? 12/14 Butters AMPS 259/+3 277/ Question about TR increase sizes

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
Today is cycle 3 of 3.625u. I'm seeing a pattern emerge. Butters takes a little dip below 300 during cycle 2 and it continues into cycle 3. Just low enough to make herself ineligible for a .5u increase in two days' time:rolleyes:. If the pattern holds, she'll be back >300 by PMPS today.

I was thinking about how as the dose gets higher, the increases get much smaller as a % of the total dose. When I went from .5u to .75u, that was a 50% dose increase. Going from 1u to 1.25u was a 25% increase. And so on. Doesn't this just slow progress over time, particularly if there is some kind of insulin resistance involved? Why are the increases always a fixed amount (.25u or .5u), rather than a fixed % of the current dose? I've read the protocol and I don't see where this is addressed.

Is today your last staycation day? Butters may be sad about it. So many cuddles this week!
Yes it was:(. I'm strictly working at home this week, though, so let the cuddles and lap time continue. :cat:

Have a great day, all.:bighug:
 
Morning Lyla, I was reading about Butters massive burp yesterday :D:p
That's too funny, it sounds like she was feeling pretty good last night, I'm happy about that. I hope you and Butters have a good day ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
Very good question you raise, Lyla. I’m thinking her next increase should be .50. Once at 3.5 that’s often done. Let’s see what others think. It might just take an even more aggressive approach to get to the breakthrough dose.
 
I've seen @Wendy&Neko discuss the incremental doses of .5 in higher dose cats. Perhaps she will weigh in later today with comments on your question.

I've never had to venture down that road so am not qualified to comment.

I do hope you get a satisfactory response soon. Hope you and Butters have a snugly lap day today!
 
I'm glad you haven't, Sue.I was thinking about it in the shower this morning because of Butters, but I am curious about it in general. You know I have no science background; I'm just looking at the math. Maybe I'm not understanding something from the science of it.

Back >300 again already: 311 @+6. That was fast, Butters. Anyways, who's kidding who, here? The high yellows and low pinks are one and the same with meter variance:p.

Very good question you raise, Lyla. I’m thinking her next increase should be .50. Once at 3.5 that’s often done. Let’s see what others think. It might just take an even more aggressive approach to get to the breakthrough dose.
I'm open to the idea:).
 
Typically we move to 0.5 unit changes, instead of 0.25, when kitty gets to 5 units total dose. And 1 unit at 10 units etc., rule of 10%. Depending on situation and degree of insulin resistance (ie. confirmed presence of IAA or acromegaly), we might move to 15%.

Note, some cats, even higher doses ones, are sensitive to smaller changes. As usual at ECID thing.
 
With the advice from Wendy, we've been increasing the dose by 0.5u since reaching 5u. And my vet is happy with the 0.5u increase but now we are doing SLGS method :facepalm:

Butters, those pinks and yellows don't really suit you very well. I think you're better suited to blues and greens! :p
 
Some days I wish I could work from home. So I could be with Molly but Next week. I'll be off for a few days with her :). I hope the increase works and back to those beautiful numbers again. Have a great evening Lyla :cat:
 
Oh Butters. Lol at the massive burp. That's not very ladylike. I'm assuming you felt very good after tho :p
I really hope the right dose for Butters shows up soon. Glad you can work from home this week so you can get extra cuddle time with her :bighug:
Hope you have a great night :)
 
Back
Top