12/13 Silver AMPS 407 PMPS 383; + 4=293. Can the bounce be cleared already? How will I know?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
Yucky bounce? Hope it won’t last long. Wish I could have stayed up late as I’m sure he will have dipped below 5 and earned a reduction.
 
Silver, you look much better in blue...
blue.JPG
 
That is a good sized bounce! Hope Silver comes back down quickly. This dose is getting some movement happening!
It took a while but that was my fault with the fur shot and late shot so close together. I Do hope I see a blue again tonight.
 
May take a few cycles for Silver to clear that bounce...keep the faith..it will happen again!
So question. He’s high for a few cycles due to bouncing - so when he comes out of the bounce and gets the blues again - it is STILL going to be a lower than usual number because he’s bounced high. So he will just bounce again. And again. How do you break that cycle and start getting flat lows again?
 
And if he’s bouncing there’s not much point doing a curve is there? It will be high.

If you want some data and have the strips around you can. If the strips are an issue...yeah, maybe one mid cycle to see where he is at, just to confirm any movement at all.
 
If you want some data and have the strips around you can. If the strips are an issue...yeah, maybe one mid cycle to see where he is at, just to confirm any movement at all.
yeah. Strips are like gold in Canada. If I can avoid some testing then that’s good.
 
So question. He’s high for a few cycles due to bouncing - so when he comes out of the bounce and gets the blues again - it is STILL going to be a lower than usual number because he’s bounced high. So he will just bounce again. And again. How do you break that cycle and start getting flat lows again?
I think you have to reverse your thinking: high numbers don't cause them to go low, low numbers can cause them to go high (bounce). Yes, he may bounce again and again and again, it's jut part of the deal. It's not a bad thing, it means he is responding to the insulin. The idea is the more time he spends in lower numbers, he will readjust to make that his new normal and the bounces should lessen. Some cats are just bouncier than others and it sure can be frustrating, but there's nothing to be done on your end other than wait for the bounce to clear. :bighug:
 
Yes I knew that. Low numbers cause the bounces. But I would imagine that when he comes out of the bounce we should see lower numbers again. I didn’t mean to infer that the high bounce causes the lows.
 
I am in Edmonton. I get Jones for $100 for 200 strips. Are you using a pet or human meter?
I pay $51 for 50 strips. But considering that only lasts two weeks it’s breaking my budget. I can’t afford to test as much as I should and am getting up to my neck in debt.
 
I pay $51 for 50 strips

A buck a strip is expensive. I went the human meter because the cost was less. I do have insurance of Jones but I still get to pay the 10% and GST on any qualified expense. It adds ups.

At least the Lantus you can get cheaply at Costco. I picked up 5 pens for $95 vs the $70 a pen the vet was charging me.
 
Yes I knew that. Low numbers cause the bounces. But I would imagine that when he comes out of the bounce we should see lower numbers again. I didn’t mean to infer that the high bounce causes the lows.
You should see those blues again. Now we just need to get an idea how long it takes Silver to clear a bounce. It could be a matter of hours, it could be several cycles. Maybe you don't need to do a full curve, but I would get a few tests in just to have that data, it's useful to know how long it takes for him to clear a bounce.
 
A buck a strip is expensive. I went the human meter because the cost was less. I do have insurance of Jones but I still get to pay the 10% and GST on any qualified expense. It adds ups.

At least the Lantus you can get cheaply at Costco. I picked up 5 pens for $95 vs the $70 a pen the vet was charging me.
Actually I am using a human meter. That’s Accucheck Aviva. I’ve just found a place on eBay where I can order them for 30 USD for 59 but I’d have to wait a month for them to arrive as it’s in India!
 
You should see those blues again. Now we just need to get an idea how long it takes Silver to clear a bounce. It could be a matter of hours, it could be several cycles. Maybe you don't need to do a full curve, but I would get a few tests in just to have that data, it's useful to know how long it takes for him to clear a bounce.
I’ll get a few day time ones in on Saturday if I can. He is in the high pinks tonight so not a happy mummy. I was so pleased with those blues.
 
A buck a strip is expensive. I went the human meter because the cost was less. I do have insurance of Jones but I still get to pay the 10% and GST on any qualified expense. It adds ups.

At least the Lantus you can get cheaply at Costco. I picked up 5 pens for $95 vs the $70 a pen the vet was charging me.
Oh and I didn’t know you could get Lantus at Costco. I’m not a member tho. I pay $80 for a vial. I can only buy five pens at a time I believe? And I’m truly hoping I don’t need that much. I’ll consider it when this vial runs out tho.
 
Nice to see that yellow after reds and pinks in today’s bounce. Maybe it’s cleared? Tomorrow I hope the AMPS is lower.
 
I can only buy five pens at a time I believe?
It's hard in Canada to find a place that will sell a single cartridge - better deal than the pens. They are a pen refill, so less waste. Sometimes you can find someone near you willing to share a pack. I don't think you have to be a Costco member to use their pharmacy.

Numbers wobble around during a bounce, but if you see blue again, then you know it's cleared. Paws crossed for a better AMPS tomorrow.
 
I’m not a member tho

I am with Wendy, I don't think you need a membership to go to the pharmacy. They only ever check at the door...which on a busy Saturday you could probably fly right in! Or do you have a friend with a membership ;)

They didn't check at the pharmacy when I went up there. No prescription needed. Just showed the old pen with the prescription on and said it was for a cat. Done.

I should of just asked for the cartridge...will need to do that next time if it is necessary.

That’s Accucheck Aviva
I use the GE200 - it take a bigger drop of blood but it was what I got when I was in the "deer in headlights" faze. The strips are $40.88 for a 100 and every once in a while they will have a 10% discount on from the manufacturer. That is at my local co-op pharmacy. Free lancets and sharps bucket every time I go in too. Convenience is another factor.
 
I am with Wendy, I don't think you need a membership to go to the pharmacy. They only ever check at the door...which on a busy Saturday you could probably fly right in! Or do you have a friend with a membership ;)

They didn't check at the pharmacy when I went up there. No prescription needed. Just showed the old pen with the prescription on and said it was for a cat. Done.

I should of just asked for the cartridge...will need to do that next time if it is necessary.


I use the GE200 - it take a bigger drop of blood but it was what I got when I was in the "deer in headlights" faze. The strips are $40.88 for a 100 and every once in a while they will have a 10% discount on from the manufacturer. That is at my local co-op pharmacy. Free lancets and sharps bucket every time I go in too. Convenience is another factor.
Nice price. Yes the Aviva was all I saw in Walmart when I went shopping for one. I’m used to it now but strips are pricey for sure.
 
Nice price. Yes the Aviva was all I saw in Walmart when I went shopping for one. I’m used to it now but strips are pricey for sure.

@Juliet I got my FreeStyle Lite Meter at Walmart for free a few weeks ago & the strips are about $70 for 100 strips. I told them I heard they give them out for free so the cashier got me one. I had no idea they gave them out for free until someone on this board mentioned it.
 
@Juliet I got my FreeStyle Lite Meter at Walmart for free a few weeks ago & the strips are about $70 for 100 strips. I told them I heard they give them out for free so the cashier got me one. I had no idea they gave them out for free until someone on this board mentioned it.
I got a free Aviva meter last week from Shoppets Drug mart with the purchase of 100 strips. Cost me $85. Seems to be cheaper buying 100 strips st a time rather than 50.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top