12/16 Maverick PMPS 83 and Thanks :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
I think I'll win the Stupid Newbie award.
I think I've messed up dosing somewhere. Not sure where I've messed up or what to do from here.

Instead of .50 I think I've been giving 1.0????? And I'm not sure for how long. I can't know for sure but I think I have been.

I'm not sure what to do from here, with the spreadsheet? I am so confused.

So I gave him .75 units this morning. Is there any way to tell from his numbers if I've just messed up recently at the .50 dose or if I was dosing it correctly for a bit and messed up just really recently?

God I feel stupid. I had to take a muscle relaxant at 4AM this morning for a seizing muscle in my back. So a bit tired - but I still think I'm sure I've been messing up.

Advice?
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

Well, this is why working in small dose changes can be a lifesaver. None of us are perfect and when we're working in these microdoses I've caught myself thinking I'm shooting 2.5u and had only 1.5u in the syringe. :o Check and double check!

I would just maybe change the color on the spreadsheet to indicate the potential mistake. Without really "knowing, knowing," going back and changing the data would only compound the confusion.

Will you be home today to monitor Maverick?
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

I know for sure I started out at the right .50 dose. Not sure how far in I went up to 1.0. I am home all day - my back is giving me trouble and the flexeril probably isn't helping me think as clearly as I could be.
Thanks for the supportive words. I was really embarassed posting my mistake.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

Karrie and Maverick said:
I know for sure I started out at the right .50 dose.


Good, I'm glad you are home to monitor as you potentially upped the dose from .50u to 0.75u? It sounds to me that you really don't know ...for sure.

If you were still shooting 1.0u then you're most likely fine today. Just a BCS type of shot.

If you were actually shooting the .50u, Maverick may have gotten too much this morning. You are going to need to really monitor him going into his onset, since we don't really "know."

I am sorry to hear about your back and man those pain killers and muscle relaxers can really mess one up too. Take care of yourself today and keep us updated on Maverick today too.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

Karrie, if you are sure you were giving the 0.5u dose originally, then I would go back to that dose on your next shot. It's ok that you gave more this morning, just monitor Maverick closely today in case he drops more than usual. I would just make a note on your ss in the comments for today about it...I would not go back and change anything.

We all make mistakes, I've drawn the wrong amount before too! But I caught my mistake because I always double check my dosing before I shoot. Do you still have a sample syringe? If so, try to remember to double check your dose against that sample syringe before you shoot.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

ohmygod_smile i think we've all been there. most mornings I stare at my syringe for about 5 mins to make sure i am reading it correctly :lol: hope your back feels better. rest up, and Maverick - be good for Mommy okay? let her do her testing today, make it very easy on her. :smile:
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 - Messed up dosing all along?

Thanks guys. I'll monitor him and post if anything changes. I'll get a +2. I wish I knew when I started messing up. Setting my iphone alarms now.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +2 67 +4.8 68

i stare at the darn syringe too...i think we all do that...thinking that Rocket gets his shot at 5:30 am and been up to get his +9 really makes me stumble out of bed and half asleep....so yeah we all stare and question...as per the dose....well it's good you are home to monitor...don't fret...just move forward...he's been doing really well...

sorry about your back problems.....i so totally relate...just take it easy....

hope you have a good day....Maverick behave for your bean ok?! she's not feeling well so be good!
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +2 67 +4.8 68

Karrie...sorry about your back...sending healing vines!!! And yes, I, too, have looked at that syringe and looked at it again to make sure that I drew up the right amount. Esp on bleary eyed mornings.

Thanks for your suggestions on Gracie's condo. If you get a chance, look at her SS. To the very far right, I have all of her foods recorded...what we gave, what time we gave it, the amount we gave, the % carbs, etc. I also called ALL of the companies that make the foods we feed and got the most recent as fed values, plugged them into Janet's calculator, and made my own charts at home. With Gracie's bladder issues, I have to be careful what I feed and every food is checked through her nutrition vet...she cannot have anything with grains or by products. So it makes it a bit more complicated. Your idea was a great one and I do think it has helped us to see what she is doing at the time after we feed her.

Hope you feel better soon!!!!
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76 advice for dose tonight?

Just updated spreadsheet with a +7. I realize the cycles only seven days long so its not as horrible as I thought it was this morning. Still not good.

What should I do for tonights shot? I'm about to take another muscle relaxant. Means I'll probably crash till five or six PM and want to be prepared. I spent so much time trying to figure out what I did wrong this morning I haven't moved the shot back any.

I just saw your reply Marjorie and will be checking out the far right of her spreadsheet. I love how much research you've done. It's so good to see. And you guys seem to really get the complicated stuff that goes right over my head. I still can't understand the overlap sticky. *sigh*.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76 advice for dose tonight?

