12/16 CHECKERS~Barb needs thoughts...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
Just got a call from Barb. She misses everyone and sends her love to you all!
Hopefully, the epidural pain shot she had today will help in a day or two and she will be back on the Board.
Her SS is not up to date ~sorry.

Here's the deal:
Last night, she increased her dose from 1.0u to 1.25u (she is not quite sure why she did that but he has not been seeing any greens lately on the 1.0u, just yellows and blues) She does feel bad that she is unable to give him the attention she would like to give him.

AMPS=308 1.0u
PMPS=211 1.25u
+3=75 HC gravy

This morning, he was hiding before she went to the doctor's. When she got back, she was able to test him and he was +3=460 so she gave him .5u 3 hours late.

Question:
What should she do about the dose and time of shot tonight.
She really cannot make his shot time 3 hours later than usual, which would be 12 hours from his +3 shot.

I asked her to post what would be her normal +11 to see if anyone had some suggestions for her.
Maybe a BCS dose at the usual time, 3 hours earlier than the 12 from this shot today? really not wise...

Looks to me that the 1.0u would be a good dose to stay with until she can be more lucid. She hates the way the pain meds make her feel. Barb doesn't want to give him so much insulin that will end up in greens that she cannot handle, like last night. She will be checking back to read your thoughts...
Thank you..... :YMHUG:

SS: https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key ... utput=html

ETA: I suppose skipping the PM shot is the best thing....anything else under the circumstances is just not a good idea...
 
oh goodness, i don't know if giving anything 3 hours earlier would be ok. sticky situation here. hopefully someone will answer before tonight. if you don't get one, please bump up the post. :)

Question that needs to be answered:
Maybe a BCS dose at the usual time, 3 hours earlier than the 12 from this shot today?
 
Pat...please give Barb our virtual hugs and tell her we are thinking of her and Checkers and sending healing vines.
 
I suspect skipping a shot and getting back on schedule, even with the fallout for a couple days, is going to work best.
 
I sure hope Barb is feeling better soon.

A shot that is 3 hours early is not a good idea. She'd be better off skipping the shot and getting back on schedule tomorrow. She can think of is as a fur shot.
 
Sorry that Barb still isn't feeling better, back trouble is awful! I hope she is feeling a lot better very soon!

I agree that shooting 3 hours early isn't a good idea. It's better to skip the shot tonight, call it a fur shot, and get back on schedule tomorrow morning with the 1.0u.
 
I agree with skipping the shot and Barb--HOPE YOU FEEL BETTER!! I know what pain that can cause--Healing vines sent to you--Hugs from Us!
 
Pat, thank you so much for posting that. I can't sit long enough to post much.

Checkers hid this morning because he knew I was going out and my DD was here, so he knew something was up
I did not get a test or shoot.
This is what I got today

460 @ 10:30 EST..(3 hours late).....gave .5 u because it was so high.
263 +4
274 +7
331 +8......probably food spike with this

Waiting 12 hours would bring me up to 10:30 tonight. His normal shot time is 7:30 EST
I can't push all his shots back 3 hours, so should I stlll skip tonight, and get back on schedule tomorrow?

Thank you for reviewing this.
 
Barb...yes, skip the shot tonight, and shoot tomorrow morning on your regular schedule...7:30 am. Checkers will get back on track soon.

Rest, heal.....feel better! We miss you. :YMHUG:
 
He is now 296@ what would be his shot time. I will skip tonight, and pretend I gave a fur shot. Tomorrow will be a brighter day, and I will get him back on track.

Thank you all for advice.
I sure have missed you guys.
 
Just sending hugs :YMHUG: and miss yous, and hope you feel better real soon vines to you, Barb.
 
Hi Barb, We miss you so much and hope and pray that you will be feeling much better soon. Vines and snowflakes (do you need snowflakes!!) are heading your way! I agree with everyone that you should skip tonight's shot, call it a fur shot, and start on your usual schedule tomorrow morning. Checkers will be fine.
Now, get some good rest and think positively that your back will get better and better.

Many hugs, :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top