12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 pmps 250 - lost regulation :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31807&p=330407

So Oscar has been much higher than usual for the last 3 days. He has been at 2.25u for 12 days now, and most of that time was spent in the mid 100's and below. Our vial is 2 months old and has no floaties in it. It is kept in a fridge with the temp right around 40 according to my thermometer. Could our vial have already gone bad? Is this just Oscar wonkiness? We are on the last 1/4 to 1/3 of the vial, but I was hoping to use it through Christmas since we are traveling and will need to take it in a cooler.

No real behavior changes except for the fact that he wants to lay in my lap all the time now!
 
Re: 12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 - lost regulation :(

Really, the only way I am aware of to know (for sure) if your old Lantus has "gone away", is to try an new pen or vial...

...on that subject, if you are currently using the 10mL vial then many people suggest to get the SoloSTAR pens instead, you get 5 x 3mL pens in one box but because you can keep the unused ones sealed (in the fridge), there's less risk of needing to throw away any unused insulin (= cheaper in the long run). You can still use the pens with regular syringes.
 
Re: 12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 - lost regulation :(

Oh, I know. I have 2 pens in the fridge. I am using vials right now because a diabetic lady in the area donated insulin to us and the vials expire in 2011. The pens I have expire in 2012.

I wish there was a magic ball that told me exactly what was up! :lol:
 
Re: 12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 - lost regulation :(

Oscar, you're going the wrong way, turn around please!

Kelly, the first thing I noticed is the smart water. It may be purely coincidence, but the timing is suspicious. Is the twitching gone?

The other thing is that you just raised the dose, so his shed is rebuilding at this point. This is the 3rd cycle, so you might see some action from that soon.

I am always suspicious of the insulin once I get close to 28 days. Our experience is that our insulin doesn't stay consistent past 28 days, but that could be just us. I have never used vials, so that may be different.

So, if he doesn't see any action from the dose increase by the next cycle, and you need to continue the smart water, I would open new insulin. You know how I feel about those yellow numbers and Oscar...he just likes them WAY too much and gets stuck there!
 
Re: 12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 - lost regulation :(

I noticed that coincidence too. He hasn't had the smartwater added since yesterday morning because of that. He hasn't twitched since I last noted it on the spreadsheet like a week ago.

Thanks for the insight Laurie. Sometimes it is easier to see things when you are looking at a spreadsheet that isn't your own :-D
 
Re: 12/15 Oscar amps 266 +5 280 pmps 250 - lost regulation :

pmps is 250. I hope to see the effects of the dosecrease sometime tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top