I hope you are both feeling better. The number thing is a bit confusing. I'll be starting Pumpkins spreadsheet this Saturday.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76 advice for dose tonight?

Ok will do. Thanks Laurie.

Joy - please don't go by my Condo today. It will make your head hurt and confuse the heck out of you. We've been on the board since mid October and its made my head hurt. You should have seen me staring at that syringe for 15 minutes this morning. My husband just gave me the weirdest look, like I was stoned or something.

My back is loosening up a little. I have such empathy for people with chronic pain. I only have a few days a month of pain and chronic pain is one of my biggest fears.

A friend of mine shipped up a Relion Meter and 200 test strips from the US. I'm not sure when I'll get them. I have like ten test strips left before I have to drop another 79$ on 100 more. It is hit or miss with shipping from the US - sometimes a few weeks, sometimes one week.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76 advice for dose tonight?

I agree with Laurie, I would go to 0.5. I bet you haven't been messing up as badly as you think you have (but if you have, we'll know soon enough whether or not 0.5 is a good dose for Maverick). No worries. We've all done things we don't want to admit, I'm sure. :lol:
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76

No worries Karrie......We've all messed up along the way here....And Maverick is still looking good.

That flexeril is really good stuff.....it can make one a bit groggy though. Hope your back feels better soon my dear.
 
Re: 12/16 Maverick AMPS 101 +7 76

I can't thank you guys for being here and being so supportive. I felt so stupid. I can't remember when I started messing up. I know its been at least two full days - four doses. One day I think we had a fur shot thankfully.

So I did a fat .5 tonight. I can make it a normal sized .50 tomorrow morning. I moved his shot time up 15 minutes also which I'll mark in his ss. I wonder if the extra insulin is the reason for his ravenous appetite. He ate 3oz again between PMPS and +3 last night - and I had to wonder if the dog got up and helped but I think it was just him.

Thank you again guys. If anything maybe someone can learn from my mistake. We'll see what he does tonight. I expect the effect of the shed draining over a few days will have an impact also?
 
Also I'm up and the foggy head from the flexeril is going away. The irritability will hit everyone around me tomorrow though. It a great drug for muscles but bad for my mood. My back is not spazzing out at rest now thankfully.
 
Karrie--Maverick is having so nice low numbers, so in view of that you should shoot 0.5--But please try to get up and monitor - test at about +2 or +3, Just to be sure he isnt dropping too much..He has great numbers today, so Whatever you did.... :shock: :razz:
I'm here for a long time and Struggle every shot time with the dose!! 1.00 not hard at all, 0.5U not bad either, but then you have to get the bubbles, out, make sure you have the right dose, put the cap on, and I Look at the dose through a magnifying glass WITH my reading glasses! :roll: :roll: ohmygod_smile
So do not feel bad, just try to do better--We all encounter the same problems--Guess that makes you One Of Us :o ;-)
 
Kerrie,

Don't feel bad. It got to be such a routine to test/shoot Sara that once I forgot to give her the shot. :oops: Now I prepare the syringe first and than bring the testing basket over to Sara. This way that won't ever happen again. I can always make it less if needed.

Maverick will be just fine. Just try and monitor him through out the day so you can see where he's at. Going back to 0.5 sounds good. He's doing great.

Glad you'll be getting your relion strips and meter. I wish you could get them all the time since they are soooo much cheaper.

Hope your back feels better. Have a nice night.

jan and sara
 
Stupid question but have you tried to get the strips on ebay? That's where I get mine..much cheaper.

Sure hope you feel better!! Ever done yoga? It's a back-saver among other things!!! Rest well tonight and hope all goes well with Maverick.
 
I wish I had checked Ebay Canada! Free shipping and only $42! I wasted a lot of money ordering the relion and test strips - and paying $27 total shipping to ship to Canada. Lesson learned ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I figured there wouldn't be any deals to Canadians and shipping would be insane to ship from the US. I've shipped two packages from the US this week. One was 29$ and the other was $22. Why the heck does just normal shipping even from a friend cost a fortune. Its even worse if they send it USPS from a business and they tack on a duty or customs charge.
 
i saw this yesterday and lost it..sigh... but i wanted to comment on youre confusing the dose and how yu feel. and just wanted to tell you that many of us have done that.so we understand. but i think the stupid award would definately have to go to me about 2 years ago when I was shooting Girlcat with 8 units Lantus and using R.I came home from work one night in a rush and really stupidly shot 8 units of R instead of Lantus. we were just about to get our acro Dx at the time. and it turned out very well no damage done.that was awhile ago i doubt of most here remember that but it was a trip that nite i tell you. and no i never did that again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top