12/13 Tessa AMPS 268 PMPS 357 - Increase dose? Meal timing?

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-12-tessa-amps-244-2-145-4-127-6-172-8-327.271770/

I had to be out of the house today so I went with 1.5 units today instead of jumping back up to 1.75. I can't decide if I want to stay with 1.5 or go back to 1.75 tomorrow. I will be home all day so I can monitor her but I won't lie, I'm a bit nervous since the last time we tried 1.75 her BG dropped like a rock.

What do you all think we should do? Stick with 1.5 for a bit longer or go back to 1.75?

I need some advice on meal timing as well regardless. I've been giving her food (usually like 1/3 of a can of Friskies pate) when I give her her insulin. Then she typically eats her sister's leftovers (her sister gets the same amount but never eats it all) about 1 hour later (I have to close them in separate rooms or Tessa will push her sister out of the way and eat all her food too), then I give a little bit more food every 1 to 1.5 hours to try and slow down her curve and keep her BG more stable. But it doesn't seem to work all that well and I'm not sure if I'm giving too much food or too little or if my timing is off or if it doesn't really matter all that much.

Any meal timing advice would be great!
 
Since 1.25U got her to low blues, it's okay if you want to try 1.5U before going up to 1.75U.

It looks like her onset is around +1 and nadir around +4. So small meals every hour from +1 to +4 in active cycles would be good. In bounce cycles you could probably feed at +2 and +4. Will she be okay without food between +4 and PS? Some cats develop stomach acid build up from long gaps in meals. If that is the case, you could add another small snack of the lowest carbs at +6 or so.

Except for that one cycle when she dove to greens, she doesn't seem to be a diver....I think! That cycle was a cumulative effect of bounce clearing and an increase.
 
Since 1.25U got her to low blues, it's okay if you want to try 1.5U before going up to 1.75U.

It looks like her onset is around +1 and nadir around +4. So small meals every hour from +1 to +4 in active cycles would be good. In bounce cycles you could probably feed at +2 and +4. Will she be okay without food between +4 and PS? Some cats develop stomach acid build up from long gaps in meals. If that is the case, you could add another small snack of the lowest carbs at +6 or so.

Except for that one cycle when she dove to greens, she doesn't seem to be a diver....I think! That cycle was a cumulative effect of bounce clearing and an increase.

Thank you! I'm going to try 1.5 for a few more days just to see how things shake out.

She used to just have 3 meals a day (7am, noon or 1pm, and 9pm) before she was diagnosed. I initially tried just shifting the 9pm meal to 7pm to align with her shot time but then added more meals to help flatten out her curves. I think she'd be OK without food from +4 to preshot, she'll just have to get used to not getting those extra mid-day meals haha.

If she seems super hungry I can give her some Tiki Cat canned around +6, that's zero carbs. It's not her favorite food in the world (of course she'd not love the healthiest food I offer her) but she'll eat it. I'll try nothing between +4 and PMPS tomorrow though and see how that goes.
 
With TR, you want to increase after 8-10 cycles unless you see green. So don't hold it too long.

I was thinking I'd see where she lands tomorrow and go from there but I might change my mind and go for the increase in the morning after I see what her numbers did overnight. I'll get up a little earlier (I'm usually rolling out of bed 20 minutes before she needs insulin which is not ideal) so I can look over her numbers and have time to make a decision.
 
2 cycles on 1.5U would not be enough to see what she can do on it. You want to hold at least 6 if not 8 cycles. Unless she stays high (over 200), in which case you can increase after 6 cycles. You also want to give her 6 cycles after yesterday's blues to clear the bounce.
 
2 cycles on 1.5U would not be enough to see what she can do on it. You want to hold at least 6 if not 8 cycles. Unless she stays high (over 200), in which case you can increase after 6 cycles. You also want to give her 6 cycles after yesterday's blues to clear the bounce.

Oh, I misunderstood you, sorry about that! I thought by saying not to hold too long that you were saying I should probably increase tomorrow. I'll stick with the original plan of staying on 1.5 tomorrow. :)
 
Oh, I misunderstood you, sorry about that! I thought by saying not to hold too long that you were saying I should probably increase tomorrow. I'll stick with the original plan of staying on 1.5 tomorrow. :)
Sorry. I meant not to hold 1.5U longer than 8-10 cycles unless nadirs are where you want them to be. TR allows for increases every 3-5 days depending on nadirs. Let us see where she is after 6 cycles on 1.5U :)
 
Back
Top