12/16 Rusty PMPS 103, +4.5 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85092

Good Morning, Everyone,

Getting a late start again this morning. I've been busy doing laundry, making brownies for the potluck tonight, and getting the living room into "winter mode". This involves putting a door quilt over the door to the porch, moving some of the furniture around to "fill in" the space that the French door occupies, bringing in some chairs from the porch, and vacuuming. Rusty is anxious, as he always is when a "change" appears to be happening. We won't be able to use this door to the porch again until spring, but there is also a door to the porch from the kitchen, so we can get out there (we use it as a deep freeze in the winter; no more sitting on the porch until the warm weather!) The 4 upstairs porches will get their door quilts later this week. I always think of the patients who "cured" on these porches in all kinds of weather. (Our house was a tuberculosis "cure cottage" in the first half of the 20th century. Sitting in the fresh mountain air for 8-10 hours a day in all seasons and eating healthy food was the cure before antibiotics. When you consider that our winter temperatures frequently go well below zero Fahrenheit, it's not surprising that the patients developed great endurance and got cured!

Rusty had a good night, good test, good shot, breakfast of Wellness Turkey/ Wellness Chicken, a good combing, a good game of Tube Ball, and some time "exploring" the new configuration of the living room.

We have a winter-weather advisory from 10 A.M. today until noon tomorrow: sleet, snow, and freezing rain--my favorite combination!

Wishing you all a good day and sending healing vines to Moonie, Noni, and all kitties and beans who need some,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90

Good morning Ella. Nice to see Rusty starting another day with such a great number.

Your home has some history. The porches sound really nice. It looks like you have a real busy day ahead of you. Don't forget to take some breaks and have some Rusty moments.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

You have been busy today! I hope Rusty enjoys the new arrangement - lots of things to explore. :-D :cool:

Brownies! I love brownies. Sounds great on the potluck tonight. Enjoy.

oh wow on your weather... not a good combo, especially the freezing rain part. It amazes me when I think about the history of your home, and those patients - sitting out in that weather for hours on end. BRRR!

Enjoy your day today. I hope all goes well, that there is a ton of fun to be had. :-D
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90

Good morning, Ella! What an interesting history of your house! Love the green AMPS!!! Stay nice and warm today. Sounds like some gloomy weather is headed your way...perfect kitty snuggling weather, in my opinion! But what would I know of that weather...I'm a Florida girl, born and raised!! :lol: Enjoy your sweet kitty!
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90

Good Morning Ella.......A beautiful start to Rusty's day. Lookin' for a gorgeous green surf for the day. :mrgreen:

I think your house sounds wonderful, with it's rich history. Imagine the stories those walls could tell!

Have a lovely day, Ella :smile:
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90

Morning guys, as usual a beautiful start for Rusty today! Good luck winterizing the home, hope it doesn't stress Mr Rusty out too much. Have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39!

Interesting background on your home. Wow Rusty! :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Is that a reducie? I thought you just had one, or was that someone else?
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please

Hi again,

Wow on this +6! I tested twice and got 37 and then 39. I'm not sure what to do about another reduction (I am "shaving" the dose 1 drop at a time). We are only on the second day of the new reduced dose (the second reduction since December 11th). I suspect that Rusty's shed is just beginning to readjust to 1.5U from the fat 1.5U. Given the number in the 30s, I am wondering whether or not I should reduce it again this evening to a skinny 1.5U (2.11mm on the digital calipers; the present measurement is 2.22mm). I would appreciate some experienced eyes on Rusty's SS.

He had FF T&G for lunch, so that should keep him afloat in the lagoon for a while!

bbl, must go to the store.

Ella & Rusty (LagoonMeister)
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please

Ella

We all hate failed reductions but I think a little extra shave might not hurt here. My reasoning is that we typically recommend a .25u reduction if kitty goes between 40-50 three times on a dose on separate days. If you consider that on a f1.5u dose, he got into the 40s on 12/13 and 12/14. And then he went into the 40s again on 12/15 after you took him to the 1.5u; that last one was most certainly depot from the f1.5u. This morning's 37/39 was the third cycle of the new dose of 1.5u; yes....it could still be the f1.5u as that depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles. But, why chance it? Even taking him to the sk1.5u will not be .25u from the f1.5u, KWIM?
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please

Wow, Rusty, you are serious about your lagoon these days! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Excellent advice from Marje, as always.
Liz
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please

I agree with Marje's suggestion. I'd just been thinking that Rusty was winding up for a big reduction.
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please

Wow, Rusty certainly seems to be sending a message. I know how you feel though, it is so nice to see Rusty back in these beautiful numbers and you don't want to see them end. But just how often do you want to fight to keep him up.
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39! eyes please, +8 88

Thanks Marje, Sienne, Ann,

He posted an 88 at +8, but he'd eaten his FF T&G for lunch. It could be the beginning of a bounce, however. In any event, I think I will go to a skinny 1.5U (2.11mm on the calipers) and see what happens. We will be at the potluck from +10 to PMPS; I'll get a test at +10.

Thanks again,

Ella
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39!, +8 88, +10 78, PMPS 103

Wow. Rusty wanted some attention today. That is so interesting about your cottage. How beautiful. Have a great night Ella!
 
Re: 12/16 Rusty AMPS 90, +6 37/39!, +8 88, +10 78, PMPS 103

Rusty is feeling good today!!! 103 as a bounce - WOW. Congrats on the reducie.

I loved the story about your house and the porches. That is so cool (literally and figuratively). Are the door quilts patchwork? Sounds pretty.
 
Hi again,

The potluck was very holiday festive with excellent foods. Rusty had a good evening napping in his basket. He woke up and was raring to go at bedtime. We had some great play with the bell balls, whacking them all over the place. He's still downstairs now, meowing. (But his food is up here, so he'll be up soon.) He's still getting used to the new configuration of the living room. I hope he doesn't think that the wicker chairs brought in from the front porch are scratching posts (these are the chairs that we found at the dump last summer--in almost perfect condition).

Thanks for visiting us and for the advice and encouragement with regard to the new reducie.

ni ni,

Ella & Rusty (LagoonMeister)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top