Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Happy Sunday LL!
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday: AMPS/130, +1/136, +2/88, +3/67, +4/54, +4.5/59, +5/68, +6/81, +8.5/135, PMPS/205, +2/150, +3/116, +4/103, +5/113, +6/109, +7/120
Today: AMPS/71, +1/91, +2/67, +2/75, +3/61, +3.5/47, +4/53, +4.5/58, +5/57, +6/57, +7/73, +8/78, +10/70, PMPS/90, +1/64, +2/34 +2.5/44, +3/55, +3.5/51, +4/44, +4.5/47, +5/49, +5.5/56, +6/66, +7/83, +8/95
THANK YOU so much for stopping by and reading Eddie's update yesterday. Elise, Marilyn, Sienne, Carla, Ella, Wendy, and Marje - :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
One point of clarification that came up in yesterday's condo -- I've been around long enough I should know this, and I thought I did, but maybe I'm misunderstanding. For long-term diabetics, the reduction cut off is 40 rather than 50. But, as I understand, a reduction is also earned by going under 50 but over 40 on three separate days. Is that not correct?
We've actually been using this approach to reductions for several months after we went up and down the dosing ladder a few times and decided that Eddie wasn't holding reductions, even though he was less than a year from diagnosis. We also "shave" his dose for reductions, rather than reducing by a quarter unit. With the help of calipers, each reduction is 1/8 of a unit, rather than 1/4 unit.
Yesterday, Eddie had a decent AM cycle, but headed into a rather disappointing bounce. He hit the 200's for the first time in about a week, which was a bummer. In the PM, he started to slide right back down but stopped in the low 100's and stayed there. In hindsight, he's had patterns like that in the past (albeit at higher numbers), of hitting some ugly high numbers shortly before earning a reduction. I do think that he tends to bounce worse before going down in dose.
I was really surprised this morning after his flat cycle last night, to get a 71 for a pre-shot. I even double checked the number. ;-) Eddie got some higher carb food (8%) this morning to hopefully keep him from dropping too fast, but he still hit 47 at +3.5 which was his third time under 50 on this dose, earning him a reduction (at least I think that's correct??). Anyway, he stayed beautifully flat and green all day! I think this might be the first time Eddie's ever had an entire cycle in the greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: At PMPS, since he wasn't bouncing (yet), we took the 1/8 unit reduction from 1.125u to 1.0u. That's the lowest dose he's been on for at least 6 months. The 65 at +1 should have been a red flag to test in a half hour but I wasn't paying attention, and DH didn't know any better, so by +2, Eddie was at 34. :shock: This is the third time recently that Eddie has hit 30's immediately after a reduction, and I've previously chalked it up as depot action, so he doesn't earn another reduction.
While it would be great if he would cooperate and let us slowly inch our way down in dose, we may have to get creative if Eddie decides he doesn't want to take the slow train down. His nickname isn't "Fast Eddie" for nothing!
I've seen him hacking or coughing three or four times in the last three days, so I do wonder if he's working on a hairball so that could also account for some of the less wonderful numbers yesterday, too I suppose.
Have a great Sunday evening all and a great week!
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday: AMPS/130, +1/136, +2/88, +3/67, +4/54, +4.5/59, +5/68, +6/81, +8.5/135, PMPS/205, +2/150, +3/116, +4/103, +5/113, +6/109, +7/120
Today: AMPS/71, +1/91, +2/67, +2/75, +3/61, +3.5/47, +4/53, +4.5/58, +5/57, +6/57, +7/73, +8/78, +10/70, PMPS/90, +1/64, +2/34 +2.5/44, +3/55, +3.5/51, +4/44, +4.5/47, +5/49, +5.5/56, +6/66, +7/83, +8/95
THANK YOU so much for stopping by and reading Eddie's update yesterday. Elise, Marilyn, Sienne, Carla, Ella, Wendy, and Marje - :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
One point of clarification that came up in yesterday's condo -- I've been around long enough I should know this, and I thought I did, but maybe I'm misunderstanding. For long-term diabetics, the reduction cut off is 40 rather than 50. But, as I understand, a reduction is also earned by going under 50 but over 40 on three separate days. Is that not correct?
We've actually been using this approach to reductions for several months after we went up and down the dosing ladder a few times and decided that Eddie wasn't holding reductions, even though he was less than a year from diagnosis. We also "shave" his dose for reductions, rather than reducing by a quarter unit. With the help of calipers, each reduction is 1/8 of a unit, rather than 1/4 unit.
Yesterday, Eddie had a decent AM cycle, but headed into a rather disappointing bounce. He hit the 200's for the first time in about a week, which was a bummer. In the PM, he started to slide right back down but stopped in the low 100's and stayed there. In hindsight, he's had patterns like that in the past (albeit at higher numbers), of hitting some ugly high numbers shortly before earning a reduction. I do think that he tends to bounce worse before going down in dose.
I was really surprised this morning after his flat cycle last night, to get a 71 for a pre-shot. I even double checked the number. ;-) Eddie got some higher carb food (8%) this morning to hopefully keep him from dropping too fast, but he still hit 47 at +3.5 which was his third time under 50 on this dose, earning him a reduction (at least I think that's correct??). Anyway, he stayed beautifully flat and green all day! I think this might be the first time Eddie's ever had an entire cycle in the greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: At PMPS, since he wasn't bouncing (yet), we took the 1/8 unit reduction from 1.125u to 1.0u. That's the lowest dose he's been on for at least 6 months. The 65 at +1 should have been a red flag to test in a half hour but I wasn't paying attention, and DH didn't know any better, so by +2, Eddie was at 34. :shock: This is the third time recently that Eddie has hit 30's immediately after a reduction, and I've previously chalked it up as depot action, so he doesn't earn another reduction.
While it would be great if he would cooperate and let us slowly inch our way down in dose, we may have to get creative if Eddie decides he doesn't want to take the slow train down. His nickname isn't "Fast Eddie" for nothing!
I've seen him hacking or coughing three or four times in the last three days, so I do wonder if he's working on a hairball so that could also account for some of the less wonderful numbers yesterday, too I suppose.
Have a great Sunday evening all and a great week!