First response is to a question on yesterday’s condo.
She was at a horrible black 606 though this morning. I remember her rebounding to bad numbers on the 3rd day of a dose last spring too. That's why I asked whether I should do .25 or .5. That's why I wondered whether I should choose the most recent nadir or the lowest nadir of the 3 days. I fear I am not being aggressive enough. She still has liquid poo. Maybe that or its cause is affecting her BG.
I have 2 sets of calipers! They are put away for now, because BD's syringes have been a bit better recently.
On the 3.25u dose, she had nadirs under 300 and then she bounced. I would not be more aggressive right now unless she goes back up into red, pink, and black and stays there flat.
I’d watch today because that black number “might” be the high before the break meaning she might clear the bounce from those blues today.
Have you ever had a GI Panel done on her? I highly recommend it because it will test hr B12 and folate levels but also whether she might have exocrine pancreatic insufficiency (EPI) The importance of those tests is if her B12 is low, you could give her injections which could help with food absorption.
I would recommend using Saccharomyces boulardii for the diarrhea....it is really fantastic for that but it won’t work if kitty has low B12, has EPI, or has untreated hyperthyroidism. You would need to confirm the first two conditions with a GI Panel. Your vet would draw the blood and send it to Texas A&M University. She would need to check about fasting because there might be a six hour fast required for diabetic cats.
No matter how great the BD syringes might look to your eye, I guarantee you they are off from syringe to syringe. I used them for a while. Dosing consistency helps with the BG although I think that is only a very small part of this picture with Yum.
Second response is to today’s question:
No, I would not worry about her nadirs being lower at 3 than 3.25. It’s clear she needs more insulin. The focus should be on two things: what is causing the diarrhea and continuing with the increases per the protocol until she hits a breakthrough dose.
Yum’s occasional diarrhea and vomiting have been going on for quite some time. Have you had an ultrasound done to see if her intestines are thickened consistent with IBD?