12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412 PMPS 411

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Do you think Cobb is getting a kick out of confusing me? He's a conundrum!! Is there any reason his pre shot number would consistently be below his mid cycle numbers?

I am about to start using a new vial of Lantus. I may do that tonight, in fact. The old vial has so little left and I wonder if it isn't effective anymore. It doesn't look like it has anything floating in it, but I could be wrong.

Is there anything I have to do when switching vials? Or just continue on as I've been doing?
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 ??

Have you been using that old vial about 2 months? It should be good for 2 months is stored and handled properly.
I always just try to get some extra tests when starting fresh insulin, just in case.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 ??

Yes. I've been using the vial for 2 months. There was only one issue when the refrigerator was left open - no idea how. But the vial still felt cool, but not cold to the touch.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 ??

I have a vial that was still good 5 1/2 months after I bought it...If it's kept in the main part of the refrigerator, it should last up to 6 months (but with the higher doses you're giving, yours isn't going to last that long)

If you're going to get new insulin soon, you might want to get the Solostar Pens instead of the vial..they're 3ml each (so 300 units) and come in a box of 5 pens...you still use the same syringes to draw the insulin out of the pen (you don't use their "dial a dose")...The nice thing about it is that you can use every last drop in each pen, where with the vials, it can get to a point where you can't get any more out of it and just have to throw it away.

Some pharmacies will break up a box and sell a single pen, but you just have to call around and find one. Target stores, Sam's Warehouse and hospital pharmacies are places I've seen others have some success in getting single pens.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374

Unfortunately my vet wouldn't write me a prescription for the pen because she knew nothing about it. I'll have another talk with her about it at some point.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374

Sorry about the confusing kitty :? They seem to thrive on making their beans crazy ;-) Hope you have a good Sunday and that Cobb is feeling good :-D
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

I may have asked this before...but I don't remember.

The 4 units was enough to bring Cobb's BG down into the 200s and then he bounced. I guess we assumed he cleared the bounce on 12/12 since he was pretty static in the 300s.

Now we upped it to 4.5units and he's ping pinging around in the 300/400s.

I understand that Cobb is in charge of the dance, however, it doesn't make any sense that the 4 units brings it down that far, but more insulin doesn't even keep the BG out of the 400s. I get the disease is illogical, but there has to be a reason behind it. If 4u can jump start the BG into those keels, then more insulin should do the same. No?
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

Seems totally logical, doesn't it?? If 4 units drops to the 200's, then 4.5 should do at least that good...at least that's how we think it should work. :?

We just can't use logic at all in this dance..which is very frustrating to all of us! :roll:

It's possible he needs some more time at the 4.5 too..each time we increase, the depot has to fill to it's "new" level..today was only his 2nd cycle..those patience pants get awfully itchy don't they?
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

Yes! They must be made out of wool! :lol: :lol:

I'm definitely keeping him at the 4.5u at least through tomorrow's cycle. And I wonder if the insulin I have isn't as effective with the refrigerator door issue so I'm interested to see if the new vial has any effect.

It is frustrating but I know you've all been through it too!
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

I really wouldn't worry about it. If there's any insulin resistance going on, sticking at a dose makes it harder to break through the "glass" ceiling (i.e., the antibodies build up and it takes more insulin to "squish" them). Right now, I would not stick with a dose that isn't getting the nadir down into a better range. I would encourage you to keep increasing Cobb's dose every 4 - 6 cycles.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

Suzanne

You've probably seen this post on New Dose Wonkiness. Could be what he's up to.

He's actually just flat. I know that 353 and 403 don't seem flat but they are easily within meter variance. Sometimes it takes a while to get up to the fitting dose and, as Sienne said, you just have to stick with the protocol on the increases. Lantus isn't that great about pulling the numbers down while you wait to get to that fitting dose but once you find the breakthrough...it can really do it's magic.

Sending positive thoughts for Cobb to settle in well to this dose and show you some nice numbers.
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

Marje and Gracie said:
Lantus isn't that great about pulling the numbers down while you wait to get to that fitting dose but once you find the breakthrough...it can really do it's magic.

Sending positive thoughts for Cobb to settle in well to this dose and show you some nice numbers.

So...will he see a pronounced difference in numbers within those 4-6 cycles when we hit that magic dose? Even if he bounces?
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

Yes you can Suzanne..sometimes..ECID

Go look at Kim & Twice's condo and spreadsheet..he was kind of all over the place until 11/23...then all the sudden, something went "Oh...OK...I get it now"...and he's been in mostly greens ever since..Yes, he still bounces now and then, but is clearing them within a cycle now

You just have to stick with the protocol so you don't miss that "perfect" dose, and at some point, we're all hoping Cobb's body will just "get it" and start responding better and coming down the dose ladder
 
Re: 12/15 Cobb AMPS 353 +3 403 +6 374 +8.5 412

I know...but look at it this way..Cobb's numbers ARE better than they were at 10 units, and he's acting like he feels better, so all you can really do is be patient (another word we aren't real fond of around here)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top