12/15 Mali AMPS 416

Hi Belinda , yes anytime Mali drops below 90 following SLGS you reduce by 0.25 units

Edit just to reassure you I see @Bron and Sheba (GA)
has helped and said
If you are going to follow SLGS, you hold the dose for a week and then do a curve. Then you decide if you need to increase the dose. If at any time the BG drops under 90, you immediately reduce the dose by 1/4 unit.
We are happy to help you every day until you get the hang of it. We have very experienced people here who can help with dosing.
It sounds as if you are super organised.
This was from your first post ( Intro Post )
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hi-everyone-new-here.284203/#post-3130085
 
Last edited:
Hi Belinda , yes anytime Mali drops below 90 following SLGS you reduce by 0.25 units

Edit just to reassure you I see Bron has helped and said
If you are going to follow SLGS, you hold the dose for a week and then do a curve. Then you decide if you need to increase the dose. If at any time the BG drops under 90, you immediately reduce the dose by 1/4 unit.
We are happy to help you every day until you get the hang of it. We have very experienced people here who can help with dosing.
It sounds as if you are super organised.
This was from your first post ( Intro Post )
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hi-everyone-new-here.284203/#post-3130085
Thanks Diane. I was going to do a curve tomorrow at 1.5u after a full week. But as he dropped to 86 overnight, I gave him 1.25u this morning. I’m guessing I should now wait another week before I do the full curve considering dose reduction but I’ll continue to monitor BG throughout the day.
 
Thanks Diane. I was going to do a curve tomorrow at 1.5u after a full week. But as he dropped to 86 overnight, I gave him 1.25u this morning. I’m guessing I should now wait another week before I do the full curve considering dose reduction but I’ll continue to monitor BG throughout the day.
Yes I would wait to do the curve.
Those red BG's is most likely do to bouncingbouncing from those nice blue and green numbers from last night

Here is an explanation about bouncing.
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
@Belinda23
 
Last edited:
Yes I would wait to do the curve.
Those red BG's is most likely do to bouncingbouncing from those nice blue and green numbers from last night

Here is an explanation about bouncing.
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
@Belinda23
Thanks Diane. Hopefully he will be back in the blue/green in a few days and stop bouncing too much!
 
Back
Top