12/16 PMPM +11 521 AMPS +3 229 +6 221 help with dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
CHERYL--Just one condo for the whole day! OK?
You shot 1.25 yesterday, so why did you raise the dose again today to 1.5?? Did someone here tell you to??
You got a lot of advice last night, please re-read all that people said--
Lantus needs consistancy & patience!--It is totally different than Humilin N which my Moonie was on too--Lantus needs to settle in the cats body for a number of days!
You Cant keep changing doses--You need to let one dose settle before you change to another,means Wait to see if bounce clears which it did, and you got good yellow 200's numbers here--
OR I am Misunderstanding what you are posting..??
She looks like she is doing good now!

You Must do some monitoring on a steady basis to see where her bg's are going--You will see a pattern-
Please look at Moonie SS-You can see a pattern, when she goes lower, when she has her nadir--etc--
This is essential!
 
Cheryl, I hope you meant to post that you will be shooting 1.25u, you need to let the new dose settle for at least 6 cycles. You do not want to change the dose frequently.

Also, as Roni already pointed out, you need to open one condo per day, per cat. When you have new numbers, or a new PS, you go to the first post of your condo for that day and edit the subject line.

There are several stickies at the top of the forum, you should start with the one that says "New to the Group" and read it, including the links inside the thread. It explains the conventions here, including how you should post. The other sticky I would suggest you read right away is the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky, it explains how to follow the protocol we use here, including starting doses and dose increases, and what you will need to do and have on hand.

Lantus requires consistent dosing and a big helping of patience. Treating FD is a marathon, not a sprint. If you try to rush it, you will only succeed in slowing your cat's progress and having to start over again.
 
I'm just stopping in to say Welcome to Lantus Land! I agree with Laurie that the New to the Group sticky and the Tight Regulation Protocol stickies are the place to start. Those will give you a good idea of what we are doing here. It's ok if it doesn't all make sense right away. Things will start to "click" for you a little at a time. In the meantime, we're here to help.
 
12/16 PMPs +11 521 AMPS +3 229 +6 221 1.25 units

I'ms sorry, I meant 1.25 not 1.5 units. I will stay there at 1.25. I work tomorrow. I can do an AMPS and plus 2. After work a PMPS and plus 2. I'm off this weekend and will do a curve. Whiskers is not at all co-operating with the BG test, but we keep trying. I found out that the lancets that I have are ultra thin, perhaps that is the problem. I did not know they came in other sizes until someone from FDMD mention it to me. I stopped at the pharmacy tonight but they didn't even know what gauge the one they had behind the counter were. I will stop at Walgreens this weekend.
 
It can take a little while to convince a kitty that poking leads to treats. Give treats. Lots of treats! And affection. He'll figure it out!!
 
Oh good, I'm glad to hear it was a typo, and you are still shooting 1.25u. Any spot checks you can get will be good, and a curve this weekend will help.

As Sienne said, treats and affection help to convince kitty that the poking is not so bad. It just takes a little time. Staying calm is important, so if you find you are getting frustrated, take a break and try later when you are calm.

Please be sure to ask any questions you may have, there's a lot to learn and it can be very overwhelming!
 
Hi Laurie,

Things are going much better today. I went to walgreens and got new lancets (Gauge 28). I only had to poke her 3 times to get blood drop (as opposed to the 12 times with the 35 Guage) thanks for you support
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top