12/13 Max PMPS 252, 12/14 AMPS 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
Thanks everyone for the kind welcome. I started Max on Lantus last night. His PMPS was 252. Below is some data I collected fr spot checks/mini curve last night and AMPS this morning. Do you all think it was alright to give the .5 unit on the 205? I feel like I have no data yet and am in the dark. It seemed like he had a decent curve overnight, without going super low, so I thought I would stick with the .5 unit. I think, if I understand what I read on depot/shed, as the "shed" builds up his #'s can go even lower/better. I just don't want them to go too low while I'm learning how the insulin works on him. I'm keeping a close eye on Max this morning.

PMPS - 252 (gave .5 unit)
+4 - 96
+6 - 131
+9 - 173

AMPS - 205 (gave .5 unit)
+3 - 162
+5 - 158
+8 - 188
 
Re: 12/13 PMPS 252, 12/14 AMPS 205

Holly,

Ya did good to hold the dose this since you can be with him. True Lantus has a shed to fill but if you're close to his ideal dose the curve will just flatten out instead of go lower. So if .5 is perfect for him those yellow preshots will become blues and then greens.

And if it's a touch too much he'll tell you with the meter and he'll earn his first reduction. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel! That is good to know about the curve, that it eventually flattens when you find the right dose. +3 was 162, not as low as I was expecting based on +4 last night. We'll see what +6 is looking like, maybe even a +4 just to compare with last night.
 
Yep, it takes about 5-7 days after starting Lantus to fill the shed completely so you still have a couple of more cycles to see how things go on this dose and if he needs an increase or not, but it's looking good so far on this .5u! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top