12/17 Biscuit 83 AMPS +3 47 +3 .5 47 +4 51 +4.5 52 +5 49 +5.5 59 +6 65 80 PMPS +2 80 +6 88

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Last Post

I haven't posted lately as I've been running ragged getting ready for the holidays, but Biscuit has been doing GREAT. See pic of him and his sister "cuddling" last night. We've had nothing but blues and greens. I've caught a few low numbers and kept him out of the really low numbers with food steering. Today though, I missed it at +2 and by +3 he was 47.

So, should we be reducing this dose since this is the 3rd time below 50. But that is over 3+ weeks and he's not a newly diabetic cat - he's been diabetic since 2013 and he has not gone below 40.

Just trying to clarify what I'm reading and what we should be doing next.

Thanks for the help. - and hope your holidays are coming along good too...
 

Attachments

  • Biscuit and Okie.jpg
    Biscuit and Okie.jpg
    90.3 KB · Views: 59
Three times below 50 on separate days or once below 40 for "veteran" diabetic kitties. Newly diagnosed kitties would be once below 50.

ETA: Biscuit's 47 is kinda early in the cycle so, you may need to steer him. You def. don't want him dropping any lower. I would be getting some more tests as well.
 
Three times below 50 on separate days or once below 40 for "veteran" diabetic kitties. Newly diagnosed kitties would be once below 50.

ETA: Biscuit's 47 is kinda early in the cycle so, you may need to steer him. You def. don't want him dropping any lower. I would be getting some more tests as well.
Trying to bring him up and testing too. Tried MC at first, now 30 mins later gave him the 20% HC as he is still at 47.

Also, guess we'll be doing 0.25u tonight.
 
He’s doing ok for now. I’m still testing and “food propping” every 30 mins although he’s eating lunch now and I added in a tsp of 25%HC this time. Luckily he’s always a good eater and we’re past his usual low spot. He’s an early Nadir kinda cat. Need to go run some errands but for now I’m waiting for him to come up and stay up before I leave.
 
He’s doing ok for now. I’m still testing and “food propping” every 30 mins although he’s eating lunch now and I added in a tsp of 25%HC this time. Luckily he’s always a good eater and we’re past his usual low spot. He’s an early Nadir kinda cat. Need to go run some errands but for now I’m waiting for him to come up and stay up before I leave.

Great! Hope he comes up and surfs for you.

Congrats on the reducie!
 
Well... Nothing like and eventful day to lead into an 80 start to the evening... dropped the dose to 0.25 but with the Depot in play I’m assuming I might need to prepare for an active night?? I’ll be sure to get a +2 before bed so we can see what up. Luckily my husband stays up late and can get a +5 or 6 too
 
Back
Top