a blog about it in the same website you sent.
Any other resources would be appreciate.

Fro reading what you sent I see that he is indeed in pain. He's been chewing his back foot a lot. and It's noted as a sign. As well as vocalising :(
 
It's very encouraging to learn wou've heard good things about it from many people!
I'm looking now for resources about dosing. There's a blog about it in the same website you sent.
Any other resources would be appreciate.

Fro reading what you sent I see that he is indeed in pain. He's been chewing his back foot a lot. and It's noted as a sign. As well as vocalising :(

I hate to say it… but I would consider gabapentin as the first option after plenty research and consultation with your vet. It just has to be more consistent and proven as most effective. I worry about the time needed to trial the CBD products and/or the effects.
 
I hate to say it… but I would consider gabapentin as the first option after plenty research and consultation with your vet. It just has to be more consistent and proven as most effective. I worry about the time needed to trial the CBD products and/or the effects.
Thanks Jason.
The way I see it, meds have a huge price to pay and the time it'll take to fix the problems they create is not less than the time I'll take to test CBD. With CKD I'll always consider alternatives to medications than giving his kidneys something that will make life more difficult...
:bighug:
 
Thanks Jason.
The way I see it, meds have a huge price to pay and the time it'll take to fix the problems they create is not less than the time I'll take to test CBD. With CKD I'll always consider alternatives to medications than giving his kidneys something that will make life more difficult...
:bighug:
Great plan. CBD first and then something more if necessary. We support you!!! :cat:
 
Thanks Jason.
The way I see it, meds have a huge price to pay and the time it'll take to fix the problems they create is not less than the time I'll take to test CBD. With CKD I'll always consider alternatives to medications than giving his kidneys something that will make life more difficult...
:bighug:

Who knows, the CBD might help with CKD. Two birds with one stone. ;)
 
Looking so great!! Flat with 88's last night, then today his classic +3 bump and back down. :bighug:

I hope you're enjoying the beauty of that dusting of snow.
Hi Alli. I think his +3 bump has become really low in compared to the previous bump. Just one point into the blue. We can forgive him, right?! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
I've been enjoying lazying in bed with a book, coffee and later on catching up with The Crown. We'll finish the season tonight for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I tried CBD oil and Gabapentin for Bella and both helped. She still gets a low dose of Gabapentin, plus the Adequan.
Happy to hear your experience with this, Cecile.
With Fistuk's kidneys I'll try and avoid medication as much as I can. I started with it today. I have a good quality oil. Paws crossed it'll help.

And I filtered the first round of milk, The grains are active and Fistuk had a spoon from the filtered milk :joyful::bighug::joyful:
 
Hi Shelly, I sure hope some of the ideas will lead to Fustuk feeling better. Poor baby. It’s so upsetting to see them in pain.
I hope the cbd oil gives him some relief quickly.
He’s in the best hands with his Mum. I know you’re going to find a great alternative for him. I’m sending you both hugs and healing thoughts for your sweet boy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, I sure hope some of the ideas will lead to Fustuk feeling better. Poor baby. It’s so upsetting to see them in pain.
I hope the cbd oil gives him some relief quickly.
He’s in the best hands with his Mum. I know you’re going to find a great alternative for him. I’m sending you both hugs and healing thoughts for your sweet boy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Staci :) Seeing him in pain is tough. But I do think he's turned a corner after the CBD :bighug::bighug:
 
Another +3 bump
Fistuk looks a bit less in pain. He had a bit of vomit before supper. I suspect it's the CBD but I also feel it'll potentially help him so I'll keep with it in the next few days.
Fistuk sends his love and says good night from his throne
View attachment 68379
Regal as always on his throne!! We love you Fistuk. Feel better baby boy. So glad he’s responding to the Cbd! Sleep well zzzz:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top