12/16 Tiki, PMPS 329, +6 156 WTH???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58718

Had planned on upping to 2.25 this morning but I am starting at 198 (he is rarely this low this early). And I have to leave the house earlier than normal today and won't be home all day.

Will it throw things off if I don't up the dose until tomorrow when I will be around more?
 
Re: 12/16 Tiki, AMPS - 198!!! Increase dose??????

Waiting to raise the dose isn't a problem. I would just be sure that Tiki doesn't bounce. If there is a bounce, hold off on raising the dose until the bounce clears.
 
Re: 12/16 Tiki, PMPS 329 - Uh OH...Bounce???

Back in the pinks....uuugh. This looks like a bounce, should I hold off on upping the dose tomorrow (it's always something, isn't it???). How do I know when it clears? When it comes back into the 200's? or 100's?
 
Well guess it wasn't a bounce if he is back in the blues again so soon...

We have had a day from hell testing his blood. We have gone from wiggle worm to outright hissing. Just now when I finished he jumped off the bed and immediately attacked the dog. When I yelled at him NO he promptly hissed at me again. This just SUX!

All I want for Xmas is to regulate my cat so I can stop torturing him.
 
Tonya:

If Tiki bounced, it looks like the bounce cleared in record time. That's a good thing.

As for Tiki's lack of enthusiasm about testing, are you giving treats? I would absolutely give treats each and every time you test. In fact, if there's a "special" spot where you test, I would plunk Tiki there, scratch his ears, and just give a treat and lots of praise, and don't poke. You're reinforcing his being in the testing spot without any consequence.
 
Should I go ahead and increase the dose this morning? Was going to bring it up to 2.25 but wasn't sure what to do after his numbers were so weird yesterday.

And oh yes - he is definitely getting treats. Will work on No Consequences today, good idea. What has been a pain (no pun intended) is his ears are slow to bleed so it makes for many pokes. I've tried all the tricks to warm up the ears but some days nothing works well.
 
I think you're OK to increase unless you see something really weird with his AMPS.

A couple of other thoughts... Are your hands cold when you test? I've noticed that if my hands are cold, it's harder for Gabby's ears to bleed. One ear may bleed more easily than the other. I test only on one ear for that reason. If you have to poke more than once, try poking as close to the original spot as you can. That way, if you have 2 small drops they may pool into one larger drop. If you're not already doing so, use a larger gauge lancet. Some people will use a 25 gauge. I rarely see these around --- I mostly see 28 - 30 on the pharmacy shelves. (Lower numbers are a wider needle.) If you are using a lancet pen, make sure you don't need a setting that pokes deeper. (I freehand so I can't be of much help with techniques with the lancing device.)
 
I freehand too.

I also remove all the distractions that may cause Cini Mini to get nervous like the dog, and the other cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top