12/15 Mikey AMPS 450 PMPS 351 +1/359 +7.5/268

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/15 Mikey +7.5/153 AMPS 450

Hi Jennifer!!!

I've missed checking in on you and Mikey lately. So....hmmmmm....bouncing off the blue or needing more juice? IMHO, I probably would have taken him up again after six cycles after the
last blue number he got on the pm cycle of 12/9....so that would have been the a.m. cycle of 12/13. Since he got this 153 last night, he "could" be bouncing today and so you want to be
careful about taking him up until he clears a bounce.

Let's see how he does today but keep the thought of a dosecrease in the back of your mind. Mikey is pretty good about not diving so I don't anticipate him coming down too much today but
no crystal ball here.

ETA: In the future, if he gets six high cycles after a lower number (even blue), then I'd increase .25u on the 7th cycle. KWIM?

Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey +7.5/153 AMPS 450

Do you ever sleep?

This looks like a bounce off of the blue from yesterday to me, too. I agree with Marje. Once the bounce clears, my guess is that a dose increase will be in Mikey's future but let's wait to see what his numbers look like.
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey +7.5/153 AMPS 450

Hi Jen, Hi Mikey!

Marje and Sienne,
Is this the "norm" or common, where a kitty earns a dose decrease, doesn't really improve on the lower dose, then goes back to the dose that worked....but then doesn't really respond as well as the last time? I know I've seen the comment "two steps forward and one step back" but this one seems like one step forward and two steps back....
Why would Mikey respond to a dose one week, and then not respond to the same dose a week later?

This lantus stuff just confuses the crap out of my brain.

Carl
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey +7.5/153 AMPS 450

It's not that unusual. The bottom line is that you follow what the data tells you. If the numbers say it's not enough insulin, then you raise the dose regardless of what the dose was a week or two ago.
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey AMPS 450 +3/401 +11/374 PMPS 351 +1/359

HI MARJE!!! I missed you!!! I haven't been online as much because his #'s are so high and I haven't been testing as much because he was started to get really agitated.

I was wondering the same thing Carl asked. Now a dose increase to 2u would put us higher than where we started (1.5u) but lower than where his mom had him (3u). Should I be increasing him for the next shot?

What do you all suggest I should be testing him throughout the day? I know Sienne and I posted about this the other day but with his numbers so consistantly high and him being agitated I wasn't pushing it. When the numbers are high is it ok to just stick to the "important" test times or should I have been getting more the past few weeks.
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey AMPS 450 +3/401 +11/374 PMPS 351 +1/359

Hey Jen (and Carl):

I think you've probably missed a couple of dosecreases that you could/should have taken. He got into blue on 12/3 on 1.25u but I would have taken him up to 1.5u after six cycles of high numbers. And then again as I discussed
this morning. Since Sienne also agrees this is a bounce, then you "should" wait six cycles before taking him up. The thing I am seeing is that it just looks like he needs more insulin as he is not coming back down
once the six cycles are up.

Yes...sometimes you have to go up to come down and that means going up above a dose they did well on before. In order to keep him from losing momentum, you have to stay on top of those dosecreases after the bounces
have had enough cycles to clear.

When his numbers are this high, I don't think you need to test overly much. Just get those important mid-cycle tests so we can make sure he's not dipping into green and then bouncing really high.

Hope you get some rest. Glad to be back checking out Mikey's world!
 
Re: 12/15 Mikey AMPS 450 +3/401 +11/374 PMPS 351 +1/359

I just want to make sure I understand. You count six cycles after the last blue number? If there is no change in numbers (they are still high)then increase? Is high in this considered red/pink and yellow?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top