Mai & Dad
Member
Hello all,
Xiaomai's BG hits 75 PMPS today. Likely we will see a bounce soon but I do want to understand how to handle low BG better when (and hopefully if) we finally get there. And I will of course test his BG hourly going forward until it's clearly steady or trending upwards.
My question is :
1. The TR guide post says the normal BG range of a healthy non-diabetic cat is within 50~80. But when I search this on the internet, I get 80 to 120 instead consistently. Is there a special reason why we consider the normal range to be between 50 and 80 here?
2. Is it correct that unless he earns a reduction (i.e., below 100 most of the time and nadirs between 50 and 80 for three days), I will continue to add his dosage? What if his nadirs are consistently within 50 and 80, but we are still seeing a curve instead of a flatten one?
3. I remember one of our members on here told me that given his DKA history (09/2023, x2), I should never skip a dose. What if the PS number is lower than 50?
Thanks!
Xiaomai's BG hits 75 PMPS today. Likely we will see a bounce soon but I do want to understand how to handle low BG better when (and hopefully if) we finally get there. And I will of course test his BG hourly going forward until it's clearly steady or trending upwards.
My question is :
1. The TR guide post says the normal BG range of a healthy non-diabetic cat is within 50~80. But when I search this on the internet, I get 80 to 120 instead consistently. Is there a special reason why we consider the normal range to be between 50 and 80 here?
2. Is it correct that unless he earns a reduction (i.e., below 100 most of the time and nadirs between 50 and 80 for three days), I will continue to add his dosage? What if his nadirs are consistently within 50 and 80, but we are still seeing a curve instead of a flatten one?
3. I remember one of our members on here told me that given his DKA history (09/2023, x2), I should never skip a dose. What if the PS number is lower than 50?
Thanks!