12/13 Mookie PMPS 341, +1 366, +2 342, +9 209

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!
Mookie had a good night in the blues! ...until +11 when the insulin gods frowned upon us and he spiked up to 270 from a measly 103 at +10. Why, you ask? I have no idea. :?

This morning Mookie is frisky and is trying to engage bro Henry in a boxing match. Henry, not being a morning cat, is ignoring him. It's a sweet start to our day. Wishing you all a merry Tuesday!

Randa and Mookie
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210

Hi Randa,

I'm glad Mookie is coming down from that strange +11. We can ask why all we want. Answers are not always forthcoming. A frisky Mookie on a merry Tuesday morning is a good report.
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210

Hi guys .. boy, I can't honestly remember if we have posted in mookie's condo before or not, so if not, welcome from us! Sometimes we get numbers and just have to shake our heads on trying to figure out where they came from .. Just glad to see mookie's on the way down .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210, +1 202, +2 212

Hello again,
I'm posting Mookie's +2 (taken by DH) a little late because I needed a wee nap after being up most of last night to test Mookie. His numbers appear to be about the same as yesterday at this time, which I assume is neither good nor bad. I thought I'd get a +4, +6, and +11 before his PMPS. Any others I should test that would be helpful?
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210, +1 202, +2 212, +4 110, +6 54

I'm unsure of the 54 at +6, because I switched to my ReliOn meter from a Freestyle Lite, due to running low on test strips. The ReliOn and FS Lite have tested similarly and way off each other at different times in the past, so I'm not sure if the numbers I'm getting now are accurate. I'm going to assume they are at this point and respond accordingly.
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210... +6 54, +6.5 43 +6.75 39

Very nice job with managing the numbers. Because Mookie is newly diagnosed, when numbers drop below 50, this warrants a reduction in dose. You would reduce the dose by 0.25u so Mookie's new dose would be 1.25u.

Several people here have had issues with the Freestyle Lite meter. They were finding that the numbers were running low. Morgaine's bean, Rosalie (skybar22) can fill you in on her experience.
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210... +6 54, +6.5 43 +6.75 39

WOW! Quite the day for you and Mookie!! You handled it all well, managed the lows Numbers like a pro. Congrats on the dose reduction too. It is wonderful to see Mookie doing so well. :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210... +6 54, +6.5 43 +6.75 39

Very nice job today, Randa (and Mookie). I, too, use the FreeStyleLite as my main meter and the ReliOn Micro as the back-up, and I have always found that their readings are very similar when I have tested them on myself with the same drop of blood. The issue seems to be that in "normal" numbers (lower numbers--those that a non-diabetic would have), they are close in readings, but in the higher numbers (above 150 or so), the FreeStyle Lite can read lower, often a lot lower when the numbers are up in the pinks and beyond, than the ReliOn (or any other human meter). This is something to keep in mind. Rosalie (Morgaine) was dismayed that Morgaine was having all the symptoms of unregulated FD even though her numbers were not that high (on the FreeStyle Lite).

As long as you are aware that there are issues of one sort or another with all meters, and take into account the 20% variance, etc. etc., I think it is probably best (and less stressful) to stick with one meter and, when you get odd readings, to re-do the test. If you know your meter's tendencies, you can learn to interpret the numbers pretty well.

Anyway, congrats on the dose reduction. You are doing so well with all of this, and your spreadsheet is a beauty.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie AMPS 210... +6 54, +6.5 43 +6.75 39

Great day for Mookie. You did a fantastic job controlling his numbers. I use the ReliOn Ultima. I have never had a problem with it. I started with the AlphaTrak and switched due to cost of strips. When I switched I used both a few times to see what the variance was and it was never that different. 10-15 points is all.
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie +11 255, PMPS 341

Thanks for your encouraging words. Fortunately I didn't panic when Mookie dipped beneath 40. I grabbed my watch, some strips, opened a can of FF chicken with gravy, and calmly followed the instructions for dealing with low numbers, as though I've been doing this for months. Now he's over 300 again, and I understand why we have to take one day at a time with this illness.
 
Re: 12/13 Mookie +11 255, PMPS 341

Sorry I missed most of this today - but as the others have said - well done, wonderfulthat you did not panic, and did what you needed to do. wisely said on your last post too:
mookiesmom said:
..... Now he's over 300 again, and I understand why we have to take one day at a time with this illness.
that is so true... it takes lot of patience, but you guys are on track - Things are going well. Good job Mookie!
 
Hi,
I had discrepancies with the test results between the meters too, but I thought it was the ReliOn that was off. Glad to hear that's not the case because the strips are so much cheaper. I've been going through them much faster that I realized, and I need to keep a larger supply on hand.

Why yes, Michelle, you should have stayed home all day so that you could read my posts. :lol:
I'm glad you had a good time in the city. I look forward to feeling as though I can leave the house for more than an hour or two without worrying that Mookie will go hypo while I'm gone. Meanwhile, each day is an adventure in LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top