12/14 Simon AMPS 114; PMPS 97; +3.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Everything is good here except the cold weather. I heard today that this is the coldest Atlanta has been since 1917! Simon has been extra snuggly because it is so cold which is a very nice thing.

Question: Can you give a dose decrease if your cat has been in the greens and low blues after a week or two? Simon is looking so good and I was wondering when the proper time is to try a decrease? I know he was decreased both times he tested in the 40's but do I wait until that happens again? Simon seems to like the .5 unit of insulin but I'm hoping he might continue to do as well with .25. Any help is appreciated.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31982
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

Good morning. IMHO I would not decrease the dose until Simon earns it. He is doing so well that you don't want to lose momentum. His numbers look great on this dose. Patience, patience.....a tough thing with a FD ......believe me I know how hard it is because I am the queen of impatience. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

Very nice AMPS for Simon.
In regards to your question, if it was me, I wouldn't rush the dose crease. I would give Simon more time on this dose so that he can settle in. If you dose crease to fast, it may not hold. Simon should earn his dose crease! JMO!
Hope you guys have a good day!
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

I agree with Miriam and Deb. The dose decrease has to be earned. You are seeing great numbers now and you don't want to break the spell unless he goes really low on the present dose.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

ditto on what everyone else has said.....he is looking pretty good though!
have a good day and stay warm!!!
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

According to the Tilly Protocol, a cat can earn a dose reduction if numbers are in the normal range the majority of the time when at the same dose. Simon may be heading in that direction, but you've had a recent dose reduction. You'd need to be at your current dose for 7 days/14 cycles before he can earn a dose reduction by being in these wonderful numbers. So, like everyone said, you need to hold this dose unless Simon earns a reduction due to low numbers.
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114 Question about dose decrease?

Thanks everyone for getting back to me with your thoughts. I guess I am just not patient enough and I want to rush everything. Thanks for telling me to take it slow. I will definitely keep him at the .5 for a little bit longer and then re-evaluate (with your help).
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114; PMPS 97

This is the first work day that I haven't been able to get home to test Simon in the middle of the day. My DH fed him but I was a little nervous not seeing how he was doing during the day. Of course, he was fine and didn't miss the poking in the ear at all!
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114; PMPS 97

I love Simon in your avatar. You guys are doing amazing in such a short period. Keep it up Simon :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/14 Simon AMPS 114; PMPS 97

Georgia,
you gotta be happy on how things have been for Simon lately....just give it a lil more time! they say patience is a virtue (who the heck thought of that :lol: :lol: )...i'm with you... not a patient bone in my body! :lol: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top