12/16: Harry AMPS 331, +3 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32194

So today Harry was good, being not AS bad with us getting the ear pokes over and done with (so far for today)....but his numbers are still high. (in the pink today)

Question - Every time a cat hits the green, does that automatically a dose reduction? Or does that mean he needs higher carb food to compensate?
 
There's green, and then there's GREEN. In a cat that's newly diagnosed (i.e., been diabetic for less than one year), a dose reduction is earned if BG levels fall below 50. If Harry decides to surf in the 70s, he won't earn a dose reduction but he will be spending time in numbers that are very good for his pancreas and we will all applaud!

There are several issues regarding your question about HC food. HC food is routinely used to bring low numbers back up. So, if Harry's numbers fall into the 40s, you want to feed a little HC to bring his numbers into a safer range (i.e., 50s or 60s or so). See this post on managing low numbers.

Where it can be confusing if you're reading condos or SSs, Gabby's included, is that you'll see we use HC in a slightly different way in addition to using it to raise low numbers. Because Gabby is prone to drop into low numbers quickly and because she has a history of bouncing, I use food to manipulate her curve. In other words, I'll feed some HC to prevent her numbers from dropping too fast.
 
Alright, interesting!!!! :smile:
So, just because Harry went into the green doesn't mean that he automatically earns a dose reduction? I have been viewing Harry's charts, and he's all over the place - but was all blue one day with the dose of 1.75 units, although now I'm at 1.5 units he's sticking with the yellow and pinks. ...and that's better than in the red i guess.
So.
He's doing better than when he was first Dx, although his numbers are still wavy....high low high low. . . .
Should I go back up to the 1.75, or wait another 1/2 month or full month and see if he can be regulated on the 1.5?

Thanks for all of your help!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top