? 12/15 MICIO: AMPS 296 / 202@ +5.75 / PMPS 250

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 280 / 246@ +3.25 / PMPS 254 / 259@ +5.75

Done with 6th cycle on 3u, increasing to 3.25u tomorrow morning unless we see blue or green...correct?
Today we've seen a 202@ +5.75, feels like we're getting closer...?
Please remind me again...if I see blue or green by tomorrow morning I don't have to increse, instead keep the dose at 3u....What if numbers go under 190, don't shoot?
Tnx in advance
 
If you see blue I’d hold 3.0 longer.
Thank you.
My question is: because meters can have that 20% variance, how do I know when I should increase or decrease the dose? For instance, if we're up for a .25u increase and AMPS/PMPS reads at 210, how do I know if I should increase or not the dose? That's what's scares me the most...
 
Don’t be scared. People have been following the methods for many years. You test enough so that if an increase is not needed, she will drop under 50 and then you decrease. A bg of 50 but not be less than 40 and long term diabetics don’t decrease unless under 40. That keeps the cats safe. Variance is allowed so built into the protocols used. At low bg the difference is so small. When cats are tested at the vet you often get an inflated number due to stress of being at the vet, yet those numbers determine what is recommended as well.

I’m glad you increased. It was needed. If allowed to stay at high bg too long tge insulin needs keep going up due to insulin resistance.
 
Don’t be scared. People have been following the methods for many years. You test enough so that if an increase is not needed, she will drop under 50 and then you decrease. A bg of 50 but not be less than 40 and long term diabetics don’t decrease unless under 40. That keeps the cats safe. Variance is allowed so built into the protocols used. At low bg the difference is so small. When cats are tested at the vet you often get an inflated number due to stress of being at the vet, yet those numbers determine what is recommended as well.

I’m glad you increased. It was needed. If allowed to stay at high bg too long tge insulin needs keep going up due to insulin resistance.

Tnx for the reassurance...honestly, I think my vet waited too long before look into diabetes on Micio. I noticed some changes on Micio's behavior since this July and repeatedly told her right away, but she wasn't concerned about it (even though BG numbers in June jumped to 282!) and I had no idea that diabetes should be considered, we were always concentrated on his IBD, EPI ...should have known better to do my own research.
By the time Micio got tested for diabetes and started on insulin it was November 1st! That may explain the insulin resistance
I would think he should feel a bit better by now that his numbers are better than over a month ago but instead, he continues to decline every day and not sure what's going on, although he still eats well and even his stools are better regulated since I started him on Kibow Fortis, CocoTherapy and Phsyllium Husk, he moves in a like slow motion and looks depressed and I feel like I'm losing him...
 
Back
Top