12/15 Charlie amps:437-4.2u, pmps:312-3.2u

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/15 Charlie amps:437, 4.2u

well altho you scrap your 'sliding scale' claudia you still have to 'shoot the number' meaning find the right dose for various #'s as you know you can't just pick a dose and stick with it.
this is the time you do a little experimenting and a lot of testing.
sorry, i promised you the testing was going to be slowing down. charlie is proving to be a kitty for the records. i hope we can use his SS in the future to show other difficult to 'move' kitty's beans that it CAN be done!
this is just fine tuning.
and even then charlie will throw you a :shock: # just to play with your head.
kittties! can't help but luv 'em.
 
Re: 12/15 Charlie amps:437, 4.2u

dosecrease! up da dose.
 
yeah, i love it too! when i said 'up da dose' of course i'm referring to upping it for the # you had at amps. just to get a deeper curve....altho' this still does'nt look much like a curve so much as a ski slope :lol:
 
Was there ever any conclusion about the 89 on 12/09/10? Why that may have happened other than just going through that breakthrough period or something maybe acro cats can an do do?
 
Lori- I figure that was what you meant. He does have an odd-shaped curve. Certainly not a uniform u-shape.
Gator- no one ever offered any suggestions. I assume the dose was just too high. What other reason could it be?
 
Heck I don't know. I'm sorry I'm not following you closer. I would have at the time challenged you to make any observations of his day or previous cycle and draw any perhaps tenuous theories. Next time. :smile:

Potential reasons include: sputtering pancreas, diet oddities including less kcal consumed or at a different time, uhhh man that's all that my brain is currently willing to come up with. I'm sorry I'm about done for the day. :oops: I think I need food.

Well keep working that dose - I know it's hard not to chicken out [we all chicken out :smile: at times] when you get a drop like that. Just take your time and work though it and hopefully you can gradually push him lower. If you ever get to the point of wanting my input on a variable type system, PM me to bring the topic to my attention. :smile:

But you've probably seen me lay it out before and that ProZinc suggestions link in the newbie checklist kind of has some of my thoughts too. There's also other good links in there about scales and more for the advanced which is where you are kind of approaching or already at.
 
My 2 cents. I would stick to one dose like you were (unless of course you get a much lower PS then adjust accordingly, you're instincts are good) and slowly push him down the bg scale. I think 3.5 to 4 units is appropriate.

I think sliding scale applies more to fine tuning. You just don't want to start him swinging back and forth again, as we have found out it's hard to get that back under control.
 
Robin- that was kind of my current thinking. Maybe by constantly tweaking his dose before his body is ready for it , i was just going to make his bgs fluctuate even more. Obviously, I will tweak for the low numbers, but I'll try holding steady for I think everything above 300. I'll start at 3.6. Thanks for your input.

Gator- thanks to you, too! I'll definitely let you know when I decide to try variable again. Btw, if he is acro, then he has a working pancreas, so that could explain that low number, I suppose. Why it decided to work like a charm at that exact moment, though, is a mystery.
 
Couple things that I believe that I really don't have any proof for. But 1) if you go from a constant dosing style to a variable dosing style it seems to take them [and maybe the bean] a short while to adjust to that. and 2) the small changes can seeming have large effects or maybe it's just not having the data makes one confused_cat

5% of 4u would be .2u changes [per cycle] between 3-4u.
 
I'm not sure I follow, gator. With your comment about .2u dose changes. Do you mean, If I continue with regular (not variable) dosing that I should move in increments of .2u?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top