cjaubz
Member Since 2009
Good morning lantus land. My name is CJ. I haven't posted in this forum before but I'm a long time member and have been a mom to 2 diabetic cats. They are not the reason I'm writing. I need to lean on the power of this board and years of wisdom to verify I'm doing the right thing (sorry this is a little bit long).
My petsitter (who takes care of my diabetics) just got a diagnosis on her cat Sydney on 12/7. Edited to add: cat on Lantus. She left yesterday on a honeymoon to Aruba and requested specifically I watch her cat due to the diabetes and the new diagnosis.
I met with her on 12/7 and explained all the principals, gave links, etc. She has continued to follow the direction of her vet who has taken this cat from 1u-4u of insulin in 1 week! I did inform the owner that this carried a lot of risk with what they were doing and especially being out of town. I was told by them you know diabetes and we know you will do whats right and if you need to reduce the dose then do that.
There isn't a lot of data to go off of, but here is what I know: Almost no history on readings, the cat isn't starving, but does have severe neuropathy, no PD/some PU.
I'm sorry I don't have time for spreadsheet on him, but want to get you what I know:
12/5 approx diagnosis 450+
12/7 reading 405 (showing her how to use meter, etc)
12/7-12/14 - vet increases dose from 1.0 to 3.5u approx every 4th cycle with a +6 nadir. I don't believe this cat has had a full curve run - only spot checks at +6 for insulin adjustment :shock: :shock:
12/14 6:00pm PMPS 3.5U
12/14 7:30pm +2 158
12/15 6:30am AMPS 370 3.5U
12/15 12:45pm +6 258
Call result into vet - go to 4U!!!! :shock: :shock:
I'm not comfortable doing that. You have a cat newly diagnosed with inappropriate settling time on lantus with what appears to be a change in dose approx every 4 cycles. What happened to start low, go slow?? This cat is getting ready to bottom out and go hypo at these levels, and the owner has removed all dry food this week. Can you say disaster waiting to happen?? I know this cat is going to bottom out. I would rather have this cat a little high than hypo in ER while they are away.
12/15 6:00pm PMPS 136 2U
12/16 7:00am AMPS 175 2U
I took a wild guess and said 1. too much insulin, 2. too low PS, 3. change in food, 4. Severe neuropathy - cut dose in half and monitor preshots. If under 100 I wouldn't shoot. Please let me add due to current work constraints plus petsitting I can really only do +12 readings.
Have I done the right thing? I'm still questioning 2U, but due to visual clinical signs I was worried about dropping all the way back to 1U, but may have to reduce in the next day or so. I would appreciate any insight or wisdom. I will be back in a few hours.
Thanks,
CJ
My petsitter (who takes care of my diabetics) just got a diagnosis on her cat Sydney on 12/7. Edited to add: cat on Lantus. She left yesterday on a honeymoon to Aruba and requested specifically I watch her cat due to the diabetes and the new diagnosis.
I met with her on 12/7 and explained all the principals, gave links, etc. She has continued to follow the direction of her vet who has taken this cat from 1u-4u of insulin in 1 week! I did inform the owner that this carried a lot of risk with what they were doing and especially being out of town. I was told by them you know diabetes and we know you will do whats right and if you need to reduce the dose then do that.
There isn't a lot of data to go off of, but here is what I know: Almost no history on readings, the cat isn't starving, but does have severe neuropathy, no PD/some PU.
I'm sorry I don't have time for spreadsheet on him, but want to get you what I know:
12/5 approx diagnosis 450+
12/7 reading 405 (showing her how to use meter, etc)
12/7-12/14 - vet increases dose from 1.0 to 3.5u approx every 4th cycle with a +6 nadir. I don't believe this cat has had a full curve run - only spot checks at +6 for insulin adjustment :shock: :shock:
12/14 6:00pm PMPS 3.5U
12/14 7:30pm +2 158
12/15 6:30am AMPS 370 3.5U
12/15 12:45pm +6 258
Call result into vet - go to 4U!!!! :shock: :shock:
I'm not comfortable doing that. You have a cat newly diagnosed with inappropriate settling time on lantus with what appears to be a change in dose approx every 4 cycles. What happened to start low, go slow?? This cat is getting ready to bottom out and go hypo at these levels, and the owner has removed all dry food this week. Can you say disaster waiting to happen?? I know this cat is going to bottom out. I would rather have this cat a little high than hypo in ER while they are away.
12/15 6:00pm PMPS 136 2U
12/16 7:00am AMPS 175 2U
I took a wild guess and said 1. too much insulin, 2. too low PS, 3. change in food, 4. Severe neuropathy - cut dose in half and monitor preshots. If under 100 I wouldn't shoot. Please let me add due to current work constraints plus petsitting I can really only do +12 readings.
Have I done the right thing? I'm still questioning 2U, but due to visual clinical signs I was worried about dropping all the way back to 1U, but may have to reduce in the next day or so. I would appreciate any insight or wisdom. I will be back in a few hours.
Thanks,
CJ