Christie & Willie (GA)
Member Since 2010
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31970#p332123
Thanks for all for the warm welcome and feedback on yesterday's condo. So appreciated! I've modified my signature and spreadsheet to reflect that we're using the AlphaTrak. Thanks for the suggestion!
Willie is still running high this morning. Can't test him over lunch because I'm out of strips on the loaner meter (which has to be returned today anyway) and the mail with the new one may not be there yet (should be arriving today).
I'm not adding additional liver to his diet... sorry for the confusion! Originally, the Feline Instincts formulas all required the addition of either ground chicken livers (ick) or powdered liver, though recently they've started giving the option of mixes with the powdered liver already added in. We are using one of those and are not adding any additional liver to it. I'm hoping my family can hook me up with some inexpensive venison (they're hunters, it's hunting season, AND I have a deep freeze! LOL), but if not, then I may switch them over to the Wysong Au Jus venison formula and supplement that with the Feline Instincts in consultation with the owner of Feline Insticts (who is terrific, btw).
One question about tight regulation... how often do you need to be testing at the nadir? I work full-time and am the only human in our house, so it will be difficult for me to get home during the day to test him. Plus, I'm trying to keep him dosed on the 8s. I'm going out of town for a few days over New Years and I've found a sitter who is experienced with diabetic kitties. The 8am/8pm schedule will work for them (otherwise I have to pay for someone to stay in my home overnight, which I really don't want), so I want to keep him consistent at least until then. After that, I could potentially switch to dosing on the 6:00s or the 7:00s, which would give me a window during my lunch hour to run home and test. Though, even that gets tricky because now with the 12 hour dosing schedule, I'm finding I'm using my lunch hour to run most of my errands that I would normally run after work. Plus, I need to be getting back to the gym, which is usually after work.
Right now, I've been testing right before and after dosing (poke, eat, dose). Should I be doing a late night in the evening as well (+3 to +4?)? There are nights that it is tough... dosing at 8:00 means that I have to stay up until midnight to get a +4, and have to be up by 6:30 or 7:00 to get Willie taken care of, scoop the boxes, plus get ready for work.
Thanks again, everyone!
ETA PMPS. Glad to be away from the 500s!
Thanks for all for the warm welcome and feedback on yesterday's condo. So appreciated! I've modified my signature and spreadsheet to reflect that we're using the AlphaTrak. Thanks for the suggestion!
Willie is still running high this morning. Can't test him over lunch because I'm out of strips on the loaner meter (which has to be returned today anyway) and the mail with the new one may not be there yet (should be arriving today).
I'm not adding additional liver to his diet... sorry for the confusion! Originally, the Feline Instincts formulas all required the addition of either ground chicken livers (ick) or powdered liver, though recently they've started giving the option of mixes with the powdered liver already added in. We are using one of those and are not adding any additional liver to it. I'm hoping my family can hook me up with some inexpensive venison (they're hunters, it's hunting season, AND I have a deep freeze! LOL), but if not, then I may switch them over to the Wysong Au Jus venison formula and supplement that with the Feline Instincts in consultation with the owner of Feline Insticts (who is terrific, btw).
One question about tight regulation... how often do you need to be testing at the nadir? I work full-time and am the only human in our house, so it will be difficult for me to get home during the day to test him. Plus, I'm trying to keep him dosed on the 8s. I'm going out of town for a few days over New Years and I've found a sitter who is experienced with diabetic kitties. The 8am/8pm schedule will work for them (otherwise I have to pay for someone to stay in my home overnight, which I really don't want), so I want to keep him consistent at least until then. After that, I could potentially switch to dosing on the 6:00s or the 7:00s, which would give me a window during my lunch hour to run home and test. Though, even that gets tricky because now with the 12 hour dosing schedule, I'm finding I'm using my lunch hour to run most of my errands that I would normally run after work. Plus, I need to be getting back to the gym, which is usually after work.
Right now, I've been testing right before and after dosing (poke, eat, dose). Should I be doing a late night in the evening as well (+3 to +4?)? There are nights that it is tough... dosing at 8:00 means that I have to stay up until midnight to get a +4, and have to be up by 6:30 or 7:00 to get Willie taken care of, scoop the boxes, plus get ready for work.
Thanks again, everyone!
ETA PMPS. Glad to be away from the 500s!