12/13 Whiskers AMPS 358, +2 334, +4 175, +6 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi,

I am new to the lantus group. Im really overwhelmed. My vet started our cat on Whiskers 2 months ago with very little information. They started her on 1 unit and told me to do a curve in a week. She seemed to be doing well for a few weeks, than got sick. I took her to the vet and she was diagnosed with a urinary tract infection (the second in 2 months) and well as pancreatitis. The vet wanted us to lower her dose lantus to 1.5 units becuause he thought she was rebounding. When I look at her SS she seemed to have her best BG at 1 unit. So I went back to 1 unit the weekend. I can't seem to get her regulated. Can anyone offer me advise? I work full time, and have weekend off. I realize now how important it is to check BG, but need some guidance on what to do when you work full time.

Thanks
 
Hi Cheryl, Good job in getting the spreadsheet up. I can't answer your questions (not knowledgeable enough), but I am bumping your condo up to the top of the list so that the more knowledgeable people can help you. Be sure to mention that you work nights and that your shot schedule is 11 A.M and 11 P.M.
Hope that you will get the help you need today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Cheryl.

I'm linking your condo (thread) from yesterday: Whiskers 12/12 condo. We link our condos from the previous day so it's easy to go back and find information.

I just posted this note in your condo from yesterday so I'm copying it here.
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Feeling overwhelmed goes with the territory! Everyone who arrives here seems to feel pretty much the same way. The sticky notes are a great resource but it's like having an entire library fall on your head. The good news is that the people here do understand the feeling and are very generous with their time and information. A few deep breaths helps.

It looks like Whiskers was started on Humulin N and switched to Lantus on 10/18. Whiskers has been on Lantus long enough to have a shed.

Also, having been on N, you would have needed to feed well before you gave insulin. Lantus is far more gentle than N and it's onset is not immediate whereas N kicks in very quickly. I'm sorry if your vet didn't explain that to you.

Do you work nights? It looks like that's when you're either not testing or not home. If your schedule permits, is there a way to get a test in before you leave or when you get home (in or out the door tests)? It's very helpful to get at least one test per cycle. There are many people here who just can't be home to get those tests due to work and commute time but if you can squeeze another test in, it may help.

I really want to encourage you to test every day, before every shot. I don't know if you just omitted days from your SS or if you didn't test. Either way, keep good records. It's the best way to spot trends and to have the data to make good dosing decisions.

At this point, I agree with what the other have said -- pick a dose and stick with it for a minimum of 3 days. Since you have been using Lantus for a while, there's already a shed. You just need to stabilize the dose and begin to make decisions about dose based on a consistent set of data. You can stick with 1.0u.

Also, do you have syringes that are in 1/2u increments. If not, you will need them. You can get Relion syringes at Walmart that are marked this way. Dose changes are made in 0.25u amounts and the 1/2u syringes are the closest you can get.

I'm a little confused. You have two condos (thread) open from Monday. I'm going to see if one of the moderators will merge the two threads so people aren't posting to both places.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top