12/13 Tigger AMPS 323, +6 219, PMPS 476 - small, slow increases on ketone meter :(

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Ok, I'm starting to worry Tig is having some inflammation/infection flare up. Between the vomiting (which actually hasn't happened in 2 days) and just now seeing a 1.2 on ketone meter . . . plus his BG refuses to cooperate. I know 1.2 is still probably "negative" on a pee stick, but he hasn't been above a 1 in more than 3 months. I feel like I'm looking for something to be wrong because I know these things are going on. If I didn't know his BG has been high or he's gone a bit higher on ketones I don't think I could say he seems sick in any way. Aside from the vomiting . . . . . . . How long do I wait to call/go to vet? I will obviously retest for ketones but It's not like I can do much else. Also his insulin just seems nonexistent the past 6 cycles. But, he's got that 96 on there from 3 days ago so its not right to increase either . . . ugh, what to do?!??!!??!??!?!?!!?
 
Cycle six after the green, hopefully he’ll stop bouncing tonight. Unfortunately SLGS would have you hold this dose at this point, though if ketones go above 2.4 (trace), we could modify that. At that point a vet call is warranted. How is his appetite? Energy level?
 
Cycle six after the green, hopefully he’ll stop bouncing tonight. Unfortunately SLGS would have you hold this dose at this point, though if ketones go above 2.4 (trace), we could modify that. At that point a vet call is warranted. How is his appetite? Energy level?
Appetite is good I'd say, not ravenous. Energy level seems normal, or what has become normal for him at this point. Hes possibly a few yrs older than 15 but we'll never know. He's always been a snuggler not a player, but he never quite got all the way back up to what was his normal before the DKA. Since then however I'd say right now he is totally on par with the last 5 months. vomiting has stopped for now. but i did just try to get him to drink some extra water and a min later he spit some of it back up. just clear water. i wonder if this was playing a part all along? i totally didnt think about it but I myself have this weird reaction to too much water in my belly, makes me gag. hes getting up about an hour before T/F/S, has nothing to eat, drinks water instead, then gets queasy from a belly full of water and possibly acid. i wonder . . .
 
how quickly can ketones really develop? like i panicked and checked again 2 hours later and it read 1.4. hes eating fine and drinking and sleeping comfortably. hes not hiding or a pancake like when we found him near death the day of the DKA. should i check again tonight or wait until early am? am i overreacting when both numbers mean negative on a pee stick?
 
I think I would also go by other symtoms when to test, or tomorrow if he’s fine. Ketones can go from trace to high fairly quickly, with the right factors in place.
 
Back
Top