12/17 Booger- Need some help FDMB...

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Booger has been rising steadily over the past few days and I don't know what to do. She hit the 300's today. Her nadir's have all been in the 200's.. Now here in lies the problem... Booger is at a dose she (usually) really likes.. she's been increased TWICE previously and didn't tolerate it well either time (A drop below 50 very quickly and then a sudden drop into the 30's). I'm very reluctant to increase her to that dose again but I don't want her glucose to continue to rise. Does anyone have any suggestions?? Thanks in advance..
Jen
 
I have to wonder if that 36 was a bad strip...it really doesn't look like that number belongs there

I think you really need to go on back up to 3 units and see how Booger does.

You test enough to keep her safe so I'd give it a shot
 
You've held Booger at this dose for 13 days now. Normally after a reduction we wouldn't wait that long to see if a reduction is holding. She did get really low on the last dose. One possibility may be to try to just fatten the 2.75U dose. From the protocol:

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
 
Ok thank you both. I have thought about that possibility, Wendy and wondered if it would prove beneficial. We may attempt this dose ONE more time and supplement with feeding and extra vigilant testing... We'll make the move in the morning either way. Thanks for your help...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top