12/14 Monster AMPS 78 +2 65 +9 47, PMPS 83

Monster's Mom

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

I jinxed it!!! Libre alarm is back! It seems her favorite number on it is 53. Not 55, to keep the alarm from going off.. I had to put the wrap back on her to help hold the sensor. I'm not sure if it'll stay stuck! So she's not sporting the ruffles for now. She kept running from me as I was wrapping it on her so I had to chase her while trying to hold the wrap. Then I realized, the scissors were way over there.... then try to walk her back. That was a sight to see I'm sure. 😂
I think this little stinker has started double dipping with her dose. Anything to mess with mama! Fits her attitude perfectly 😈 she had one blue last night in between the hour mark of 109, likely when she got up to eat.

Happy Sunday everyone!!!
 
A sea of green! Beautiful numbers. You're doing a great job Monster and Regan!

@Tyleete: Here is the language from the sticky: "Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week."
Thanks Mary! Do food spikes count as the under 100? She might spike but the. Goes right back down.

Awesome job, Monster and Regan! 💕

Thanks Kat! 😻
 
I mean hey, that's a pretty good favorite number to aim for overall! You two are doing great. 💚 I haven't looked at how to do it, but didn't someone say you could temporarily quiet the alarms?
 
Thanks Mary! Do food spikes count as the under 100? She might spike but the. Goes right back down.



Thanks Kat! 😻
I don't know the answer to that.

Is +8 on 12/11 and +10 on 12/10 a food spike?? Otherwise, she is solid green.

It's a good question. I would ask someone with more experience (so, "?" prefix).
 
I mean hey, that's a pretty good favorite number to aim for overall! You two are doing great. 💚 I haven't looked at how to do it, but didn't someone say you could temporarily quiet the alarms?
Yes, you can silence the alarm but only for up to 6 hours max

I don't know the answer to that.

Is +8 on 12/11 and +10 on 12/10 a food spike?? Otherwise, she is solid green.

It's a good question. I would ask someone with more experience (so, "?" prefix).
Yes, they are food spikes. Either way, she's doing great so far. Haven't seen a yellow in seems like forever 😊
 
Well, never mind about waiting to see if she stays under 100. She hit the limes today while I was at work. Luckily, she slowly came back up on her own. So since she fell under 50, I think I'm reducing her dose. It says to shave off a bit rather than the full reduction at once, but I'm not really sure how possible that is since I'm eyeballing the 1.25 as it is.

I just can't take the chance that she goes under 50 and can't get back up on her own while I'm at work, or while I'm sleeping because the alarm goes off all the time and it's like crying wolf at this point because it goes off when it goes under 55 and there's no way to change it. So I had staring silencing it because she wasn't falling below 53.

Her shot is due in 10 mins or so. So I'll get her normal meter BG for her PMPS.
 
Well, never mind about waiting to see if she stays under 100. She hit the limes today while I was at work. Luckily, she slowly came back up on her own. So since she fell under 50, I think I'm reducing her dose. It says to shave off a bit rather than the full reduction at once, but I'm not really sure how possible that is since I'm eyeballing the 1.25 as it is.

I just can't take the chance that she goes under 50 and can't get back up on her own while I'm at work, or while I'm sleeping because the alarm goes off all the time and it's like crying wolf at this point because it goes off when it goes under 55 and there's no way to change it. So I had staring silencing it because she wasn't falling below 53.

Her shot is due in 10 mins or so. So I'll get her normal meter BG for her PMPS.
I'm not at all surprised she has dipped into the limes; several times she's been hugging the edge for a few days. Good luck with the reduction!!
 
Thanks Mary. I hope it helps. If it turns out I'm wrong, I just bring her right back to 1.25. Hypo is so scary to me because of course it would likely happen when I'm not home.
Hypos are scary for all of us--we understand. This is an earned reduction, and you should take it for Monster's safety. Here is the sticky detail:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
The last dose reduction Monster had was the drop from 1.50 to 1.25 on 12/10; it looks like she held that reduction well (meaning she did not go up considerably in numbers). Feel free to put your ? prefix up if you want someone more experienced to offer guidance.
 
Congrats in the reduction to you both! I mean, no one likes to see limes, but it felt like she was wanting it. I definitely can't blame you for the worry. Those long nights of staying up are terrifying. But knowing she's dipping that low when you can't get to her has to be hard. And it's always good she's needing less I should think. Hope this helps.💕
 
Hypos are scary for all of us--we understand. This is an earned reduction, and you should take it for Monster's safety. Here is the sticky detail:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
The last dose reduction Monster had was the drop from 1.50 to 1.25 on 12/10; it looks like she held that reduction well (meaning she did not go up considerably in numbers). Feel free to put your ? prefix up if you want someone more experienced to offer guidance.
Thank you! I was reading through it again on my break at work after I saw her lime, but apparently I didn't absorb 100%. I thought I should shave off a bit, but that's only if they don't hold reductions well. And you're right, she did hold that one.
I know I've read that 257 times by now but without context, I apparently don't hold information well 😅
 
darn that libre alarm anyways. I know hubby at one point was able to turn off notifications which made it so the alarm didn't go off. But he is more techy than I am.
I do like the fact that I can check on her and through the cameras I can talke to her and wake her up to go eat. It's comforting to have to see how she's doing but there are so many headaches with it too.
 
Back
Top