12/14 Sheba AMBS 50 +12.5 39 +13.5 92 (AMPS) +3 68; +5 74; +7 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...unwell-back-from-the-vet.169537/#post-1841534

Another very hot day here in Oz. Just 8.30am and already 31 degrees C.

AMBS 50. Didn't want to shoot that low as I wasn't sure how she would eat at that point.
+12.5 39
Unfortunately in my half awake state, I had given her some food when I first tested her so could not stall, so I continued to feed her. I was surprised to see a further drop at +12.5 ......gave some honey.
+13 63
+13.5 92 AMPS. Decided to shoot. I know it is very food and honey influenced and will monitor closely. I reduced the dose another 0.25 units for this dose.

The good news is Sheba is hungry this morning. I am so relieved and hope it lasts. She is spending her time between her bed and flopping on the floor still. No more diarrhoea and her tummy looks much more normal size. And she is talking to me again! She has hardly said a word the past few days and I missed her chit chat.
We had another pyjama party last night but I only had to get up and test and could go straight back to bed and sleep, unlike the previous 2 nights.
Thank you everyone who has visited and supported us over the last few days. It has really made a big difference knowing I have somewhere I can get other opinions and ideas as well as the emotional support.
 
So glad to see this report but gesh...hope those numbers stay up a bit better now. Nothing more nerve racking for me than shooting and wondering how their appy will be. Sending continued appy/ feel better vines and prayers.
 
Thanks Amy, Karen, Sarah, Carla and Paula for visiting.
I am monitoring closely to keep the BS up at a reasonable level. I don't like it too low when she is still a bit iffy about eating.
+2 86
+3 68
+4 77
That is a drop from her AMPS 92 and with the insulin still to kick in I decided to give her 16 carb as second meal. I have also given her a drop honey at +3 and +4. Even with all that she is still below preshot. Still quite safe, I know, but I am just a bit concerned :nailbiting: we will be able to keep her safely up once the insulin really kicks in. I don't want to fill her up too much and I am hoping she will keep eating for me when I need her too.

I am having 15 family members here tonight for dinner. One of my DD and family are going to New Zealand for a holiday over the Christmas break so we are having an early Christmas with them. Should be fun but timing not great.:rolleyes: The kids are excited.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Ella, Serryn, Elise and Les for your support.
Sheba has been very quiet during the day, just resting in her bed in the kitchen but she has eaten most of her food slowly so I am happy about that. Her numbers have stayed low throughout the day even though I gave her 16 carb for her second meal and drops of honey 4 times to keep her from dropping to low.
+3 68
+5 74
+7 65
 
I'm glad to hear Sheba is eating. I hope that continues. Perhaps her numbers have dropped because she's feeling better.

Just have to mention that I LOVE your subject line. AMBS is pretty cool, but we generally use AMBG when we don't shoot...
icon_e_wink.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
 
I'm glad to hear Sheba is eating. I hope that continues. Perhaps her numbers have dropped because she's feeling better.

Just have to mention that I LOVE your subject line. AMBS is pretty cool, but we generally use AMBG when we don't shoot...
icon_e_wink.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
When I was writing the subject line this morning my brain was not functioning at all and I could not think for the life of me what the 4 initials were so I wrote the next best thing! Glad you like it.!;)
For some reason she often drops low when she is unwell. She does when she goes to the vet too.
 
Very glad to read that Sheba is much better today, and telling you all about it, but sorry you had yet another PJ party. Surf safely Sheba and don't give your mamabean any more stress :bighug:

Your family party sounds lovely, I hope Sheba's appy will allow her to enjoy some treats.
Have fun Bron :bighug:
 
Thanks Barbara and Suki for looking in on us.
Sheba is still very quiet but she is eating reasonable well so I am happy.
She started in the oral antibiotics tonight. Something made a difference overnight, maybe it was the a/b injection given yesterday.
PMPS 155
+2 179
So I think she will have another active cycle tonight as she always has a bit of a food spike and if it is not a big one it usually means an active cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top