12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +6 69, PMPS 126, +3 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
Recap
PMPS 106
+3 = 107
+6 = 107
AMPS 75

Buster decided to be Mr Consistency last night :thumbup On the +6 I rubbed my eyes and seriously considered I might be dreaming. Almost broke out the spare meter. At any rate - a lovely evening! No plans for today. Domestic duties at the homestead. DH is out playing in the wilderness. It's a nice, cool day - perfect for napping with furries!

And now, for my FAVORITE three little letters...B T B!! Have a great Caturday LL! Surf safely little sweet kitties!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75

Great AMPS Buster, and nice surf last night. Keep it up.

Enjoy your B T B :smile: have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75

REALLY nice start to your day!! YEAH BUSTER!!! Enjoy your BTB! and then the rest of your day.
have a great one
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +3 45, +3.5 44

AMPS 75
+3 = 45 - fed LC
+3.5 = 44 - fed HC


Getting a little dramatic on Caturday!
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +3 45, +3.5 44, +4 40

AMPS 75
+3 = 45 - fed LC
+3.5 = 44 - fed HC
+4 = 40 - fed HC


Not going the right way, Bu! He didn't seem to love the FF turkey & gravy. Switched to Friskies and that seemed nummier. I have some old M/D cans and karo if needed. He usually pops back up pretty quickly. Testing again in 20.
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +3 45, +3.5 44, +4 40, +4.5 55

AMPS 75
+3 = 45 - fed LC
+3.5 = 44 - fed HC
+4 = 40 - fed HC
+4.5 = 55 - fed LC w/gravy juice topper


Whew! Ok, feeling safer now. BUT there's still more sticky sticky pokey pokey to be played!
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +4 40, +4.5, +5 66 - dose ??

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

So a few cycles ago Buster earned a reduction, but I only shaved the dose down instead of dropping the full .25u. This is because he hasn't been holding reductions in the past and he just barely earned one when he did this time. Now, he has dropped down to 40 to earn another reduction but it's only been 3 cycles after the shave. Should I shave again or drop down a full .25u? Just for math's sake, I'd like to drop a full .25u :lol: But, I have calipers so weird doses ain't no big thing!

I appreciate the help!
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +4 40, +5 66, +6 69 - dose ??

The more I think about it, I think I should just shave it. That would put me where I was supposed to be anyway. Am I hosed because of the depot at this point?
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +4 40, +5 66, +6 69 - dose ??

There are pros and cons to taking the full reduction vs. shaving. Personally, that 40 could just have easily been lower and necessitated a full reduction. In addition, it looks like you were working hard to get the numbers up. Those would be votes for taking the full reduction.

On the "take the shave" side, it's been only 3 cycles since the last reduction. If you do end up shaving, I would be monitoring closely for the next several days. It's possible that the depot could be getting ahead of you.

If you feel like Buster doesn't hold reductions, then shave. If you feel like you were working hard to get his numbers up, then take the full reduction. There really isn't a bad answer here. You know your cat.
 
Re: 12/15 Buster AMPS 75, +4 40, +5 66, +6 69 - dose ??

Alrighty. Been on the fence about this all day. It seemed like 2 times in the past week Buster has been kinda out of it and not so much himself, which makes me think he was lower than the meter said, or at least was having some sort of difficulty at lower numbers. I don't know if it has anything to do with the previous hypo ER experience or what. I did, indeed, have trouble getting him out of the lower numbers today. That hasn't been the case in the past. Plus, Buster was a different cat before when he wasn't holding reductions. He is now at weight and has been much more stable than when we first started out. Have I talked myself into a full reduction yet? Hmmm...I also have a gut feeling I should drop a full .25u. Worst thing that could happen is I have to go back up. If I don't reduce enough, worst thing that could happen is he goes hypo when I'm away. I think I'm going to go with the safe route.

And it shall be done. Going for the full reduction from 1.25u to 1.0u. Good luck little buddy!

Thank you Sienne!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top